Opinion: Editorials View All »

Jan. 26, 2015 @ 05:20 PM

An important conversation

Durham County Commissioners’ Chairman Michael Page has taken to heart a presidential challenge to address youth whose socioeconomic situation and disaffectedness from society put them at risk.



Opinion: Letters View All »

Jan. 26, 2015 @ 12:49 PM

Letters to the Editor, Jan. 27

  • Two magnificent representatives
  • Little done to prevent injustice


Columnist: Bob Ashley View All »

Jan. 10, 2015 @ 10:47 PM

Reflecting on changing area paper has called home

I’ve noted before that The Herald-Sun is about to hang its shingle in new quarters this month. As I write this mid-week, we’re on the very cusp of that move. When you read this, if all has gone well, we’ll be in our new digs – although it may be another day or so.



Columnist: Rick Bean View All »

May. 17, 2014 @ 03:21 PM

Learning about passion from a life infused with it

Passion is more than an underrated word. It's an underrated way of life.

Nearly 40 years ago I met a community leader who would have a lasting impact on my life. He didn't know it then and neither did I. His name was Chuck.



Columnist: Chris Fitzsimon View All »

Jan. 17, 2015 @ 08:54 AM

Three leaders, but how many agendas?

One of the most interesting moments of the 2014 legislative session came in front of the Executive Mansion late last June, when Gov.Pat McCrory and House Speaker Thom Tillis appeared together with education advocates at a rally to tout a new teacher pay raise proposal that differed sharply from the plan the Senate was pushing.



Columnist: John Hood View All »

Jan. 17, 2015 @ 10:36 AM

UNC-Chapel Hill policy draws lawsuit

Another wave of bad publicity and legal questions isn’t what the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill needs. But that’s exactly what the school is getting, thanks to its longstanding and troubling use of race as a major factor in admissions.



Columnist: DG Martin View All »

Jan. 24, 2015 @ 06:44 PM

D.G. Martin: Milton Julian’s surprising connections

When Milton Julian died the other day at 96 years, we lost another precious personal connection to the village of Chapel Hill as it was in the post-World War II era.



Columnist: Leonard Pitts View All »

Jan. 26, 2015 @ 01:01 PM

Why serious people discount Fox News

Tucker Carlson said on Fox that more children die of bathtub drownings than of accidental shootings. They don't.



Columnist: Mike Walden View All »

Jan. 10, 2015 @ 11:20 PM

Building infrastructure – pay me now or pay me later?

My wife recently bought a new car. Well, not exactly “new new,” but “newly used.”  Some experts say this is the best way to purchase vehicles because you get an almost-new car without paying for the excessive depreciation that occurs when a brand-new car is driven off the lot.



Columnist: George Will View All »

Jan. 21, 2015 @ 08:17 PM

George Will: The mushrooming welfare state

America’s national character will have to be changed if progressives are going to implement their agenda. So, changing social norms is the progressive agenda. To understand how far this has advanced, and how difficult it will be to reverse the inculcation of dependency, consider the data Nicholas Eberstadt deploys in National Affairs quarterly:



Columnist: Tom Campbell View All »

Jan. 01, 2015 @ 05:53 PM

15 Tar Heels to watch in the year ahead

No matter how good the crystal ball, it is impossible to predict what will happen in 2015. Perhaps it will be easier to identify the people likely to either make or respond to North Carolina news events.



Columnist: Amy Laura Hall View All »

Jan. 05, 2015 @ 07:44 AM

Reflecting on the 11th day of Christmas

I have written posts for The Herald-Sun against surveillance cameras, online classes, virtual sex and preaching by remote.   Putting cameras on police helmets is also a bad idea.  Durham should not be a city of alienated strangers. There are many arguments against turning people into automated enforcers of order.  This is a Christian one.



Columnist: Rob Schofield View All »

Nov. 29, 2014 @ 07:58 AM

GOP has a golden opportunity during the lame duck session

What will the new political year in Washington bring? According to some analysts, the new GOP congressional majorities tilt more toward “the establishment” and away from the Tea Party wing. According to others, however, the new majorities are the starter’s signal for a full-fledged campaign to “repeal” the Obama presidency and even impeach the President himself.



Opinion: Guest Columnists View All »

Jan. 24, 2015 @ 11:53 AM

Closing achievement gap requires collaboration

Wes Moore is a best-selling author, Rhodes Scholar, White House Fellow, decorated Army veteran, host of “Beyond Belief” on the Oprah Winfrey Network and social entrepreneur. Moore is committed to helping the parents, teachers, mentors and advocates who serve our nation’s youth, and he believes deeply that the solution lies in “interconnectedness.”