Plumlee top all-ACC vote getter

Mar. 11, 2013 @ 09:49 PM

After falling short in their bids to win the ACC regular-season championship this season, Duke, North Carolina and N.C. State received plenty of recognition anyway on the all-ACC teams on Monday.

Duke’s Mason Plumlee made the first team, receiving more votes than any other league player, and was joined by N.C. State forward Richard Howell on the first team in voting by Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association members.

Plumlee, a 6-10 senior center, finished the regular season second in the league in scoring (17.2 points), rebounding (10.3) and field goal percentage (58.9 percent). Howell, a 6-9 senior forward, led the ACC in rebounding with 10.6 per game as N.C. State, the preseason pick to win the league title, placed fifth with an 11-7 ACC record.

Miami, which won the ACC regular season with a 15-3 league mark, was represented on the first team by sophomore guard Shane Larkin. A member of the ACC’s all-defensive team, Larkin led the league in steals at 2.0 per game.

Virginia Tech’s Erick Green, the nation’s leading scorer at 25 points per game, made the first team and was the closest player to Plumlee in the overall vote total.

Plumlee received 226 points to 225 for Green and 224 for Larkin.

Virginia’s Joe Harris, who averaged 17 points for the fourth-place Cavaliers, joined Plumlee, Howell, Larkin and Green on the first team.

North Carolina (12-6 in ACC), which finished third in the ACC standings behind Miami and Duke (14-4), was represented on the second team by Reggie Bullock and James Michael McAdoo.

Seth Curry of Duke, Miami’s Kenny Kadji and N.C. State guard Lorenzo Brown were also second-team selections.

N.C. State’s C.J. Leslie, the preseason pick for ACC player of the year, landed on the third team after a disappointing regular season. He’s joined by Michael Snaer of Florida State and Ryan Anderson of Boston College. Virginia’s Akil Mitchell, Duke’s Quinn Cook and Clemson’s Devin Booker tied for the final spot on the third team.

Duke’s Ryan Kelly, who missed 13 games with a right foot injury, received votes for all-ACC and is included on the honorable mention list. North Carolina’s P.J. Hairston is on that list, as are Scott Wood and T.J. Warren of N.C. State plus three Wake Forest players — Travis McKie, C.J. Harris and Devin Thomas.

The ACC also released its all defensive team on Monday. That team included Larkin, Georgia Tech’s Daniel Miller, Miami’s Durand Scott, Maryland’s Alex Len and Virginia’s Jontel Evans.

Duke’s Rasheed Sulaimon was named to the ACC all-freshman team.

Boston College’s Olivier Hanlan was the only unanimous pick to the all-freshman team after leading ACC freshmen in scoring at 14.6 points per game.

Other all-freshman team members are Warren, Thomas and UNC’s Marcus Paige.