Opinion: Editorials View All »

Jul. 23, 2014 @ 05:57 PM

Education’s broad value

Colleges and universities are facing more and more scrutiny these days over the value of the education they provide and the degrees they grant.



Opinion: Letters View All »

Jul. 23, 2014 @ 04:48 PM

Letters to the Editor, July 24

  • Sending a message?
  • When will citizens wise up?
  • Are we any different?


Columnist: Bob Ashley View All »

Jul. 05, 2014 @ 09:28 AM

Patriotism scarce? No, it abounds in many forms

As the Fourth of July, that most patriotic of American holidays, approached last week, Bill O’Reilly and Charles Krauthammer on Fox News ginned up the specter of a patriotism crisis in the country.



Columnist: Rick Bean View All »

May. 17, 2014 @ 03:21 PM

Learning about passion from a life infused with it

Passion is more than an underrated word. It's an underrated way of life.

Nearly 40 years ago I met a community leader who would have a lasting impact on my life. He didn't know it then and neither did I. His name was Chuck.



Columnist: Chris Fitzsimon View All »

May. 11, 2014 @ 11:01 AM

Takeaways from Tillis’ predictable but unconvincing win

The horse-race watchers in the national media couldn’t be more excited about the results of the North Carolina Republican senate primary Tuesday where state House Speaker Thom Tillis won the nomination by capturing 45 percent of the vote, handily defeating Tea Partier Greg Brannon and Charlotte minister Mark Harris -- both making their first run for public office.



Columnist: John Hood View All »

Jul. 20, 2014 @ 12:27 AM

Plant the seed for fruitful debate

I’m told that while there is no firmly established gift tradition for a 28th anniversary, the modern practice is to signify the event with an orchid.



Columnist: DG Martin View All »

Jul. 22, 2014 @ 10:17 AM

So many new voters, where did they come from?

“Voters born elsewhere make up nearly half of N.C. electorate.”

So begins the latest DataNet report from the UNC Program on Public Life, directed by former journalist Ferrel Guillory.



Columnist: Leonard Pitts View All »

Jul. 21, 2014 @ 12:36 PM

Todd Akin's back again to talk of rape

So, Todd Akin is back and he's talking rape again.

You remember what happened last time. 



Columnist: Mike Walden View All »

May. 24, 2014 @ 03:18 PM

You Decide: Can gray become green in rural areas?

Retired people are on the move. They’re going to resorts, towns and cities where their children and grandchildren live, or simply to locations with a lower cost of living. And they’re not just visiting -- they’re staying.



Columnist: George Will View All »

Jul. 23, 2014 @ 08:05 PM

Goldwater 2.0, redefining conservatism

Fifty Julys ago, up the road near San Francisco, in the unfortunately named Cow Palace, the Republican National Convention gave its presidential nomination to Arizona Sen. Barry Goldwater, who knew he would lose: Americans were not going to have a third president in 14 months.



Columnist: Tom Campbell View All »

Jul. 20, 2014 @ 12:51 AM

Dog tired these days and barking

They call this time of year the “dog days” of summer, long days filled with heat and humidity. When our legislature is still in session lawmakers get dog-tired, resulting in a lot of barking due to short tempers.



Columnist: Amy Laura Hall View All »

Jul. 05, 2014 @ 09:45 AM

Unreconciled: Forgiveness not the duty of mere mortals

“I know I have to forgive him, because otherwise I won’t get into heaven.”

 A friend said this to me recently about someone who had treated her horribly.   Casting forgiveness as a duty is one take-away message from the New Testament.  But how did that particular bumper sticker receive such tenaciously sticky backing in mainline, evangelical circles? 



Columnist: Rob Schofield View All »

Jul. 20, 2014 @ 11:33 AM

The war on the poor becomes a war on the middle class

There are a lot of competitors when it comes to listing and ranking the most hard-hearted and destructive acts of the last couple of General Assemblies and the first year and a half of the Pat McCrory administration. 



Opinion: Guest Columnists View All »

Jul. 20, 2014 @ 12:51 AM

Dog tired these days and barking

They call this time of year the “dog days” of summer, long days filled with heat and humidity. When our legislature is still in session lawmakers get dog-tired, resulting in a lot of barking due to short tempers.