Orange High wrestles its way to historic 1st Big Eight 3-A title

Feb. 01, 2014 @ 10:15 PM

The latest version of the Orange wrecking crew left little doubt Saturday it is as powerful as its mat predecessors. The Panthers compiled four pins and a major decision to crush Chapel Hill 55-6 and claim the inaugural Big Eight 3-A Conference wrestling crown.

Both teams came into the match unblemished in conference tilts at 6-0, and now turn their attention, as qualifiers, to the state dual team tournament which begins Tuesday. Seedings, sites and opponents will be announced Monday.

Orange senior 138-pounder Collin Smith, 35-3 on the season, picked up his 20th pin, in just 21 seconds over Jonathan Sepulveda.

“I took him down with a single leg, and I just jumped on the half once I saw there was an opening there,” said Smith, who expressed surprise at the spread of the team score.

“I think we were expecting to have a couple of pretty close matches, and we did. But we definitely did a good job today,” Smith said.

“We’re excited. We work hard and try our best and we’re thankful” to win the conference title, Orange coach Bobby Shriner said.

“The score didn’t indicate how close it was of a match. There were some very close matches, and they had a couple of younger guys up top who were tough,” Shriner said.

Chapel Hill coach Tripp Price acknowledged that wrestling Orange at home is a daunting task.

“You look at that wall and you see the tradition here, and that’s what we’re trying to build,” Price said.

“We’ve only got one senior, and they’ve got 13 seniors. I thought we wrestled really well,” Price said. “A lot of matches went the whole way, we were still in them in the third period, so I think we’re making gains.”

At 152, the Panthers’ Melik Jimenez cruised to a 14-3 major decision over Erik Jens, using a double-leg for two of his three takedowns and twice putting Jens on his back for near fall points. Orange then scored three consecutive first-period pins at 160, 170 and 182 from Joshua Clark, Austin Peters, and David Peters-Logue, respectively.

Clark went from takedown to half nelson/tight waist to deck Jose Smokowski. Peters hit a double-leg takedown and moved up to a half nelson to clamp William Hess. And Peters-Logue hit a double-leg, then cranked Ben Soderling to his back with a half/underhook combination.

Argie Burnette picked up 6 team points for Orange at 195 when Roberto Sibrian injured his left knee and had to give up an injury default. Sibrian was leading 2-1 in the second period when Burnette shot on his legs. Sibrian’s foot remained planted in an awkward position as the Panther knocked him backward at the edge of the mat.

Chapel Hill’s wins came from I’Money Rushing at 126, 6-4 over Gonzalo Garcia, and 220-pounder George McBurney, a 2-1 winner over Kyle Dawson.


Orange 55, Chapel Hill 6
106—Grant Thompson (O) dec. Zachary Allen (CH) 4-1. 113—Jamison Askew (O) dec. Wesley Kelley (CH) 8-2. 120—Joe Scott (O) won by forfeit. 126—I`Money Rushing (CH) dec. Gonzalo Garcia Contoral (O) 6-4. 132—Jared Flynn (O) dec. Eliot Martin (CH) 6-0. 138—Collin Smith (O) pinned Jonathan Sepulveda (CH) 0:21. 145—Trent Tanner (O) dec. Tommy Morrison (CH) 8-4. 152—Melik Jimenez (O) maj. dec. Erik Jens (CH) 14-3. 160—Joshua Clark (O) pinned Jose Smokowski (CH) 1:11. 170—Austin Peters (O) pinned William Hess (CH) 1:05. 182—David Peters-Logue (O) pinned Benjamin Soderling (CH) 0:40. 195—Argie Burnette (O) won by injury default over Roberto Sibrian (CH) 0:00. 220—George McBurney (CH) dec. Kyle Dawson (O) 2-1. 285—Byron Stephenson (O) dec. R. Hudson Price (CH) 3-0.

Orange 81, Oxford Webb 0
106—Grant Thompson (O) won by forfeit. 113—Jamison Askew (O) dec. Justin Perry (W) 7-4. 120—Joe Scott (O) pinned John Wheeless (W) 2:23. 126—Gonzalo Garcia (O) won by forfeit. 132—Jared Flynn (O) won by forfeit. 138—Collin Smith (O) won by forfeit. 145—Trent Tanner (O) won by forfeit. 152—Melik Jimenez (O) won by forfeit. 160—Josh Clark (O) won by forfeit. 170—Austin Peters (O) won by forfeit. 182—David Peter-Logue (O) won by forfeit. 195—Argie Burnette (O) won by forfeit. 220—Kyle Dawson (O) won by forfeit. 285—Byron Stephenson (O) won by forfeit.