Herald-Sun Golf Classic tee times set

DURHAM — A field of 94 golfers will tee it up on Monday in the 71st Herald-Sun Golf Classic.

They'll compete at Hillandale Golf Course with two days of qualifying that will set up the match-play brackets for later next week beginning on Thursday.

The Championship Flight will be composed of the defending champion Melvin Barnes and the top 15 individual finishers in qualifying. The President's Flight and the remaining flights which will have up to eight competitors each, will be filled from there.

Last year's medalist coming out of qualifying was Bill Bambic and he returns to compete again after finishing as runner-up a year ago.

Senior champion Dink Andrews will be back to defend his title, too.

Two-time champion Ronnie Williams (2010, 2012) will try again to become the third three-time champion in history of the tournament.

Michael Wicker, who recently won the Durham Amateur championship, also is in the field.

Herald-Sun Golf Classic

In Durham

Hillandale GC

Monday's Tee Times

7:30 a.m.—Brian Stewart, Garreth Carpenter, Corey Wilson, Stephen Kuenzli

7:38—Taylor Peel, Stacey Anfindsen, Keith Johnson, Jimmy Davis

7:46—Phillip Ray, Blake McSherry, Justin Finger, Jason Warren

7:56—Danny Bailey, Cedell Alexander Jr., Mike Sterner, Paul Harris

8:04—Joe Gucker, Michael Conway, John Ivey,

8:12—Chuck Kimpel, Jack Tomkovick, Chris Filiaci, Lew Ballard

8:20—Ben Thomas, Bobby Semler, Michael Kincaid, Nate Sigman

8:30—Tim Simpson, Jason Chambers, Gary Chambers, Buddy Brown

8:38—Max Johnson, Wayne Johnson, Louis Herndon, Galen Maultsby

8:46—Ronald Briggs, Scott Parrish, Doug Hall, Gary Newcomb

8:54—Cecil Lockley, Ted Maynor, Jim Pearce, Mark Pennington

9:04—Dink Andrews, Lea Couch, Dante Berini, Wayne Bridges

9:12—Mike Hall, Doug Baker, Alan Stephenson, Herschel Stephenson

9:20—Munyaradzi Bvumbe, Steve Thompson, Jeff Outlaw,

9:28—Tom Alicardi Sr., Tommy Alicardi Jr., Adrian Fagerberg, Paul Jones

9:38—Pete Vurnakes, Michael Wicker, Toby Ivey Jr., Scott Campbell

9:54—Jeff Swain, Brycen Swain, Cole Scearce, Richard Wagner

10:02—John Pittman, Brad Pittman, BJ Nowak, Bill Bambic

10:10—David Perry, Dennis Perry, Jeffrey Parker Jr., Wayne Jordan

10:28—Bruce Eckard, Peter Fox, Johnny Adams, Fred Avila

10:36—Brent Lewis, Drew Harward, Charles Thompson, Doug Best Jr.

10:44—Destin Barnes, Melvin Barnes, Corey Johnson, Matt Roberts

10:54—Steve Alford, Jeff Allen, Derrick Sims, Johnny Taylor

12:15—Ronnie Williams Jr., Micah Holloway, Brian Gann, Michael Smith