Entertainment

‘Monk @ 100” to highlight Duke Performances season

Bill Frisell will perform Oct. 17 during Duke Performances 'Monk @ 100," a tribute to Thelonious Monk.
Bill Frisell will perform Oct. 17 during Duke Performances 'Monk @ 100," a tribute to Thelonious Monk. Submitted

“Monk @ 100: A Century of Genius,” a series of concerts celebrating the centennial of North Carolina native and musician Thelonious Monk, will be one of the highlights of the 2017-2018 season of Duke Performances.

“Monk @ 100” is a 10-day celebration of Monk’s music and influences. Monk was born in Rocky Mount, but his family moved to New York, where he became one of the composers in the new style of jazz that was emerging after World War II. Monk’s compositions are performed and arranged by countless artists. His compositions include “’Round Midnight,” “Misterioso,” “Think of One,” “Blue Monk” and many more.

Artists who will perform at this Monk tribute will be the JD Allen Trio with guests Bill Frisell, Dave Douglas, and Geri Allen. Other artists include Tyshawn Sorey and Jason Moran, Chris Pattishall, Frank Kimbrough, Jeb Patton, Ethan Iverson and Orrin Evans, Ben Wendel and Gerald Clayton.

Duke Performances also will premiere “New Work for Goldberg Variations,” a collaboration between Pam Tanowitz Dance and pianist Simone Dinnerstein. The piece premieres following a weeklong production residency at Duke, and features pianist Dinnerstein at center stage, with the ensemble of seven dancers performing around the piano as Dinnerstein plays.

“Black Atlantic,” a six-day festival of the music of Africa and the African Diaspora, will come to the series in March 2018. Artists performing during this festival will include Joan Soriano, the self-styled “Duke of Bachata,” Haitian musician Emeline Michel, Betsayda Machado and her backing band La Parranda El Clavo, Trio da Kali and other artists.

Ticket packages go on sale Tuesday, June 20. Single tickets go on sale Tuesday, July 11. Tickets may be ordered online at dukeperformances.org or at 919-684-4444.

Here is the full season schedule, with venues. For full information, visit dukeperformances.org.

▪  The Lost Bayou Ramblers with Shamu Garcon, Thursday, Sept. 7, The Pinhook

▪  “Beasts of the Southern Wild with Wordless Music,” The North Carolina Symphony and The Lost Bayou Ramblers, Friday, Sept. 24 and Saturday, Sept. 9, Reynolds Industries Theater.

▪  Ciompi Quartet Concert No. 1, Saturday, Sept. 23, Baldwin Auditorium

▪  Vicente Amigo, Sunday, Sept. 24, Page Auditorium

▪  American Brass Quintet, Saturday, Sept. 30, Baldwin Auditorium

▪  The Civilians + Ethan Lipton School Project, Wednesday, Oct. 4, Motorco Music Hall

▪  “New Work for Goldberg Variations,” Pam Tanowitz Dance and Simone Dinnerstein, Friday, Oct. 6 and Saturday, Oct. 7, Reynolds Industries Theater

▪  Bill Callahan with Nathan Bowles and Jake Xerxes Fussell, Saturday, Oct. 14, Baldwin Auditorium

▪  “MONK@100”: JD Allen Trio with Bill Frisell, Tuesday, Oct. 17, Durham Fruit & Produce, 305 S. Dillard St.

“MONK@100”: JD Allen Trio and Dave Douglas, Wednesday, Oct. 18, Durham Fruit & Produce

“MONK@100”: JD Allen Trio and Geri Allen, Thursday, Oct. 19, Durham Fruit & Produce

“MONK@100”: Tyshawn Sorey and Jason Moran, Friday, Oct. 20, Durham Fruit & Produce

“MONK@100”: Monk songbook with Chris Pattishall, Frank Kimbrough, Jeb Patton, Ethan Iverson and Orrin Evans, Saturday, Oct. 21 and Sunday, Oct. 22, Durham Fruit & Produce

“MONK@100”: Ben Wendel and Gerald Clayton, Saturday, Oct. 21, Durham Fruit & Produce

“MONK@100”: The Como Mamas, Sunday, Oct. 22, Durham Fruit & Produce

“MONK@100”: Ethan Iverson Trio and Melissa Aldana, Monday, Oct. 23, Durham Fruit & Produce

“MONK@100”: Ethan Iverson Trio and Chris Potter and Houston Person, Tuesday, Oct. 24, Durham Fruit & Produce

“MONK@100”: Ethan Iverson Trio and Joshua Redman, Wednesday, Oct. 25, Durham Fruit & Produce

“MONK@100”: Ethan Iverson Trio and Ravi Coltrane, Thursday, Oct. 26, Durham Fruit & Produce

▪  Quatour Mosaiques, Saturday, Oct. 21, Baldwin Auditorium

▪  Pharoahe Monche and Pitchblak Brass, Thursday, Nov. 2, Reynolds Industries Theater

▪  Yasmin Levy, Thursday, Nov. 9, Reynolds Industries Theater

▪  Modigliani Quartet, Saturday, Nov. 11, Baldwin Auditorium

▪  John McLaughlin and Jimmy Herring, “The Meeting of the Spirits,” Sunday, Nov. 12, Durham Performing Arts Center

