Opinion: Editorials View All »

Oct. 24, 2014 @ 03:24 PM

Academics vs. athletics

If you listen to head UNC football coach Larry Fedora, it seems there’s no problem at UNC. His tin ear as Chapel Hill’s academic and athletic scandal continues to unfold is astonishing.

 


Opinion: Letters View All »

Oct. 24, 2014 @ 01:59 PM

Letters to the Editor, Oct. 25

  • Tillis has proven record
  • A false prophet


Columnist: Bob Ashley View All »

Jul. 05, 2014 @ 09:28 AM

Patriotism scarce? No, it abounds in many forms

As the Fourth of July, that most patriotic of American holidays, approached last week, Bill O’Reilly and Charles Krauthammer on Fox News ginned up the specter of a patriotism crisis in the country.



Columnist: Rick Bean View All »

May. 17, 2014 @ 03:21 PM

Learning about passion from a life infused with it

Passion is more than an underrated word. It's an underrated way of life.

Nearly 40 years ago I met a community leader who would have a lasting impact on my life. He didn't know it then and neither did I. His name was Chuck.



Columnist: Chris Fitzsimon View All »

May. 11, 2014 @ 11:01 AM

Takeaways from Tillis’ predictable but unconvincing win

The horse-race watchers in the national media couldn’t be more excited about the results of the North Carolina Republican senate primary Tuesday where state House Speaker Thom Tillis won the nomination by capturing 45 percent of the vote, handily defeating Tea Partier Greg Brannon and Charlotte minister Mark Harris -- both making their first run for public office.



Columnist: John Hood View All »

Oct. 16, 2014 @ 12:07 PM

Stimulus story reveals much

In the homestretch of the Senate race between incumbent Kay Hagan and challenger Thom Tillis, the disclosure that Hagan’s family profited from the 2009 stimulus package she voted for has drawn a great deal of attention.



Columnist: DG Martin View All »

Oct. 21, 2014 @ 08:53 AM

A ’60s radical comes back with conservative allies

Howard Fuller was back in North Carolina last week promoting his new book,  “No Struggle, No Progress: A Warrior’s Life from Black Power to Education Reform.”



Columnist: Leonard Pitts View All »

Oct. 13, 2014 @ 08:46 AM

Citizens have a right to protest, even in Ferguson

Last week, a federal judge told us what we already knew.

Namely, that police in Ferguson, Missouri, violated the rights of protesters demonstrating against the shooting death of Michael Brown. 



Columnist: Mike Walden View All »

Aug. 10, 2014 @ 08:51 AM

Is inflation ready to take a leap?

Two key concerns in our economy are unemployment and inflation. We want both to be low. When unemployment is low, more people have jobs and earn income. When inflation is low, the dollars we earn don’t lose purchasing power as fast. That is, our dollars buy more with low inflation than with high inflation.



Columnist: George Will View All »

Oct. 22, 2014 @ 08:42 PM

In Kentucky, a constitutional moment

Barack Obama lost Kentucky in 2012 by 23 points, yet the state remains closely divided about re-electing the man whose parliamentary skills uniquely qualify him to restrain Obama's executive overreach. So, Kentucky's Senate contest is a constitutional moment that will determine whether the separation of powers will be reasserted by a Congress revitalized by restoration of the Senate's dignity.



Columnist: Tom Campbell View All »

Sep. 20, 2014 @ 09:51 AM

The mentally ill are better off in jail

If anyone you love is mentally ill, God help you, because the odds of getting adequate help elsewhere are about as good as winning the lottery. I speak from experience. My brother is bi-polar.



Columnist: Amy Laura Hall View All »

Oct. 04, 2014 @ 08:20 AM

A groundhog tale from Green Street

There are two shops on 9th Street in Durham featuring different messages about our dear city.  One has a t-shirt in the window that says “Durham, It’s Not For Everyone.”  Another features a t-shirt that says “Durham, It’s For Everyone.”

I love both stores, but I like the second t-shirt better.



Columnist: Rob Schofield View All »

Jul. 20, 2014 @ 11:33 AM

The war on the poor becomes a war on the middle class

There are a lot of competitors when it comes to listing and ranking the most hard-hearted and destructive acts of the last couple of General Assemblies and the first year and a half of the Pat McCrory administration. 



Opinion: Guest Columnists View All »

Aug. 22, 2014 @ 08:46 AM

Rising STARS

Stacy Parker-Fisher of the Oak Foundation in Chapel Hill says it all started with this premise, “What if you took a public university system and you made it welcoming for students with learning differences?”