Opinion: Editorials View All »

Nov. 28, 2014 @ 03:35 PM

Upfitting Wallace Wade

Coaches talk about “rebuilding years,” of arduously reshaping a program whose ticks in the win column have been disappointing.

Duke University’s football program has beyond doubt been in that process for the past several years – and with resounding success.  Two recent weeks of setbacks notwithstanding, Duke football under Coach David Cutcliffe plays at a different level, with a different aura within the region and across the nation than in those painful 0-for-the-season years not so long ago.



Opinion: Letters View All »

Nov. 28, 2014 @ 10:57 AM

Letters to the Editor, Nov. 29

  • The reality of ice
  • Another side of the story
  • Abraham Lincoln, Jonathan Gruber and Doris Burke


Columnist: Bob Ashley View All »

Jul. 05, 2014 @ 09:28 AM

Patriotism scarce? No, it abounds in many forms

As the Fourth of July, that most patriotic of American holidays, approached last week, Bill O’Reilly and Charles Krauthammer on Fox News ginned up the specter of a patriotism crisis in the country.



Columnist: Rick Bean View All »

May. 17, 2014 @ 03:21 PM

Learning about passion from a life infused with it

Passion is more than an underrated word. It's an underrated way of life.

Nearly 40 years ago I met a community leader who would have a lasting impact on my life. He didn't know it then and neither did I. His name was Chuck.



Columnist: Chris Fitzsimon View All »

May. 11, 2014 @ 11:01 AM

Takeaways from Tillis’ predictable but unconvincing win

The horse-race watchers in the national media couldn’t be more excited about the results of the North Carolina Republican senate primary Tuesday where state House Speaker Thom Tillis won the nomination by capturing 45 percent of the vote, handily defeating Tea Partier Greg Brannon and Charlotte minister Mark Harris -- both making their first run for public office.



Columnist: John Hood View All »

Nov. 20, 2014 @ 10:16 AM

States should think long-term on spending, taxes

RALEIGH — Although I support the tax cuts and other fiscal policies adopted by the North Carolina General Assembly and Gov. Pat McCrory over the past two years, I have repeatedly urged policymakers and commentators alike to avoid making grandiose claims about those policies’ immediate effects on North Carolina’s economy.



Columnist: DG Martin View All »

Nov. 26, 2014 @ 08:32 AM

Lefty and Roy -- and their critics

While Martin Harmon was in North Carolina last week to promote his new book, “Charles ‘Lefty’ Driesell: A Basketball Legend,” he dropped a signed copy by UNC basketball coach Roy Williams’s office.



Columnist: Leonard Pitts View All »

Nov. 28, 2014 @ 12:19 PM

Blacks and whites need to wake up to racial injustice

In September, I received an email that should have left me feeling vindicated.

It was in response to the nonfatal shooting of Levar Jones, an unarmed African-American man, by Sean Groubert, a white South Carolina state trooper. Groubert would later claim he shot Jones because Jones came at him in a menacing way. But this lie was unmasked by Groubert's own dashcam video, which shows Jones complying with the trooper's orders until Groubert inexplicably panics and starts shooting.



Columnist: Mike Walden View All »

Aug. 10, 2014 @ 08:51 AM

Is inflation ready to take a leap?

Two key concerns in our economy are unemployment and inflation. We want both to be low. When unemployment is low, more people have jobs and earn income. When inflation is low, the dollars we earn don’t lose purchasing power as fast. That is, our dollars buy more with low inflation than with high inflation.



Columnist: George Will View All »

Nov. 27, 2014 @ 10:31 AM

Thanks, or something

Before the tryptophan in the turkey induces somnolence, give thanks for living in such an entertaining country. 



Columnist: Tom Campbell View All »

Sep. 20, 2014 @ 09:51 AM

The mentally ill are better off in jail

If anyone you love is mentally ill, God help you, because the odds of getting adequate help elsewhere are about as good as winning the lottery. I speak from experience. My brother is bi-polar.



Columnist: Amy Laura Hall View All »

Nov. 01, 2014 @ 09:20 AM

Laugh at the devil

I’ve learned how to “tweet.”  This involves putting words together to share, using 140 characters.  One of my most “retweeted” “tweets” on the Internet came out after a tragedy had everyone in panic mode.  These were the words:  “The world is transfixed by fear.  Perfect love whispers in fear’s ear to turn his head toward hope.” 



Columnist: Rob Schofield View All »

Nov. 15, 2014 @ 07:44 AM

Proposing an agenda for our state’s new leaders

It’s one of the great conundrums of modern society: All around us, images of wealth, comfort, individual freedom and swiftly advancing technology tell a story of promise and progress. For millions and millions of people, life really is safer, freer, healthier and wealthier than ever before. And yet, as nearly all of us can sense, something is clearly amiss in this picture.



Opinion: Guest Columnists View All »

Aug. 22, 2014 @ 08:46 AM

Rising STARS

Stacy Parker-Fisher of the Oak Foundation in Chapel Hill says it all started with this premise, “What if you took a public university system and you made it welcoming for students with learning differences?”