Opinion: Editorials View All »

Sep. 15, 2014 @ 06:09 PM

Athletes and the campus

A group of faculty and administrators at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill embarked on an intriguing discussion last week on housing facilities for athletes.



Opinion: Letters View All »

Sep. 15, 2014 @ 11:24 AM

Letters to the Editor, Sept. 16

  • Scary city for walkers, cyclists
  • More eyesores
  • Unions destroying middle class


Columnist: Bob Ashley View All »

Jul. 05, 2014 @ 09:28 AM

Patriotism scarce? No, it abounds in many forms

As the Fourth of July, that most patriotic of American holidays, approached last week, Bill O’Reilly and Charles Krauthammer on Fox News ginned up the specter of a patriotism crisis in the country.



Columnist: Rick Bean View All »

May. 17, 2014 @ 03:21 PM

Learning about passion from a life infused with it

Passion is more than an underrated word. It's an underrated way of life.

Nearly 40 years ago I met a community leader who would have a lasting impact on my life. He didn't know it then and neither did I. His name was Chuck.



Columnist: Chris Fitzsimon View All »

May. 11, 2014 @ 11:01 AM

Takeaways from Tillis’ predictable but unconvincing win

The horse-race watchers in the national media couldn’t be more excited about the results of the North Carolina Republican senate primary Tuesday where state House Speaker Thom Tillis won the nomination by capturing 45 percent of the vote, handily defeating Tea Partier Greg Brannon and Charlotte minister Mark Harris -- both making their first run for public office.



Columnist: John Hood View All »

Sep. 06, 2014 @ 10:37 AM

UNC system makes progress in managing costs

When Republicans won their legislative majorities in 2010 and expanded them in 2012, they ran on a platform of fiscal conservatism and reform. They’ve largely delivered on it. Tax and regulatory burdens are lower. State spending growth has been restrained. Lawmakers have implemented major changes in transportation funding and education policy.



Columnist: DG Martin View All »

Sep. 11, 2014 @ 12:18 PM

Martin: This car is not for sale

“I have never sold a single one of them.”
Chapel Hill businessman and real estate appraiser P.H. Craig was talking about his treasured collection of old cars.



Columnist: Leonard Pitts View All »

Sep. 15, 2014 @ 11:23 AM

Wondering 'what if' as U.S. forces head back to Middle East

If.

Two letters long, it is arguably the most fruitless word in the English language, an evocation of paths not taken, possibilities foreclosed, regrets stacked high -- and it lies like a pall of smoke over President Barack Obama's Wednesday-night announcement that this country is returning to war, albeit with air strikes only, in a place we just left behind in 2011 after spending almost nine years, over a trillion dollars and 4,425 lives.



Columnist: Mike Walden View All »

Aug. 10, 2014 @ 08:51 AM

Is inflation ready to take a leap?

Two key concerns in our economy are unemployment and inflation. We want both to be low. When unemployment is low, more people have jobs and earn income. When inflation is low, the dollars we earn don’t lose purchasing power as fast. That is, our dollars buy more with low inflation than with high inflation.



Columnist: George Will View All »

Sep. 14, 2014 @ 03:51 PM

Scotland's epic vote on independence

Tucking into a dish of Scottish haggis is not a task for the fainthearted. There are various haggis recipes, but basically it is sheep's pluck -- the heart, lungs and liver -- cooked together, then mixed with suet and oatmeal and boiled in a sheep's stomach, then served, sometimes drenched with Scotch. People who pour whisky on oatmeal are not shrinking violets. Remember this on Thursday when Scotland votes on independence from the United Kingdom.



Columnist: Tom Campbell View All »

Sep. 13, 2014 @ 10:22 AM

We may never know how much our children are learning

The headlines sounded great. 56 percent of our students passed their end-of-grade tests, compared to just 44 percent last year. A more thorough reading reveals the 11-point gain was a result of educators relaxing the scoring scale, making the tests easier to pass. It left us questioning whether we will ever know how well our students are performing.



Columnist: Amy Laura Hall View All »

Sep. 06, 2014 @ 08:17 AM

A gracious response to chivalry

My daughters had an exchange about tween boys two years ago.  My younger daughter was complaining about her fifth-grade class. My older daughter asked: “Are the boys still making [flatulence] noises with their armpits?”  Apparently they were.  “Well,” she reassured her sister, “they will stop that soon, and then school isn’t so bad.” 



Columnist: Rob Schofield View All »

Jul. 20, 2014 @ 11:33 AM

The war on the poor becomes a war on the middle class

There are a lot of competitors when it comes to listing and ranking the most hard-hearted and destructive acts of the last couple of General Assemblies and the first year and a half of the Pat McCrory administration. 



Opinion: Guest Columnists View All »

Aug. 22, 2014 @ 08:46 AM

Rising STARS

Stacy Parker-Fisher of the Oak Foundation in Chapel Hill says it all started with this premise, “What if you took a public university system and you made it welcoming for students with learning differences?”