Opinion: Editorials View All »

Aug. 20, 2014 @ 05:19 PM

‘Unexplained racial disparity’

City Manager Tom Bonfield’s request that the police department explain why the vast majority of marijuana arrests in this city are of black people suggests two reactions.



Opinion: Letters View All »

Aug. 21, 2014 @ 03:11 PM

Letters to the Editor, August 22

  • VA hospital impressive
  • A war on society
  • Love helps build better world


Columnist: Bob Ashley View All »

Jul. 05, 2014 @ 09:28 AM

Patriotism scarce? No, it abounds in many forms

As the Fourth of July, that most patriotic of American holidays, approached last week, Bill O’Reilly and Charles Krauthammer on Fox News ginned up the specter of a patriotism crisis in the country.



Columnist: Rick Bean View All »

May. 17, 2014 @ 03:21 PM

Learning about passion from a life infused with it

Passion is more than an underrated word. It's an underrated way of life.

Nearly 40 years ago I met a community leader who would have a lasting impact on my life. He didn't know it then and neither did I. His name was Chuck.



Columnist: Chris Fitzsimon View All »

May. 11, 2014 @ 11:01 AM

Takeaways from Tillis’ predictable but unconvincing win

The horse-race watchers in the national media couldn’t be more excited about the results of the North Carolina Republican senate primary Tuesday where state House Speaker Thom Tillis won the nomination by capturing 45 percent of the vote, handily defeating Tea Partier Greg Brannon and Charlotte minister Mark Harris -- both making their first run for public office.



Columnist: John Hood View All »

Aug. 14, 2014 @ 11:12 PM

Pay reform meets student needs

Critics of the Republican-led General Assembly allege that the teacher-pay raise included in this year’s state budget could have been implemented in a much simpler fashion: by giving across-the-board hikes to all rather than giving large raises to early-career teachers and relatively small raises to some experienced ones.



Columnist: DG Martin View All »

Aug. 21, 2014 @ 12:19 PM

Local poet to join Literary Hall of Fame

Too many poets write their careful, perceptive, sensitive and wise words to be shared with only a few trusted friends.



Columnist: Leonard Pitts View All »

Aug. 18, 2014 @ 11:48 AM

Ferguson police arrest reporters for reporting

Looks like police in Ferguson, Missouri, took it upon themselves to suspend the First Amendment Wednesday night.



Columnist: Mike Walden View All »

Aug. 10, 2014 @ 08:51 AM

Is inflation ready to take a leap?

Two key concerns in our economy are unemployment and inflation. We want both to be low. When unemployment is low, more people have jobs and earn income. When inflation is low, the dollars we earn don’t lose purchasing power as fast. That is, our dollars buy more with low inflation than with high inflation.



Columnist: George Will View All »

Aug. 20, 2014 @ 11:11 PM

Fed up with cupcake cops

In physics, a unified field theory is an attempt to explain with a single hypothesis the behavior of several fields. Its political corollary is the Cupcake Postulate, which explains everything, from Missouri to Iraq, concerning Americans' comprehensive withdrawal of confidence from government at all levels and all areas of activity.



Columnist: Tom Campbell View All »

Jul. 20, 2014 @ 12:51 AM

Dog tired these days and barking

They call this time of year the “dog days” of summer, long days filled with heat and humidity. When our legislature is still in session lawmakers get dog-tired, resulting in a lot of barking due to short tempers.



Columnist: Amy Laura Hall View All »

Aug. 02, 2014 @ 12:04 PM

The union label and working with dignity

When I was a child, a catchy advertisement aired between reruns of “Scooby Doo” and “Josie and the Pussy Cats.”  It went like this:  “Look for the union label/When you are buying a coat, dress, or blouse/Remember somewhere our union's sewing/Our wages going to feed the kids and run the house!”  The one that aired in Texas was introduced by an avuncular, southern man wearing a bolo tie.



Columnist: Rob Schofield View All »

Jul. 20, 2014 @ 11:33 AM

The war on the poor becomes a war on the middle class

There are a lot of competitors when it comes to listing and ranking the most hard-hearted and destructive acts of the last couple of General Assemblies and the first year and a half of the Pat McCrory administration. 



Opinion: Guest Columnists View All »

Aug. 18, 2014 @ 12:32 PM

You know this, but are you doing it?

An old story is told of a monk named Birdsnest who sits high atop a tree and dispenses wisdom to the curious below.