Duke sets All-ACC Academic team record

Feb. 27, 2013 @ 09:12 PM

While having an historic season on the field, Duke’s football team also set a record in the classroom during the fall semester.
The Blue Devils had 21 players, the most in league history, make the All-ACC Academic team that was announced on Wednesday.
Duke won six games and made a bowl game for the first time since 1994 and beat rival North Carolina for the first time since 2003.
To be eligible for the all-academic team, a player must have a 3.00 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.00 cumulative average during his academic career.
The league has selected an All-ACC Academic Football team every year since 1954.
Three of the Duke players honored — wide receiver Conner Vernon, cornerback Ross Cockrell and punter Will Monday — also made the All-ACC first team for their play on the field.
Duke quarterback Sean Renfree, who won the Jim Tatum Award as the league’s top student-athlete, made the All-ACC Academic team for the third consecutive year. He is among 12 repeat honorees for Duke.
No other school came close to Duke’s 21 players on the team. Clemson was second with six.
N.C State had five players on the team led by a repeat selections, senior defensive end McKay Frandsen and senior quarterback Mike Glennon.
North Carolina had three players honored, including first-team All-American guard Jonathan Cooper. UNC senior defensive back Pete Mangum was a repeat selection.

All-ACC Academic Team
BOSTON COLLEGE—David Dudeck (Fr., RB).
CLEMSON—Jaron Brown (Sr., WR); Chandler Catanzaro (Jr., K); Brandon Ford (Gr., TE); Dalton Freeman (Sr., C); Tyler Shatley (Jr.-R, G); Gifford Timothy (So.-R, T).
DUKE—Kenny Anunike (Sr.-R, DE); Brandon Braxton (Jr., S); Kyler Brown (Fr.-R, LB); Lee Butler (Gr., CB); Ross Cockrell (Jr.-R, CB); Tony Foster (Sr.-R, CB); C.J. France (So.-R, LB); Dave Harding (Jr-R., G); David Helton (So., LB); Dezmond Johnson (So.-R, DT); Ross Martin (Fr., K); Will Monday (Fr.-R, P); Brian Moore (Gr., C); Dwayne Norman (Fr., S); Sidney Sarmiento (Jr.-R, DT); Perry Simmons (Jr.-R., T); Josh Snead (So.-R, RB); Sean Renfree (Gr., QB); Juwan Thompson (Jr., RB); Laken Tomlinson (So.-R, T); Conner Vernon (Sr., WR).
FLORIDA STATE—Dustin Hopkins (Sr., K).
GEORGIA TECH—Ray Beno (Jr.-R, G); Will Jackson (Jr.-R., G).
MARYLAND—Tyler Cierski (So., FB); Cole Farrand (So., LB); Bennett Fulper (Sr.-R, G); Nathan Renfro (Fr.-R, P).
MIAMI—Dalton Botts (Sr., P).
NORTH CAROLINA—Jonathan Cooper (Sr., G); Tim Jackson (Jr., DE); Peter Mangum (Sr., DB).
N.C. STATE—McKay Frandsen (Sr., DE); Zach Gentry (Sr., LB); Mike Glennon (Gr., QB ); Charlie Hegedus (Fr., WR); Asa Watson (Jr., TE).
VIRGINIA—Sean Cascarano (Jr.-R, G); Henry Coley (So.-R, LB); Jake Snyder (Jr.-R, DE).
VIRGINIA TECH—Michael Cole (Fr.-R, S); Joey Phillips (Gr., FB); David Wang (Jr.-R, G).
WAKE FOREST—Duran Lowe (Jr.-R, SS); Tanner Price ( Jr., QB).