Hillside’s Wiggins voted to all-state football team

Dec. 18, 2012 @ 01:00 AM

Hillside senior defensive back Korrin Wiggins was the only area player chosen to the 2012 all-state football team for North Carolina, which was announced Monday by The Associated Press.
Matthews Butler followed its latest state championship with another four-player showing on team, which was chosen by 17 statewide media members.
Wiggins (6-1, 185) had 57 tackles and seven interceptions, including one that he returned for a touchdown, in leading the Hornets into the state playoffs. The PAC-6 defensive back of the year was chosen to play in the Shrine Bowl and has committed to North Carolina, picking the Tar Heels over Ohio State, Clemson, South Carolina and Tennessee.
Receiver Uriah LeMay, linebackers Peter Kalambayi and Sean Wiggins, and defensive back Channing Stribling represented Butler, the Class 4-AA champions, on the 28-player squad. It marked the second time in four seasons that Butler had four players on the AP team.
The Butler quartet helped the Bulldogs go 15-0 and win a third N.C. High School Athletic Association championship in four seasons. Butler closed the year with a 56-28 win over Fayetteville Britt in the 4-AA final.
Kalambayi was one of two players to make the team for the second straight season, joining Charlotte Vance linebacker Larenz Bryant.
Three other schools had a pair of all-state picks. Davidson Day had quarterback Will Grier and offensive lineman Schuyler Coleman. Charlotte Mallard Creek had receiver Marquez North and tight end Jaylen Samuels. Richmond County had offensive lineman Tyrone Crowder and defensive lineman Devant’e Covington.
Raleigh Wakefield receiver Jordan Fieulleteau, another UNC recruit, received 16 votes to lead the team. Northern Guilford running back T.J. Logan, another UNC recruit who led his team to a third straight state title, and Tarboro defensive lineman and Ohio State recruit Tyquan Lewis each had 15 votes.
Charlotte Catholic running back Elijah Hood joined Grier and Logan in the backfield. Also on the offensive line with Crowder and Coleman were Albemarle’s Roger Prince Jr., Davie County’s Trip McNeil and East Forsyth’s Brandon Smith.
On defense, Wilson Hunt’s Lewis Neal and Hope Mills South View’s Greg Gilmore joined Lewis and Covington on the line.
Belmont South Point’s Daishon Davis was the fourth linebacker chosen for the team. Davis and Wiggins each tied with five votes for the last spot at the position.
Joining Wiggins and Stribling in the secondary are Charlotte Independence’s Jack Tocho and Monroe’s Jermany Hammonds.
On special teams, North Davidson’s Spencer Landfried made the team at kicker while Indian Trail Porter Ridge’s Matt Wogan was voted in at punter.
Swansboro’s DeAndre Thompkins was selected as kick returner, while Swain County’s Matthew Maennle rounded out the team at athlete.

(Votes in Parenthesis)

QB—Will Grier, Davidson Day (6)
RB—T.J. Logan, Northern Guilford (15)
RB—Elijah Hood, Charlotte Catholic (10)
WR—Jordan Fieulleteau, Raleigh Wakefield (16)
WR—Uriah LeMay, Matthews Butler (11)
WR—Marquez North, Charlotte Mallard Creek (9)
TE—Jaylen Samuels, Charlotte Mallard Creek (9)
OL—Tyrone Crowder, Richmond County (13)
OL—Roger Prince Jr., Albemarle (13)
OL—Schuyler Coleman, Davidson Day (9)
OL—Trip McNeil, Davie County (7)
OL—Brandon Smith, East Forsyth (6)

DL—Tyquan Lewis, Tarboro (15)
DL—Lewis Neal, Wilson Hunt (11)
DL—Greg Gilmore, Hope Mills South View (8)
DL—Devant’e Covington, Richmond County (6)
LB—Peter Kalambayi, Matthews Butler (13)
LB—Larenz Bryant, Charlotte Vance (9)
LB—Daishon Davis, Belmont South Point (5)
LB—Sean Wiggins, Matthews Butler (5)
DB—Channing Stribling, Matthews Butler (10)
DB—Korrin Wiggins, Hillside (9)
DB—Jack Tocho, Charlotte Independence (8)
DB—Jermany Hammonds, Monroe (7)

Special Teams
K—Spencer Landfried, North Davidson (8)
P—Matt Wogan, Indian Trail Porter Ridge (14)
Returner—DeAndre Thompkins, Swansboro (6)
Athlete—Matthew Maennle, Swain County (6)