Webb's Hicks, Person's Outlaw highlight 2013 AP all-state team

Apr. 03, 2013 @ 04:18 PM

Oxford Webb’s Isaiah Hicks and Roxboro Person’s Tyrone Outlaw Jr. highlight the 2012-13 Associated Press all-state high school boys’ basketball team.

Charlotte Providence Day’s Jatarie White, a favorite for all-state player of the year, highlights the girls’ team.

Hicks, a North Carolina signee, was a unanimous pick on all 22 ballots from sports writers across the state to lead the 12-player boys’ team in results released Wednesday.

White, considered one of the nation’s top juniors, earned 20 votes to lead the 12-player girls’ squad.

Hicks, a 6-foot-9 senior, averaged 24 points, 15 rebounds and eight blocked shots per game to help Webb win the Class 3-A championship and make the AP all-state team for the second straight year. He, too, is considered the favorite for player of the year.

In the 3-A final, Hicks had 34 points, a finals-record 30 rebounds and seven blocked shots in the overtime win.

The McDonald’s All-American is a five-star prospect and the No. 20 recruit nationally, according to Scout.com.

Outlaw, the PAC-6 4-A player or co-player of the year for the second straight season, averaged 24 points, 12 rebounds and 4.5 assists as a senior. The 6-6 wing star has signed to play at UNC Greensboro and was named to the AP all-state team for the second straight season.

White, a 6-3 junior, averaged about 19 points and 10 rebounds to lead Providence Day to a fourth straight 3-A independent-schools championship. White is ranked as the No. 12 recruit in her class by ESPN.

Hicks and White were the Gatorade players of the year for North Carolina.

There were nine returnees to the AP all-state teams, led by three-time selections Kennedy Meeks of West Charlotte — also a UNC signee and McDonald’s All-American — on the boys’ side and Jamie Cherry of West Craven on the girls’ team.

West Craven senior forward Josh Cuthbertson made the AP boys’ team for the second straight year.

Rounding out the boys’ team are: Waxhaw Cuthbertson’s Shelton Mitchell, Cornelius Hough’s Luke Maye, Eastern Alamance’s Lamont Robinson, East Burke’s Clay Byrd, Southwest Guilford’s Terrell Leach, Clayton’s Gary Clark, Shelby’s Gabe DeVoe and Kinston’s Denzel Keyes.

On the girls’ side, Salisbury junior forward Brielle Blaire, Rocky Mount senior guard J’Kyra Brown, Catawba Bandys junior guard Madi Story and Greensboro Page junior guard Paris Kea also made the AP team for the second straight year.

Rounding out the girls’ team are: Asheville Carolina Day’s Haley Laughter, Weddington’s Stephanie Watts, Gastonia Forestview’s Bre Armstrong, East Surry’s Keri Fulp, Lejeune’s Chatori Major and West Rowan’s Shay Steele.

The AP prep basketball coaches of the year for North Carolina will be released on Thursday. The players of the year will be released Friday.