Opinion: Editorials View All »

Jul. 30, 2015 @ 06:56 PM

A Chamber champion

In October 2007, Casey Steinbacher left South Florida to become president and CEO of the Greater Durham Chamber of Commerce.

Two months later what came to be known as the Great Recession began.

Talk about good timing. 



Opinion: Letters View All »

Jul. 30, 2015 @ 02:20 PM

Letters to the Editor, July 31

  • More on slowing for safety
  • Duke redux


Columnist: Bob Ashley View All »

Jul. 26, 2015 @ 07:16 AM

Donating fans can bring relief to neighbors in need

We are, as it has been impossible not to notice, in the heat of our Piedmont Carolinas summer. We all know – and feel – the drill. Temperatures soar near 100, and weather forecasters talk about a cool spell when they tip into the upper 80s. Humidity envelopes us, and the heat index pushes into triple digits.



Columnist: Rick Bean View All »

May. 02, 2015 @ 09:08 AM

Navigating shades of gray in news decisions

Sometimes it's difficult to live in a world that wants to be black and white, when in fact it's varying shades of gray.

 


Columnist: Chris Fitzsimon View All »

Apr. 09, 2015 @ 11:18 AM

Thousands of seniors anxiously await lawmakers’ budget decisions

When state lawmakers return next week from their unusual spring break, debate over the budget will take center stage as the House puts together its spending plan for the next two years.



Columnist: John Hood View All »

Jul. 22, 2015 @ 12:01 PM

North Carolina’s primary could be pivotal

After months of debate, North Carolina seems finally to have set a date for its 2016 presidential primaries. It won’t be in February, right after the South Carolina primary, as originally scheduled. It won’t even be during the first week of March, when more than a dozen states will hold primaries or caucuses.



Columnist: DG Martin View All »

Jul. 28, 2015 @ 11:32 AM

Martin: Hero on the wrong side of history

Can Atticus Finch still be our hero?



Columnist: Leonard Pitts View All »

Jul. 27, 2015 @ 10:48 PM

GOP's condemnation of Trump pure hypocrisy

Here's the thing about principle.

Unless applied equally it is not really principle at all. He who climbs on his moral high horse when a wrong is done to him or his, but leaves the horse stabled when an identical wrong is done to someone else, acts from self-interest and that is the opposite of principle



Columnist: Mike Walden View All »

Jul. 09, 2015 @ 08:32 AM

Is North Carolina’s economic rebound stumbling?

Some troubling news about North Carolina’s economy made the headlines recently. Numbers for an economic concept called “gross domestic product,” or GDP, were released for 2014. While North Carolina’s GDP increased in 2014, it rose much less than in the nation. The comparison was a 1.4 percent gain for the state versus a 2.2 percent improvement for the nation. Does this mean it’s time to worry about the state’s economic rebound?



Columnist: George Will View All »

Jul. 29, 2015 @ 04:03 PM

With Iran nuclear deal, Obama makes bad history

It came two days after the announcement of the nuclear agreement with Iran, yet little mention was made on July 16 of the 70th anniversary of the first nuclear explosion, near Alamogordo, New Mexico. The anniversary underscored that the agreement attempts to thwart proliferation of technology seven decades old.



Columnist: Tom Campbell View All »

Jul. 26, 2015 @ 03:26 PM

The verdict on the state’s election laws trial

Two weeks into the hearing over North Carolina’s 2013 election laws, we have reached some conclusions.



Columnist: Amy Laura Hall View All »

Jul. 04, 2015 @ 09:47 PM

A house divided – the South’s shameless bargain

sticker refers to them in passing.  Jesus talks about the ruin of a divided people in the middle of an argument about whether his healing miracles are miraculous or demonic.  Jesus is, of course, clear that he is healing people with the power of the Holy Spirit, not through the power of Satan.  This is also the passage where Jesus specifies that the only unforgivable sin is speaking against the Holy Spirit. 



Columnist: Rob Schofield View All »

Nov. 29, 2014 @ 07:58 AM

GOP has a golden opportunity during the lame duck session

What will the new political year in Washington bring? According to some analysts, the new GOP congressional majorities tilt more toward “the establishment” and away from the Tea Party wing. According to others, however, the new majorities are the starter’s signal for a full-fledged campaign to “repeal” the Obama presidency and even impeach the President himself.



Columnist: Philip Azar View All »


Opinion: Guest Columnists View All »

Jul. 25, 2015 @ 12:30 AM

UNC women’s basketball unfairly targeted in allegations

All of my life I have been taught that sports aren’t just about winning and losing, but about teaching life lessons.  Throughout my four years at the University of North Carolina, Coach Sylvia Hatchell and her staff did just that.  When I got to Carolina in 2004 I was a timid 19-year-old walk-on transfer student.  I didn’t have any clue what I was getting myself into, but was welcomed by open arms.  I was supported through so many changes in my life and have been supported by her staff since I graduated.  It was because of my experience as one of the women’s basketball student-athletes that I am a successful in my life today