Opinion: Editorials View All »

Apr. 19, 2015 @ 08:06 AM

A day for the environment

The website earthday.org recalls the atmosphere in the United States in the spring of 
1970 – “the height of hippie and flower-child culture,” a time when the war in Vietnam 
and civil rights made “protest the order of the day.”


Opinion: Letters View All »

Apr. 19, 2015 @ 03:33 PM

Letters to the Editor, April 20

  • You’ve got mail
  • Can Iran trust us?
  • Live up to state motto


Columnist: Bob Ashley View All »

Apr. 19, 2015 @ 08:17 AM

Celebrating a “dawn of peace” that sadly really wasn’t

Ten days ago, the nation celebrated the 150th anniversary  of Confederate Gen. Robert E.
Lee’s surrender to Union Gen. Ulysses S. Grant at Appomattox Courthouse in Virginia.
Grant declared “the war is over” and ever since that surrender has been seen as the
welcome conclusion to a civil war that tore about the nation less than a century after its
founding.



Columnist: Rick Bean View All »

May. 17, 2014 @ 03:21 PM

Learning about passion from a life infused with it

Passion is more than an underrated word. It's an underrated way of life.

Nearly 40 years ago I met a community leader who would have a lasting impact on my life. He didn't know it then and neither did I. His name was Chuck.



Columnist: Chris Fitzsimon View All »

Apr. 09, 2015 @ 11:18 AM

Thousands of seniors anxiously await lawmakers’ budget decisions

When state lawmakers return next week from their unusual spring break, debate over the budget will take center stage as the House puts together its spending plan for the next two years.



Columnist: John Hood View All »

Apr. 18, 2015 @ 12:12 PM

Freedom is a weighty issue

Have you been eating right? Getting enough exercise? How far away are you from your ideal weight?



Columnist: DG Martin View All »

Apr. 17, 2015 @ 06:48 AM

William Powell, dean of North Carolina history

When UNC-Chapel Hill Professor Emeritus William Powell died last week at the age of 95, North Carolina lost its dean of history. With constant help and support from his wife Virginia, he authored countless books and articles, including the preeminent history of our state, “North Carolina Through Four Centuries,” all 670 pages of it. Even though it is now 25 years since its publication, it is still the best.



Columnist: Leonard Pitts View All »

Apr. 17, 2015 @ 02:33 PM

'The Government,’ let us remember, is us

On Sunday, it will be 20 years since the morning a bomb destroyed the Alfred P. Murrah Federal Building in Oklahoma City and took 168 human lives. Nineteen of those lives belonged to children.



Columnist: Mike Walden View All »

Jan. 10, 2015 @ 11:20 PM

Building infrastructure – pay me now or pay me later?

My wife recently bought a new car. Well, not exactly “new new,” but “newly used.”  Some experts say this is the best way to purchase vehicles because you get an almost-new car without paying for the excessive depreciation that occurs when a brand-new car is driven off the lot.



Columnist: George Will View All »

Apr. 19, 2015 @ 03:56 PM

Don't seize the raisins

In oral arguments Wednesday, the Supreme Court will hear the government defend its kleptocratic behavior while administering an indefensible law. The Agricultural Marketing Agreement Act of 1937 is among the measures by which New Dealers tried and failed to regulate and mandate America back to prosperity. Seventy-eight years later, it is the government's reason for stealing Marvin and Laura Horne's raisins.



Columnist: Tom Campbell View All »

Apr. 11, 2015 @ 12:15 PM

A dramatic and effective civics lesson

We got a refresher lesson in civics recently, one we hope will stick in our memories for many years. North Carolina, following the example of other states, was set to pass a law in the name of religious freedom, but civic groups and corporate America found it distasteful and discriminatory and raised their voices in strong protest. Elected officials got the message and are backing down.



Columnist: Amy Laura Hall View All »

Apr. 04, 2015 @ 09:19 PM

Providing our daily bread, for real bodies

Workers across North Carolina are organizing for a large event “for 15” on April 15 The gathering will include women who deliver mail, teenage boys who grill hamburgers, young women who grade papers and men who change Depends undergarments.  What do we have in common?  We work caring for people’s bodies, souls and minds, and we take our jobs seriously.  We take our jobs so seriously that we expect to be treated with dignity at work.  We expect to be treated as people, not as tools, because our work demands that we daily treat other human beings with patience



Columnist: Rob Schofield View All »

Nov. 29, 2014 @ 07:58 AM

GOP has a golden opportunity during the lame duck session

What will the new political year in Washington bring? According to some analysts, the new GOP congressional majorities tilt more toward “the establishment” and away from the Tea Party wing. According to others, however, the new majorities are the starter’s signal for a full-fledged campaign to “repeal” the Obama presidency and even impeach the President himself.



Opinion: Guest Columnists View All »

Apr. 18, 2015 @ 12:04 PM

Schools, community partners keep students reading

Summertime can be filled with days at the pool or beach, trips to see family and friends and spending time outside. But for too many students, summer also means taking a break from reading. As a result of this lack of reading practice, students lose the literacy skills they worked so hard to build during the previous school year.