Opinion: Editorials View All »

Mar. 30, 2015 @ 05:22 PM

Losing the loop

The Downtown Loop, that confusing band of shape- and name-shifting streets, encircles downtown Durham and has much the same stifling effect as a noose around the neck.



Opinion: Letters View All »

Mar. 30, 2015 @ 12:43 PM

Letters to the Editor, March 31

  • April  Fools’ Day 
  • Social mobility


Columnist: Bob Ashley View All »

Mar. 28, 2015 @ 05:08 PM

No angry masses, but local efforts to restore social mobility

Driving to work last week, I was struck by a National Public Radio report from China.

Frank Langfitt, the network’s China correspondent, had driven two brothers from Shanghai back to their native village, deep in the countryside.  A theme of the piece was that both brothers, reared on a small farm where their parents still lived and where an outhouse was the toilet facility, had become successful lawyers in Shanghai.



Columnist: Rick Bean View All »

May. 17, 2014 @ 03:21 PM

Learning about passion from a life infused with it

Passion is more than an underrated word. It's an underrated way of life.

Nearly 40 years ago I met a community leader who would have a lasting impact on my life. He didn't know it then and neither did I. His name was Chuck.



Columnist: Chris Fitzsimon View All »

Jan. 17, 2015 @ 08:54 AM

Three leaders, but how many agendas?

One of the most interesting moments of the 2014 legislative session came in front of the Executive Mansion late last June, when Gov.Pat McCrory and House Speaker Thom Tillis appeared together with education advocates at a rally to tout a new teacher pay raise proposal that differed sharply from the plan the Senate was pushing.



Columnist: John Hood View All »

Mar. 28, 2015 @ 07:31 PM

Careful about rule changes for state’s elections

To the extent that Roy Cooper has a reasonable chance of defeating Gov. Pat McCrory for reelection, it’s because many of his fellow Democrats failed in their efforts to change the electoral process in 1980s and early 1990s.



Columnist: DG Martin View All »

Mar. 31, 2015 @ 08:33 AM

Where have all the heroes gone?

“Were you a part of the Army that made the Indians leave their homes?”

David, my 5-year-old grandson, had been learning about American Indians in his preschool.



Columnist: Leonard Pitts View All »

Mar. 30, 2015 @ 12:05 PM

Before 'conversation on race' we need education on race

Am I the only person in America not making fun of Howard Schultz?

The Starbucks CEO bought himself a ton of ridicule recently when he attempted to jumpstart a national dialogue on race by having baristas write the words "Race Together" on customers' cups of Cinnamon Dolce Light Frappuccino Grande or Caffe Misto Venti with extra coconut.



Columnist: Mike Walden View All »

Jan. 10, 2015 @ 11:20 PM

Building infrastructure – pay me now or pay me later?

My wife recently bought a new car. Well, not exactly “new new,” but “newly used.”  Some experts say this is the best way to purchase vehicles because you get an almost-new car without paying for the excessive depreciation that occurs when a brand-new car is driven off the lot.



Columnist: George Will View All »

Mar. 29, 2015 @ 04:32 PM

Voters can choose based on remembrance of Clintons past

An abscess of anger seems to gnaw at Hillary Clinton, but the reasons for her resentments remain unclear. The world's oldest party, which governed the nation during two world wars and is the primary architect of America's regulatory and redistributive state, is eager to give her its presidential nomination, in recognition of ... what?



Columnist: Tom Campbell View All »

Jan. 31, 2015 @ 09:53 AM

The realities of ‘serving at the pleasure’

Steve Logan, former East Carolina University head football coach, recently remarked that things don’t usually turn out well for head coaches. The same is often true for anyone who serves “at the pleasure” of someone or some group. UNC President Tom Ross is the latest example.



Columnist: Amy Laura Hall View All »

Feb. 24, 2015 @ 04:54 PM

Giving up for Lent: No one size fits all

Lent is a time during the Christian year when many Christians note daily how God repetitively saves us.  Lent can be a time for individual, careful reflection about where and when we are cruel to ourselves and where and when we are deeply mistaken about ourselves.  It can be a time to inquire prayerfully about ways that a human life can become trapped in prosaic or original forms of evil. 



Columnist: Rob Schofield View All »

Nov. 29, 2014 @ 07:58 AM

GOP has a golden opportunity during the lame duck session

What will the new political year in Washington bring? According to some analysts, the new GOP congressional majorities tilt more toward “the establishment” and away from the Tea Party wing. According to others, however, the new majorities are the starter’s signal for a full-fledged campaign to “repeal” the Obama presidency and even impeach the President himself.



Opinion: Guest Columnists View All »

Mar. 26, 2015 @ 02:38 PM

Durham Board of Education can repower schools and county’s future

We expect the best of our students and teachers in the classroom, and we can do more to provide them the best learning environment possible. Durham Public Schools (DPS) has an unprecedented opportunity to save critical school funding to invest in facilities, teachers and school resources by transforming its operations to 100-percent renewable energy.