▪  St. Thomas Choir of Leipzig, Tuesday, Nov. 14, Duke Chapel

▪  Benjamin Grosvenor, Friday, Nov. 17, Baldwin Auditorium

▪  “A Far Cry” with Luciana Souza, Saturday, Nov. 18, Baldwin Auditorium

▪  Joe Henry Residency: “On Influences,” Thursday, Nov. 30, Nasher Museum Auditorium

Joe Henry Residency: “On Songwriting and Recording,” Friday, Dec. 1, Sound Pure Studios

Joe Henry Residency: “Thrum,” Saturday, Dec. 2, Baldwin Auditorium

▪  Jack Quartet, Thursday, Dec. 7, Baldwin Auditorium

▪  Stephen Hough, Friday, Dec. 8, Baldwin Auditorium

▪  Escher Quartet featuring Jason Vieaux, Saturday, Dec. 9, Baldwin Auditorium

▪  Jeremy Denk and Stefan Jackiw, Friday, Jan. 19, Baldwin Auditorium

▪  Brian Blade Fellowship, Saturday, Jan. 20, Baldwin Auditorium

▪  Don DeLillo’s “The Body Artist” adapted by Jody McAuliffe, Thursday, Jan. 25, Friday, Jan. 26 and Saturday, Jan. 27, Reynolds Industries Theater

▪  “Take Me to the River: Memphis Soul and R&B Revue,” with William Bell, Bobby Rush and Don Bryant, Thursday, Jan. 25, Carolina Theatre of Durham

▪  The King’s Singers, Friday, Jan. 26, Baldwin Auditorium

▪  Anthony Hamilton and Alisdair MacIndoe, Thursday, Feb. 1, Friday, Feb. 2 and Saturday, Feb. 3, von der Heyden Studio Theater, Rubenstein Arts Center

▪  Murs and 9th Wonder, Thursday, Feb. 8, Motorco Music Hall

▪  Jennifer Koh, new works for solo violin, Saturday, Feb. 10 and Sunday, Feb. 11, von der Heyden Studio Theater, Rubenstein Arts Center

▪  Smetana Trio, Saturday, Feb. 17, Baldwin Auditorium

▪  “Hamlet” and “Saint Joan,” directed by Eric Tucker. “Hamlet” by William Shakespeare, Thursday, Feb. 22, Saturday, Feb. 24 and Sunday, Feb. 25, von der Heyden Studio Theater, Rubenstein Arts Center

“Saint Joan,” by George Bernard Shaw, Friday, Feb. 23, Saturday, Feb. 24, von der Heyden Studio Theater, Rubenstein Arts Center

▪  Shai Wosner, Saturday, Feb. 24 and Sunday, Feb. 25, Nelson Music Room

▪  Alsharah and The Nubatones, Thursday, March 1, Motorco Music Hall

▪  Gregory Porter, Sunday, March 4, Carolina Theatre

▪  World Premiere: “The_Oper&” by John Supko and Bill Seaman, directed by Jim Findlay, performed by the Lorelei Ensemble, Thursday, March 8, Friday, March 9 and Saturday, March 10, von der Heyden Studio Theater, Rubenstein Arts Center

▪  Dance Heginbotham and Maira Kalam, Friday, March 23 and Saturday, March 24, Reynolds Industries Theater

▪  Jerusalem Quartet, Saturday, March 24, Baldwin Auditorium

▪  “Black Atlantic”: Joan Soriano, Dominican Republic, Monday, March 26, Motorco Music Hall

“Black Atlantic”: Emeline Michel, Haiti, Tuesday, March 27, Motorco Music Hall

“Black Atlantic”: Betsayda Machado y La Parranda El Clavo, Venezuela, Wednesday, March 28, Motorco Music Hall

“Black Atlantic”: Trio Da Kali, Mali, Thursday, March 29, Motorco Music Hall

“Black Atlantic”: Aurelio, Garifuna, Honduras, Friday, March 30, Motorco Music Hall

“Black Atlantic”: Diego el Cigala, Spain and Dominican Republic, Saturday, March 31, Carolina Theatre

▪  Rafal Blechacz, Friday, April 6, Baldwin Auditorium

▪  Maria Schneider Orchestra, Saturday, April 7, Baldwin Auditorium

▪  The Tallis Scholars present a commemoration of the outbreak of World War I, Wednesday, April 11, Duke Chapel

▪  Quatuor Danel, Saturday, April 14, Baldwin Auditorium

▪  Toumani and Sidiki Diabate, Monday, April 16, Baldwin Auditorium

▪  Jack Quartet, Thursday, April 26, von der Heyden Studio Theater, Rubenstein Arts Center

▪  Ciompi Quartet No. 2, Saturday, April 28, Baldwin Auditorium

▪  Jordi Savall and Hesperion XXI with Carlos Nunez, Sunday, April 29, Baldwin Auditorium

▪  Paul Lewis, Friday, May 4, Baldwin Auditorium

▪  Emerson String Quartet, Saturday, May 5, Baldwin Auditorium

Cliff Bellamy: 919-419-6744, @CliffBellamy1

  Comments