Opinion: Editorials View All »

Dec. 19, 2014 @ 04:38 PM

Protest, police with restraint

Durham has a long history of passionate civic action and protest. Durham residents are not shy about taking to the streets.



Opinion: Letters View All »

Dec. 19, 2014 @ 12:10 PM

Letters to the Editor, Dec. 20

  • Growing sex trafficking problem
  • Watch your back


Columnist: Bob Ashley View All »

Jul. 05, 2014 @ 09:28 AM

Patriotism scarce? No, it abounds in many forms

As the Fourth of July, that most patriotic of American holidays, approached last week, Bill O’Reilly and Charles Krauthammer on Fox News ginned up the specter of a patriotism crisis in the country.



Columnist: Rick Bean View All »

May. 17, 2014 @ 03:21 PM

Learning about passion from a life infused with it

Passion is more than an underrated word. It's an underrated way of life.

Nearly 40 years ago I met a community leader who would have a lasting impact on my life. He didn't know it then and neither did I. His name was Chuck.



Columnist: Chris Fitzsimon View All »

Dec. 06, 2014 @ 08:36 AM

McCrory’s energy push leaves public drilling for truth

The administration of Governor Pat McCrory blatantly misled environmental groups, the media and the public last month about a meeting on offshore drilling that included state and federal officials and oil industry groups.



Columnist: John Hood View All »

Dec. 13, 2014 @ 01:06 PM

Got to pick a pocket?

Did Fagin’s pickpockets stimulate the economy of London?

If you’ve read Charles Dickens’ Oliver Twist or seen the musical derived from it, you’ll immediately recognize the name.



Columnist: DG Martin View All »

Dec. 16, 2014 @ 09:50 AM

Holding on to our humanity

“What is our tolerance for brutality?”

A minister asked this question from the pulpit Sunday morning and suggested that his listeners consider recent news stories relating to “enhanced interrogation” procedures by the Central Intelligence Agency.



Columnist: Leonard Pitts View All »

Dec. 12, 2014 @ 11:12 AM

Rainbow coalition of protests follows grand jury decisions

They have not stopped.

That's one of the most heartening things about the demonstrations against police brutality that began with the killing of Michael Brown in Ferguson, Missouri, in August and renewed with a grand jury's decision last week not to indict a New York police officer who choked Eric Garner to death.



Columnist: Mike Walden View All »

Aug. 10, 2014 @ 08:51 AM

Is inflation ready to take a leap?

Two key concerns in our economy are unemployment and inflation. We want both to be low. When unemployment is low, more people have jobs and earn income. When inflation is low, the dollars we earn don’t lose purchasing power as fast. That is, our dollars buy more with low inflation than with high inflation.



Columnist: George Will View All »

Dec. 17, 2014 @ 11:52 PM

A Texas-sized plate dispute

The Battle of Palmito Ranch near Brownsville, Texas, on May 13, 1865, is called the last battle of the Civil War, but the Texas Division of the Sons of Confederate Veterans (SCV) might consider that judgment premature, given its conflict with the state's Department of Transportation and Department of Motor Vehicles. This skirmish is of national interest because it implicates a burgeoning new entitlement -- the right to pass through life without encountering any disagreeable thought.



Columnist: Tom Campbell View All »

Sep. 20, 2014 @ 09:51 AM

The mentally ill are better off in jail

If anyone you love is mentally ill, God help you, because the odds of getting adequate help elsewhere are about as good as winning the lottery. I speak from experience. My brother is bi-polar.



Columnist: Amy Laura Hall View All »

Dec. 06, 2014 @ 08:08 AM

My favorite things

For my 12th birthday my dad took a group of my friends to the local theater.  I can’t remember which movie we saw, but I do remember that night.  I was small for my age and planning to take advantage of the child’s ticket price well into my teens. 



Columnist: Rob Schofield View All »

Nov. 29, 2014 @ 07:58 AM

GOP has a golden opportunity during the lame duck session

What will the new political year in Washington bring? According to some analysts, the new GOP congressional majorities tilt more toward “the establishment” and away from the Tea Party wing. According to others, however, the new majorities are the starter’s signal for a full-fledged campaign to “repeal” the Obama presidency and even impeach the President himself.



Opinion: Guest Columnists View All »

Dec. 19, 2014 @ 03:39 PM

Looking for a little good news in this season

In a Peanuts cartoon, Linus counseled Charlie Brown, "Cheer up, things could be worse," to which Charlie responded, "I did, and they were!"

That is the way I find myself responding to the barrage of bad news lately. The inhumane way we treat each other seems to have no limits.