Opinion: Editorials View All »

May. 22, 2015 @ 12:54 AM

Helping vets ‘conquer all’

In recent years, we’ve come to understand ever more deeply that many men and women who return from fighting our country’s wars face struggles long after they have left the field of battle.



Opinion: Letters View All »

May. 21, 2015 @ 11:34 PM

Letters to the Editor, May 23

  • Freedom of speech
  • To end war, end patriarchy


Columnist: Bob Ashley View All »

May. 18, 2015 @ 08:53 AM

Savoring contrasting vibes downtown, and wondering

Last weekend, shopping and strolling through the Durham Farmers’ Market as my family does most Saturdays, it was clear that we’re heading into the bounteous season. Product and purchasers are becoming more plentiful, and I was reminded once again of how the market and its surroundings have transformed in the past decade.



Columnist: Rick Bean View All »

May. 02, 2015 @ 09:08 AM

Navigating shades of gray in news decisions

Sometimes it's difficult to live in a world that wants to be black and white, when in fact it's varying shades of gray.

 


Columnist: Chris Fitzsimon View All »

Apr. 09, 2015 @ 11:18 AM

Thousands of seniors anxiously await lawmakers’ budget decisions

When state lawmakers return next week from their unusual spring break, debate over the budget will take center stage as the House puts together its spending plan for the next two years.



Columnist: John Hood View All »

May. 14, 2015 @ 09:50 AM

How McCrory gets judged

Pat McCrory will likely run for reelection next year as governor of North Carolina against longtime Attorney General Roy Cooper. Both men are capable candidates who will run skillful, well-funded campaigns. Given the larger political context, I see the contest as unpredictable at the moment. But there are a couple of things we can say with confidence about it.



Columnist: DG Martin View All »

May. 19, 2015 @ 10:48 AM

Historian Leuchtenburg on Hillary Clinton’s challenges

Is it too early to start putting the 2016 presidential election in historical perspective?

Maybe.

But it is never too early to ask presidential historian and UNC-Chapel Hill emeritus history professor William Leuchtenburg to size up today’s presidential politics in light of the experiences of other presidents and presidential candidates.



Columnist: Leonard Pitts View All »

May. 21, 2015 @ 12:05 AM

Police brutality can't be fixed by African-American self-improvement

Maybe some people didn't understand the question.

It was posed in this space a few weeks ago by Tracy, a self-described 55-year-old white woman from Texas who is sick and tired of the mounting litany of police violence against unarmed African-American boys and men. She wanted to know what actions she, as an average person, might take to help bring about change. "What can I do?" she ask



Columnist: Mike Walden View All »

Jan. 10, 2015 @ 11:20 PM

Building infrastructure – pay me now or pay me later?

My wife recently bought a new car. Well, not exactly “new new,” but “newly used.”  Some experts say this is the best way to purchase vehicles because you get an almost-new car without paying for the excessive depreciation that occurs when a brand-new car is driven off the lot.



Columnist: George Will View All »

May. 20, 2015 @ 08:15 PM

The withering of the death penalty

Without a definitive judicial ruling or other galvanizing event, a perennial American argument is ending. Capital punishment is withering away.



Columnist: Tom Campbell View All »

May. 19, 2015 @ 11:31 PM

For both parties, it’s the same old song

Don’t you find it interesting the ways ideologues and politicians respond to news happenings? Interesting, but disappointing. We keep hearing the same old song repeated over and over.



Columnist: Amy Laura Hall View All »

May. 02, 2015 @ 12:54 AM

Mother’s Day in history – from commercialism to feminism

One friend who served in the military and who does not have children told me that he and his wife avoid church two Sundays every year: Veterans Day Sunday and Mother’s Day.  He explained that both services are too painful.  (I have permission to share this.)  Pastors try to broaden Mother’s Day, so it is not merely a saccharine ode to “Motherhood.”  But if the second Sunday of May is about Mothers (capital M) at your church, Hallmark has won the day.



Columnist: Rob Schofield View All »

Nov. 29, 2014 @ 07:58 AM

GOP has a golden opportunity during the lame duck session

What will the new political year in Washington bring? According to some analysts, the new GOP congressional majorities tilt more toward “the establishment” and away from the Tea Party wing. According to others, however, the new majorities are the starter’s signal for a full-fledged campaign to “repeal” the Obama presidency and even impeach the President himself.



Columnist: Philip Azar View All »


Opinion: Guest Columnists View All »

May. 21, 2015 @ 07:23 AM

North Carolinians deserve more energy choices

North Carolina’s clean energy sector is bringing good jobs and economic opportunity to our state. This success is the result of a series of smart, bipartisan policy solutions.