Opinion: Editorials View All »

Jan. 31, 2015 @ 10:42 PM

Best outcome on custodian pay

We wrote approvingly recently about Durham Public Schools standing up for some of its lowest-paid, least appreciative but very important employees.



Opinion: Letters View All »

Jan. 31, 2015 @ 03:59 PM

Letters to the Editor, Feb. 2

  • Follow the rules
  • Traffic calming hopes ‘forlorn’
  • Good news on vaccinations


Columnist: Bob Ashley View All »

Jan. 31, 2015 @ 10:49 PM

Google Fiber, a plus for us, could deepen divide

The news that Google, that juggernaut of the Information Age, is bringing super-high-speed Internet connections to Durham and the rest of the Triangle generated no small amount of excitement last week.



Columnist: Rick Bean View All »

May. 17, 2014 @ 03:21 PM

Learning about passion from a life infused with it

Passion is more than an underrated word. It's an underrated way of life.

Nearly 40 years ago I met a community leader who would have a lasting impact on my life. He didn't know it then and neither did I. His name was Chuck.



Columnist: Chris Fitzsimon View All »

Jan. 17, 2015 @ 08:54 AM

Three leaders, but how many agendas?

One of the most interesting moments of the 2014 legislative session came in front of the Executive Mansion late last June, when Gov.Pat McCrory and House Speaker Thom Tillis appeared together with education advocates at a rally to tout a new teacher pay raise proposal that differed sharply from the plan the Senate was pushing.



Columnist: John Hood View All »

Jan. 31, 2015 @ 10:14 AM

Free speech faces threats

Freedom of speech is one of the core values of a free society. It ought to be appreciated and protected by Americans across the political spectrum. Unfortunately, it is not. And while no party or faction is immune from the temptation to silence messages or messengers they don’t like, most of the threats to free speech today come from the modern Left.



Columnist: DG Martin View All »

Jan. 27, 2015 @ 10:10 PM

An adult learning to read? Like learning new language

One of my favorite annual events in our community is the Writers for Readers Book & Author celebration sponsored by Orange Literacy, the organization that brings the gift of reading ability each year to hundreds of the thousands of people in our community who can’t read.



Columnist: Leonard Pitts View All »

Jan. 30, 2015 @ 01:44 PM

We could have predicted ‘Cake Wars II’

We should have seen this one coming.

This is America, after all, a country having no shortage of people with, apparently, too much time on their hands. So someone should have predicted Cake Wars II.



Columnist: Mike Walden View All »

Jan. 10, 2015 @ 11:20 PM

Building infrastructure – pay me now or pay me later?

My wife recently bought a new car. Well, not exactly “new new,” but “newly used.”  Some experts say this is the best way to purchase vehicles because you get an almost-new car without paying for the excessive depreciation that occurs when a brand-new car is driven off the lot.



Columnist: George Will View All »

Jan. 28, 2015 @ 08:23 PM

Bud Selig's winning legacy

The business of baseball and the nation's business used to be conducted in Washington with similar skill. The Washington Senators were run by Clark Griffith, who said: "Fans like home runs, and we have assembled a pitching staff to please our fans." Today, however, Washington's team is a model of best practices. The government? Less so.



Columnist: Tom Campbell View All »

Jan. 31, 2015 @ 09:53 AM

The realities of ‘serving at the pleasure’

Steve Logan, former East Carolina University head football coach, recently remarked that things don’t usually turn out well for head coaches. The same is often true for anyone who serves “at the pleasure” of someone or some group. UNC President Tom Ross is the latest example.



Columnist: Amy Laura Hall View All »

Jan. 31, 2015 @ 08:40 AM

On girls and books – and knowing body and soul

My daughter declared C. S. Lewis a heretic.  She was about 6, and her father had just read the part in “The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe” where Aslan the lion kills Jadis the witch.  She had a sense that readers are to celebrate Jadis’s death, and she protested. “But she is a child of God!”



Columnist: Rob Schofield View All »

Nov. 29, 2014 @ 07:58 AM

GOP has a golden opportunity during the lame duck session

What will the new political year in Washington bring? According to some analysts, the new GOP congressional majorities tilt more toward “the establishment” and away from the Tea Party wing. According to others, however, the new majorities are the starter’s signal for a full-fledged campaign to “repeal” the Obama presidency and even impeach the President himself.



Opinion: Guest Columnists View All »

Feb. 01, 2015 @ 12:53 PM

First steps key in long journey to eliminate poverty

I would offer the following seven  comments on the Jan. 31  storyby reporter Ray Gronberg in The Herald-Sun headlined, “Coalition lawyer criticizes call for drug crackdown” and statements attributed to Ian Mance, a lawyer for the Southern Coalition for Justice.