Opinion: Editorials View All »

Jul. 27, 2014 @ 09:14 PM

Reacting to a senseless crime

A popular and respected professor and researcher takes his lunchtime stroll through a quiet Chapel Hill neighborhood near the University of North Carolina campus.

A day later he is dead, having been viciously beaten with a landscape stone in an apparent robbery attempt.



Opinion: Letters View All »

Jul. 27, 2014 @ 11:59 AM

HSNWS 7-28 letters

  • Makes no sense
  • All citizens at risk


Columnist: Bob Ashley View All »

Jul. 05, 2014 @ 09:28 AM

Patriotism scarce? No, it abounds in many forms

As the Fourth of July, that most patriotic of American holidays, approached last week, Bill O’Reilly and Charles Krauthammer on Fox News ginned up the specter of a patriotism crisis in the country.



Columnist: Rick Bean View All »

May. 17, 2014 @ 03:21 PM

Learning about passion from a life infused with it

Passion is more than an underrated word. It's an underrated way of life.

Nearly 40 years ago I met a community leader who would have a lasting impact on my life. He didn't know it then and neither did I. His name was Chuck.



Columnist: Chris Fitzsimon View All »

May. 11, 2014 @ 11:01 AM

Takeaways from Tillis’ predictable but unconvincing win

The horse-race watchers in the national media couldn’t be more excited about the results of the North Carolina Republican senate primary Tuesday where state House Speaker Thom Tillis won the nomination by capturing 45 percent of the vote, handily defeating Tea Partier Greg Brannon and Charlotte minister Mark Harris -- both making their first run for public office.



Columnist: John Hood View All »

Jul. 24, 2014 @ 08:55 PM

Credit claims are poorly scripted

When liberals debate tax policy, it can be hard to keep track of their current positions. They keep changing.



Columnist: DG Martin View All »

Jul. 26, 2014 @ 09:57 PM

Do they still know your name at Sutton’s?

Will John still be there when we eat at Sutton’s?
The big news on Chapel Hill’s Franklin Street is the change at Sutton’s Drug Store, one of the town’s landmark businesses for as long as anybody can remember.



Columnist: Leonard Pitts View All »

Jul. 25, 2014 @ 11:31 AM

Candidate runs for wrong bus, leaves border issue unsolved

It's a revealing video.

Not in the sense of physical nakedness. No, what is naked in that clip is a kind of political opportunism that has become all too common.



Columnist: Mike Walden View All »

May. 24, 2014 @ 03:18 PM

You Decide: Can gray become green in rural areas?

Retired people are on the move. They’re going to resorts, towns and cities where their children and grandchildren live, or simply to locations with a lower cost of living. And they’re not just visiting -- they’re staying.



Columnist: George Will View All »

Jul. 26, 2014 @ 08:28 PM

In Oregon, a doctor calls

"Are you kidding?" This is Monica Wehby's amiable response to people who wonder whether she will be able to bear the pressures of office if she wins her race as a Republican Senate candidate. For 17 of her 52 years she has been a pediatric neurosurgeon, holding in steady hands sharp steel and the fate of children's brains. She probably can cope with the strains of legislative life.



Columnist: Tom Campbell View All »

Jul. 20, 2014 @ 12:51 AM

Dog tired these days and barking

They call this time of year the “dog days” of summer, long days filled with heat and humidity. When our legislature is still in session lawmakers get dog-tired, resulting in a lot of barking due to short tempers.



Columnist: Amy Laura Hall View All »

Jul. 05, 2014 @ 09:45 AM

Unreconciled: Forgiveness not the duty of mere mortals

“I know I have to forgive him, because otherwise I won’t get into heaven.”

 A friend said this to me recently about someone who had treated her horribly.   Casting forgiveness as a duty is one take-away message from the New Testament.  But how did that particular bumper sticker receive such tenaciously sticky backing in mainline, evangelical circles? 



Columnist: Rob Schofield View All »

Jul. 20, 2014 @ 11:33 AM

The war on the poor becomes a war on the middle class

There are a lot of competitors when it comes to listing and ranking the most hard-hearted and destructive acts of the last couple of General Assemblies and the first year and a half of the Pat McCrory administration. 



Opinion: Guest Columnists View All »

Jul. 27, 2014 @ 11:40 AM

A parents’ legacy – tomato diplomacy, sharing our bounty

Some of my favorite childhood memories are of wandering in my father’s garden: beds of vegetables and strawberries dug into our suburban lot, next to my swing set. I was such a glutton for peas in the pod and berries that my father planted an extra row of each for me to consume raw. The rest were off limits until my mother sent me to pick whatever was ripe for supper. After we had washed the carrots, lettuce, or beans, I received samples. If I hadn’t been an only child, the rules might have been stricter. Or the garden might have been larger.