Opinion: Editorials View All »

Apr. 22, 2014 @ 05:20 PM

Success’s challenges

Two decades ago the new Durham Bulls Athletic Park signaled, if not necessarily the end of downtown’s long decline, at least the beginning of the end.

A decade ago, as businesses moved into the American Tobacco complex, one of the most extensive historic preservation projects in the state, the decline’s end was pretty clearly behind us and significant rebirth had begun.



Opinion: Letters View All »

Apr. 20, 2014 @ 02:27 PM

Letters to the Editor, April 21

The Herald­-Sun has done well to bring to light the lack of a run-off in the upcoming Durham School Board race.  This procedural change from previous elections could allow a candidate in a four-way race to obtain a seat with just 25 percent plus one of the votes cast.



Columnist: Bob Ashley View All »

Apr. 19, 2014 @ 05:56 PM

A better world for movement Steinem, others led

At 80, Gloria Steinem is still a powerful voice for equal rights and opportunities for women, causes for which she has championed since being one of the founders of the feminism movement in the 1960s.



Columnist: Rick Bean View All »

Aug. 24, 2013 @ 10:44 PM

Education’s a priority? Numbers suggest otherwise

Sometimes it’s laughable when a politician talks one thing and then does the  opposite. We see it all the time, yet we seem never to stop being surprised.



Columnist: Tina Dupuy View All »

Sep. 29, 2013 @ 01:11 PM

Journalism should be a viable career for all backgrounds

I am a nationally syndicated op-ed columnist. My column runs, I'm told, in nearly 90 newspapers each week and it just turned two years old. You might assume this means I went to journalism school, started at a paper and worked my way up. You might assume I'm a product of a Washington Think Tank. You might also assume I'm part of the media elite.

You would be wrong on all counts.



Columnist: Chris Fitzsimon View All »

Mar. 15, 2014 @ 04:54 PM

Burr’s shameful stonewalling on court seat

There has never been an African-American judge on the United States District Court for the Eastern District of North Carolina and for some reason Senator Richard Burr seems intent on keeping it that way.



Columnist: John Hood View All »

Apr. 19, 2014 @ 12:08 AM

Choice program deserves defense

Liberal activists may fume, and left-wing editorialists may grind their teeth, but legislative leaders are going to defend their 2013 opportunity scholarship bill against lawsuits by the teacher union and other special interests.



Columnist: Charles Krauthammer View All »

Oct. 20, 2013 @ 12:07 PM

Redskins, reason and evolving words

In the matter of the (Washington) Redskins.

I don't like being lectured by sportscasters about ethnic sensitivity. Or advised by the president of the United States about changing team names. Or blackmailed by tribal leaders playing the race card.



Columnist: DG Martin View All »

Apr. 22, 2014 @ 08:05 AM

North Carolina is ‘Variety Literatureland’

“Variety Vacationland.” Do you remember that slogan from our state’s past?

I suggest a new one: “Variety Literatureland.”



Columnist: Dana Milbank View All »

Nov. 01, 2013 @ 12:08 PM

A human face for drone victims

From Washington, the drone-warfare program looks almost aseptic: Remote-controlled aircraft fire with precision on targets half a world away.

But on Tuesday, this anonymous form of warfare assumed a name and a face: that of 9-year-old Nibila ur Rehman, who, along with her father and older brother, came all the way from Pakistan's tribal region to talk about the drone strike that killed her grandmother a year ago.



Columnist: Kathleen Parker View All »

Nov. 03, 2013 @ 01:37 PM

Advice columnist to GOP

Ms. Know-It-All, the anonymous political advice columnist whose identity remains a popular Georgetown cocktail party guessing game, is also known to live up to her title now and then. Herewith a correspondence worth sharing.



Columnist: Leonard Pitts View All »

Apr. 21, 2014 @ 10:14 AM

Race and Obama news coverage

I have a question for George Will.

If he can't answer it, maybe Brit Hume can. Both men were recently part of a panel on "Fox News Sunday" to which moderator Chris Wallace posed this question: Has race played a role in the often-harsh treatment of President Obama and Attorney General Eric Holder?



Columnist: Michael Reagan View All »

May. 24, 2013 @ 01:50 PM

Reagan: Weather beyond Washington’s power to control

Yesterday I read an interesting article in Newsweek about the connection between tornadoes and climate change.

Newsweek's story explained how top climate scientists were concerned about several ominous and fundamental changes occurring in Earth's weather patterns.



Columnist: Eugene Robinson View All »

Oct. 29, 2013 @ 11:20 AM

The out-of-control NSA

Let's get this straight: The National Security Agency snooped on the cellphone conversations of German Chancellor Angela Merkel? Perhaps for as long as a decade? And President Obama didn't know a thing about it?



Columnist: Mike Walden View All »

Apr. 12, 2014 @ 11:12 AM

More sunny or cloudy days ahead for the economy?

Economists love numbers -- some might call it an occupational hazard. Numbers are our window into the workings of the economy. Without numbers, we’d have a difficult time understanding how the economy is changing, both in positive and negative ways.



Columnist: George Will View All »

Apr. 19, 2014 @ 08:53 PM

Regulatory overkill against political speech

Occasionally, the Supreme Court considers questions that are answered merely by asking them. On Tuesday, the court will hear arguments about this: Should a government agency, whose members are chosen by elected officials, be empowered to fine or imprison any candidate or other participant in the political process who during a campaign makes what the agency considers "false statements" about a member of the political class or a ballot initiative?



Opinion: Guest Columnists View All »

Apr. 22, 2014 @ 02:22 PM

Read this now. Or save it for later.

This piece should have run last week.

But putting it off seemed easier.

Such rationalization for procrastination may sound lame, but ask the scientists: It's in our DNA.