Opinion: Editorials View All »

Feb. 27, 2015 @ 04:36 PM

A regrettable rejection

When the Senate Judiciary endorsed Loretta Lynch, who grew up in Durham, to be attorney general of the United States, it was predictable Democrats would support her.



Opinion: Letters View All »

Feb. 27, 2015 @ 02:45 PM

Letters to the Editor, Feb. 28

  • Franchise rules change impedes success
  • Tillis: Wash out his mouth?


Columnist: Bob Ashley View All »

Feb. 27, 2015 @ 06:04 PM

Rudy Giuliani, once heroic, now simply foolish

Amazing. Just ... amazing.

Here we are, six years later, six years of mom jeans and golf dates and taking the girls for ice cream. And yet, some of us are still hung up on the perceived "otherness," the "not like us"-ness, of Barack Obama.



Columnist: Rick Bean View All »

May. 17, 2014 @ 03:21 PM

Learning about passion from a life infused with it

Passion is more than an underrated word. It's an underrated way of life.

Nearly 40 years ago I met a community leader who would have a lasting impact on my life. He didn't know it then and neither did I. His name was Chuck.



Columnist: Chris Fitzsimon View All »

Jan. 17, 2015 @ 08:54 AM

Three leaders, but how many agendas?

One of the most interesting moments of the 2014 legislative session came in front of the Executive Mansion late last June, when Gov.Pat McCrory and House Speaker Thom Tillis appeared together with education advocates at a rally to tout a new teacher pay raise proposal that differed sharply from the plan the Senate was pushing.



Columnist: John Hood View All »

Feb. 14, 2015 @ 10:35 PM

School letter grades teach many lessons

Those who care about education reform learned a lot on Feb. 5 when North Carolina released its first letter grades for public schools. The grades reflect three sets of information: average performance on end-of-year tests, the amount of annual growth in those scores, and graduation rates.



Columnist: DG Martin View All »

Feb. 23, 2015 @ 10:57 AM

The ’57 Chevy: two stories about the same car

What is it about a 1957 Chevrolet?

Like The New York Times offering on its store page a “1957 Bel Air 50th Anniversary Edition $99.95. Numbered, limited edition of 1,957.”

Before you order, let me tell you about the North Carolina connection to the car. Make that “connections,” as there are more than one.



Columnist: Leonard Pitts View All »

Feb. 23, 2015 @ 10:25 AM

Jon Stewart, a Cronkite for the new millennium

I am not insane. For this, I have Jon Stewart to thank.



Columnist: Mike Walden View All »

Jan. 10, 2015 @ 11:20 PM

Building infrastructure – pay me now or pay me later?

My wife recently bought a new car. Well, not exactly “new new,” but “newly used.”  Some experts say this is the best way to purchase vehicles because you get an almost-new car without paying for the excessive depreciation that occurs when a brand-new car is driven off the lot.



Columnist: George Will View All »

Feb. 25, 2015 @ 08:01 PM

Reversing course in Illinois

CHICAGO -- The most portentous election of 2014, which gave the worst-governed state its first Republican governor in 12 years, has initiated this century's most intriguing political experiment. Illinois has favored Democratic presidential candidates by an average of 16 points in the last six elections. But by electing businessman Bruce Rauner, it initiated a process that might dismantle a form of governance that afflicts many states and municipalities.



Columnist: Tom Campbell View All »

Jan. 31, 2015 @ 09:53 AM

The realities of ‘serving at the pleasure’

Steve Logan, former East Carolina University head football coach, recently remarked that things don’t usually turn out well for head coaches. The same is often true for anyone who serves “at the pleasure” of someone or some group. UNC President Tom Ross is the latest example.



Columnist: Amy Laura Hall View All »

Feb. 24, 2015 @ 04:54 PM

Giving up for Lent: No one size fits all

Lent is a time during the Christian year when many Christians note daily how God repetitively saves us.  Lent can be a time for individual, careful reflection about where and when we are cruel to ourselves and where and when we are deeply mistaken about ourselves.  It can be a time to inquire prayerfully about ways that a human life can become trapped in prosaic or original forms of evil. 



Columnist: Rob Schofield View All »

Nov. 29, 2014 @ 07:58 AM

GOP has a golden opportunity during the lame duck session

What will the new political year in Washington bring? According to some analysts, the new GOP congressional majorities tilt more toward “the establishment” and away from the Tea Party wing. According to others, however, the new majorities are the starter’s signal for a full-fledged campaign to “repeal” the Obama presidency and even impeach the President himself.



Opinion: Guest Columnists View All »

Feb. 25, 2015 @ 11:35 PM

The UNC Board of Governors gets it right

Amidst all the clamor and outcry over the proposed elimination of three centers from the UNC system by the Board of Governors, one principle stands out. That is, when the faculty and administrators fail to maintain a proper degree of objectivity concerning the system’s academic mission, somebody else must step up to the plate. If not, the system may devolve into a partisan stronghold for a single ideology.