Opinion: Editorials View All »

Nov. 24, 2014 @ 02:20 PM

The other Bull City brew

Durham has become known for its small beer breweries that make use of local and seasonal ingredients. In 2014, Durham also has been placed on the map for that other brew so important to the proper maintenance of daily life and sanity – coffee.



Opinion: Letters View All »

Nov. 24, 2014 @ 12:17 PM

Letters to the Editor, November 25

Remember the ’43 Hornets

 

At the most recent meeting of the Durham City Council, Mayor Bill Bell proclaimed that today will be designated as an official day for citizens to honor the 1943 Hillside Hornets Football Team.



Columnist: Bob Ashley View All »

Jul. 05, 2014 @ 09:28 AM

Patriotism scarce? No, it abounds in many forms

As the Fourth of July, that most patriotic of American holidays, approached last week, Bill O’Reilly and Charles Krauthammer on Fox News ginned up the specter of a patriotism crisis in the country.



Columnist: Rick Bean View All »

May. 17, 2014 @ 03:21 PM

Learning about passion from a life infused with it

Passion is more than an underrated word. It's an underrated way of life.

Nearly 40 years ago I met a community leader who would have a lasting impact on my life. He didn't know it then and neither did I. His name was Chuck.



Columnist: Chris Fitzsimon View All »

May. 11, 2014 @ 11:01 AM

Takeaways from Tillis’ predictable but unconvincing win

The horse-race watchers in the national media couldn’t be more excited about the results of the North Carolina Republican senate primary Tuesday where state House Speaker Thom Tillis won the nomination by capturing 45 percent of the vote, handily defeating Tea Partier Greg Brannon and Charlotte minister Mark Harris -- both making their first run for public office.



Columnist: John Hood View All »

Nov. 20, 2014 @ 10:16 AM

States should think long-term on spending, taxes

RALEIGH — Although I support the tax cuts and other fiscal policies adopted by the North Carolina General Assembly and Gov. Pat McCrory over the past two years, I have repeatedly urged policymakers and commentators alike to avoid making grandiose claims about those policies’ immediate effects on North Carolina’s economy.



Columnist: DG Martin View All »

Nov. 22, 2014 @ 01:10 PM

Lots of books, every year

1,000.

That’s the answer to this question: How many North Carolina related books are published each year.



Columnist: Leonard Pitts View All »

Nov. 24, 2014 @ 11:33 AM

Bill Cosby, serial rapist? That's a lot to forgive

Wow. Just ... wow.

So what's next?



Columnist: Mike Walden View All »

Aug. 10, 2014 @ 08:51 AM

Is inflation ready to take a leap?

Two key concerns in our economy are unemployment and inflation. We want both to be low. When unemployment is low, more people have jobs and earn income. When inflation is low, the dollars we earn don’t lose purchasing power as fast. That is, our dollars buy more with low inflation than with high inflation.



Columnist: George Will View All »

Nov. 23, 2014 @ 06:55 PM

Recalling Rockefeller, a politician pertinent today

Seen through the prism of subsequent national experience, Nelson Rockefeller resembles a swollen post-war automobile -- a land yacht with tail fins, a period piece, bemusing and embarrassing. He remains, however, instructive.



Columnist: Tom Campbell View All »

Sep. 20, 2014 @ 09:51 AM

The mentally ill are better off in jail

If anyone you love is mentally ill, God help you, because the odds of getting adequate help elsewhere are about as good as winning the lottery. I speak from experience. My brother is bi-polar.



Columnist: Amy Laura Hall View All »

Nov. 01, 2014 @ 09:20 AM

Laugh at the devil

I’ve learned how to “tweet.”  This involves putting words together to share, using 140 characters.  One of my most “retweeted” “tweets” on the Internet came out after a tragedy had everyone in panic mode.  These were the words:  “The world is transfixed by fear.  Perfect love whispers in fear’s ear to turn his head toward hope.” 



Columnist: Rob Schofield View All »

Nov. 15, 2014 @ 07:44 AM

Proposing an agenda for our state’s new leaders

It’s one of the great conundrums of modern society: All around us, images of wealth, comfort, individual freedom and swiftly advancing technology tell a story of promise and progress. For millions and millions of people, life really is safer, freer, healthier and wealthier than ever before. And yet, as nearly all of us can sense, something is clearly amiss in this picture.



Opinion: Guest Columnists View All »

Aug. 22, 2014 @ 08:46 AM

Rising STARS

Stacy Parker-Fisher of the Oak Foundation in Chapel Hill says it all started with this premise, “What if you took a public university system and you made it welcoming for students with learning differences?”