Opinion: Editorials View All »

Apr. 25, 2015 @ 07:06 AM

Testimonies to long devotion

Two stories in The Herald-Sun in the past couple of days offered testimonials to
longevity, devotion and warmth.



Opinion: Letters View All »

Apr. 25, 2015 @ 11:49 AM

Letters to the Editor, April 26

  • Ignoring drive-bys
  • Must this debate continue?


Columnist: Bob Ashley View All »

Apr. 19, 2015 @ 08:17 AM

Celebrating a “dawn of peace” that sadly really wasn’t

Ten days ago, the nation celebrated the 150th anniversary  of Confederate Gen. Robert E.
Lee’s surrender to Union Gen. Ulysses S. Grant at Appomattox Courthouse in Virginia.
Grant declared “the war is over” and ever since that surrender has been seen as the
welcome conclusion to a civil war that tore about the nation less than a century after its
founding.



Columnist: Rick Bean View All »

May. 17, 2014 @ 03:21 PM

Learning about passion from a life infused with it

Passion is more than an underrated word. It's an underrated way of life.

Nearly 40 years ago I met a community leader who would have a lasting impact on my life. He didn't know it then and neither did I. His name was Chuck.



Columnist: Chris Fitzsimon View All »

Apr. 09, 2015 @ 11:18 AM

Thousands of seniors anxiously await lawmakers’ budget decisions

When state lawmakers return next week from their unusual spring break, debate over the budget will take center stage as the House puts together its spending plan for the next two years.



Columnist: John Hood View All »

Apr. 18, 2015 @ 12:12 PM

Freedom is a weighty issue

Have you been eating right? Getting enough exercise? How far away are you from your ideal weight?



Columnist: DG Martin View All »

Apr. 21, 2015 @ 11:06 AM

Martin: Is the Civil War over?

One hundred and 50 years later, is the Civil War finally over?



Columnist: Leonard Pitts View All »

Apr. 24, 2015 @ 11:44 AM

Self-absorbed ESPN reporter gained fame, lost humanity

There is much that could be said about the captured-on-video, made-for-the-water-cooler tirade by ESPN reporter Britt McHenry that lit up social media a few days ago and earned her a one-week suspension. McHenry, livid that her car had been towed after apparently being parked illegally, vented her spleen with acid condescension upon a woman who has been identified as "Gina," an impound clerk at a tow yard in Arlington, Virginia



Columnist: Mike Walden View All »

Jan. 10, 2015 @ 11:20 PM

Building infrastructure – pay me now or pay me later?

My wife recently bought a new car. Well, not exactly “new new,” but “newly used.”  Some experts say this is the best way to purchase vehicles because you get an almost-new car without paying for the excessive depreciation that occurs when a brand-new car is driven off the lot.



Columnist: George Will View All »

Apr. 22, 2015 @ 08:01 PM

When bootleggers and Baptists converge, be clear-eyed

Smoking, said King James I in 1604, is "loathsome to the eye, hateful to the nose, harmful to the brain, dangerous to the lungs." Three years later he planted a colony in Jamestown. Its tobacco enhanced the royal treasury until Virginia produced a bumper crop of revolutionaries, including the tobacco farmer George Washington.     



Columnist: Tom Campbell View All »

Apr. 11, 2015 @ 12:15 PM

A dramatic and effective civics lesson

We got a refresher lesson in civics recently, one we hope will stick in our memories for many years. North Carolina, following the example of other states, was set to pass a law in the name of religious freedom, but civic groups and corporate America found it distasteful and discriminatory and raised their voices in strong protest. Elected officials got the message and are backing down.



Columnist: Amy Laura Hall View All »

Apr. 04, 2015 @ 09:19 PM

Providing our daily bread, for real bodies

Workers across North Carolina are organizing for a large event “for 15” on April 15 The gathering will include women who deliver mail, teenage boys who grill hamburgers, young women who grade papers and men who change Depends undergarments.  What do we have in common?  We work caring for people’s bodies, souls and minds, and we take our jobs seriously.  We take our jobs so seriously that we expect to be treated with dignity at work.  We expect to be treated as people, not as tools, because our work demands that we daily treat other human beings with patience



Columnist: Rob Schofield View All »

Nov. 29, 2014 @ 07:58 AM

GOP has a golden opportunity during the lame duck session

What will the new political year in Washington bring? According to some analysts, the new GOP congressional majorities tilt more toward “the establishment” and away from the Tea Party wing. According to others, however, the new majorities are the starter’s signal for a full-fledged campaign to “repeal” the Obama presidency and even impeach the President himself.



Opinion: Guest Columnists View All »

Apr. 25, 2015 @ 11:03 AM

Celebrating the life and legacy of George W. Newton

Great communities are comprised of great institutions. They celebrate great traditions, provide great opportunities for their residents, build on great histories and create great futures.