Opinion: Editorials View All »

Mar. 26, 2015 @ 05:52 PM

A tainted name

The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill appears to be inching toward a decision to remove Williams Saunders' name from a prominent campus building after nearly 100 years.



Opinion: Letters View All »

Mar. 25, 2015 @ 04:53 PM

Letters to the Editor, March 26

This is in response to the editorial, “Basking in basketball.”

I hope you all don’t think we are in this together, we aren’t.



Columnist: Bob Ashley View All »

Mar. 21, 2015 @ 03:49 PM

The evil and the good of Greek gods and ‘Greek’ life

Athena was the Greek goddess of war and wisdom, or, some would say, the embodiment of both evil and good.



Columnist: Rick Bean View All »

May. 17, 2014 @ 03:21 PM

Learning about passion from a life infused with it

Passion is more than an underrated word. It's an underrated way of life.

Nearly 40 years ago I met a community leader who would have a lasting impact on my life. He didn't know it then and neither did I. His name was Chuck.



Columnist: Chris Fitzsimon View All »

Jan. 17, 2015 @ 08:54 AM

Three leaders, but how many agendas?

One of the most interesting moments of the 2014 legislative session came in front of the Executive Mansion late last June, when Gov.Pat McCrory and House Speaker Thom Tillis appeared together with education advocates at a rally to tout a new teacher pay raise proposal that differed sharply from the plan the Senate was pushing.



Columnist: John Hood View All »

Mar. 05, 2015 @ 01:39 PM

We need a balanced diet of news and information

Thank you for reading this column. It’s not just that I appreciate your interest in what I have to say. I appreciate the fact that you are reading this publication at all. According to a recent set of surveys by the Pew Research Center, a distressing number of our fellow citizens rely mostly on television to inform themselves about politics and government.



Columnist: DG Martin View All »

Mar. 24, 2015 @ 10:20 AM

Martin: My trip to Norlina

Come on and go to Norlina with me!



Columnist: Leonard Pitts View All »

Mar. 23, 2015 @ 10:51 AM

I've got your back, Ashley Judd!

Dear Ashley Judd:

I guess this is a fan letter, though it is not written in praise of your work in movies like "Insurgent," "Divergent" or "Tooth Fairy." Rather, it's in response to the headlines you made last week when you called out Internet trolls who defamed you as a "b---h," a "whore," and a "c---" and threatened you with rape after you tweeted an opinion about an SEC basketball tournament.



Columnist: Mike Walden View All »

Jan. 10, 2015 @ 11:20 PM

Building infrastructure – pay me now or pay me later?

My wife recently bought a new car. Well, not exactly “new new,” but “newly used.”  Some experts say this is the best way to purchase vehicles because you get an almost-new car without paying for the excessive depreciation that occurs when a brand-new car is driven off the lot.



Columnist: George Will View All »

Mar. 22, 2015 @ 03:34 PM

Social inequality's roots are steadily deepening

The rate of dog ownership is rising ominously. How can a profusion of puppies be worrisome? A report from the Raymond James financial services firm concerning trends in the housing market explains: Increasing numbers of women "are adopting dogs for security and/or companionship," partly because of "the great education divide."



Columnist: Tom Campbell View All »

Jan. 31, 2015 @ 09:53 AM

The realities of ‘serving at the pleasure’

Steve Logan, former East Carolina University head football coach, recently remarked that things don’t usually turn out well for head coaches. The same is often true for anyone who serves “at the pleasure” of someone or some group. UNC President Tom Ross is the latest example.



Columnist: Amy Laura Hall View All »

Feb. 24, 2015 @ 04:54 PM

Giving up for Lent: No one size fits all

Lent is a time during the Christian year when many Christians note daily how God repetitively saves us.  Lent can be a time for individual, careful reflection about where and when we are cruel to ourselves and where and when we are deeply mistaken about ourselves.  It can be a time to inquire prayerfully about ways that a human life can become trapped in prosaic or original forms of evil. 



Columnist: Rob Schofield View All »

Nov. 29, 2014 @ 07:58 AM

GOP has a golden opportunity during the lame duck session

What will the new political year in Washington bring? According to some analysts, the new GOP congressional majorities tilt more toward “the establishment” and away from the Tea Party wing. According to others, however, the new majorities are the starter’s signal for a full-fledged campaign to “repeal” the Obama presidency and even impeach the President himself.



Opinion: Guest Columnists View All »

Mar. 26, 2015 @ 02:38 PM

Durham Board of Education can repower schools and county’s future

We expect the best of our students and teachers in the classroom, and we can do more to provide them the best learning environment possible. Durham Public Schools (DPS) has an unprecedented opportunity to save critical school funding to invest in facilities, teachers and school resources by transforming its operations to 100-percent renewable energy.