Prep Notebook: All-Conference 12 2-A teams named

Jun. 05, 2013 @ 06:49 PM

Area athletes and coaches dominated player of the year and coach of the year selections in 2-A all-Carolina 12 1-A/2-A Conference coaching honors for spring sports.

The 2-A all-conference picks were announced following the completion of all conference programs’ spring seasons.

In baseball, state semifinalist Northwood grabbed the headlines with Justin King and Robert Straughn named player and pitcher of the year, respectively, for coach of the year Rick Parks.

In softball, state championship runner-up South Granville led the way with Jenna Davis and Kasey Newcomb grabbing player and pitcher of the year honors for coach of the year Jackie Day.

In soccer, state quarterfinalist Carrboro was honored with player of the year Emma Houser, co-keeper of the year Benedikte Turner and coach of the year Mark Kadlecik. Granville Central’s Caroline Snyder shared keeper of the year honors with Turner.

In girls’ track, state champion Carrboro provided the coach of the year in Melvin Griffin and runner of the year Grace Morken, while Libby Florence of Cedar Ridge was field events athlete of the year.

In boys’ track, state champion Cedar Ridge offered the runner of the year in Cameron Cooper and coach of the year in Larry Faucette. Carrboro’s Noah Lambert was field events athlete of the year.

Carrboro dominated the C-12 tennis season and player of the year Max Fritsch was the Jaguars’ top gun. Carrboro coach Jon Noyes was named coach of the year.

In golf, Carrboro’s Kaleb Lester won player of the year honors and South Granville’s Joe Williams was coach of the year.

Here’s a look at the complete list of 2-A honorees from the C-12. Please note that the track and field teams include both 1-A and 2-A athletes from the conference.


Carolina 12 2-A Conference

All-Conference Teams


Player of Year

Justin King (Northwood)

Pitcher of the Year

Robert Straughn (Northwood)

Coach of the Year

Rick Parks (Northwood)

First team (by school) — Northwood, Justin King, Robert Straughn, Andrew Webster, Ross Cooper, Adam Lowe, Jordan Riggsbee; South Granville, Houston Anderson, Shawn Montren, Jordan Harris, Ty Adcock, Cord Michalina; Carrboro, Seth Andres, Jacob Scarlett, Spencer Brown; Cedar Ridge, Josh Kiehle, Lucas Orlowski; Granville Central, Peyton Thomas, Omar Rincon.



Player of Year

Jenna Davis (South Granville)

Pitcher of the Year

Kasey Newcomb (South Granville)

Coach of the Year

Jackie Day (South Granville)

First team (by school) — South Granville, Kasey Newcomb, Jenna Davis, Erin Boone, Karlee Michalina, Savannah Tilley, Taylor Boyd; Granville Central, Brooke Fletcher, Alyssa Long; Northwood, Anna Jasper, McKenzie Allgood, Alexa Bernard, Samantha Droese, Morgan Oldham; Cedar Ridge, Logan Barefoot, Sarah Howard, Lou Allen; Carrboro, Anna Broome

Honorable mention — South Granville, Hunter Mundy, Alease Daniel, Brandi Celia; Granville Central, Mallory James, Danielle Schmid, Megan Taylor, Taylor Lickliter, Taylor Bailey; Northwood, Payton Springle, Courtney Wilson, Kayli Blankenship; Carrboro, Michaela Dodd, Alex Adams, Diondre Smith, Alexa Gomez.



Player of the Year

Emma Houser (Carrboro)

Co-Goalkeepers of the Year

Benedikte Turner (Carrboro) and Caroline Snyder (Granville Central)

Coach of the Year

Mark Kadlecik (Carrboro)

First team (by school) — Carrboro, Emma Houser, Caroline Houser, Breighton Magee, Benedikte Turner, Leah Simon, Rebecca Macklin; South Granville, Erika Russell, Mikhala Dorminey; Granville Central, Caroline Snyder; Northwood, Jamie Palermo, Gaby Mehringer, Hailey Pister; Durham School of the Arts, Lory Galdamez, Kendall Conder, Johanna Mercado; Cedar Ridge, Sierra Houck, Alexis Zielke.



Player of the Year

Max Fritsch (Carrboro)

Coach of the Year

Jon Noyes (Carrboro)

First team (by school) — Carrboro (singles) Max Fritsch, Brian Freiburghouse, Tanner Roach and (doubles) Fritsch/Freiburghouse, Roach/Aaron Hiller; Cedar Ridge (singles) Zac Marion, Erik Lutz, Isaac Lutz and (doubles) Marion/E. Lutz; Durham School of the Arts, Owen Ryan; Northwood (singles) Zafer Estill and (doubles) Estill/Chris Cole.



Player of the Year

Kaleb Lester (Carrboro)

Coach of the Year

Joe Williams (South Granville)

First team (by school) — Carrboro, Kaleb Lester, Ben Padden, Adam Alfieri, Adam Tobias, Hanson Elkins; Granville Central, Jonathan Price; Northwood, Jordan McClamrock, Dalton Carr, Matt Klien, Carter Denny; Cedar Ridge, Ben Braxton; South Granville, Corey Johnson.



(1-A & 2-A Teams Combined)

Field Events Athlete of the Year

Libby Florence (Cedar Ridge)

Runner of the Year

Grace Morken (Carrboro)

Coach of the Year

Melvin Griffin (Carrboro)

First team (by school/event) — Northwood, Alex Council (100), Tyeisha Baldwin (300 hurdles), 4x100 relay (Eboni Watson,Tyeisha Baldwin, Savannah Morris, Alex Council); Granville Central, Jessica Morris (100, 200); Durham School of the Arts, Crystal Clark (200), Hana Ratcliffe (400), Jaida Henderson (100 hurdles), 4x200 relay (Victoria Parrish, Jaida Henderson, Crystal Clark, Lydia Gamble), Tamara Hall (discus); Carrboro, Grace Morken (400, 800), Maysa Araba (800, 1600), Helen Morken (1600, 3200), Camilla Dohlman (3200), 4x400 relay (Alexa Phillips, Grace Morken, Maysa Araba, Taliana Tudryn), 4x800 relay (Alexa Phillips, Rachel Burch, Camilla Dohlman, Amelia Covington), Diamond Tyson (shot put, discus); N.C. Science & Math, Ashleigh Cleveland (100 hurdles, 300 hurdles, high jump), Princess Stone (triple jump); Cedar Ridge, Libby Florence (high jump, pole vault), Dana Davis (pole vault), Kacia Vines (long jump), Alexis Barnes (shot put); South Granville, Teshlyn Smith (long jump, triple jump).



(1-A & 2-A Teams Combined)

Field Events Athlete of the Year

Noah Lambert (Carrboro)

Runner of the Year

Cameron Cooper (Cedar Ridge)

Coach of the Year

Larry Faucette (Cedar Ridge)

First team (by school/event) — Cedar Ridge, Cameron Cooper (100, 200), Christian Cooper (200, 400), Ian Loebs (800), A.J. Tucker (1600, 3200), 4x100 relay (Christopher Chapman, Chase Turnbull, Chris McKoy, Cameron Cooper), 4x200 relay (Christopher Chapman, Cameron Cooper, Chase Turnbull, Christian Chapman), Mike Hartley (high jump), Ethan Smith (pole vault); Granville Central, Josh Morris (100); N.C. Science & Math, Benson Robles (400), Chris Panuski (800), 4x400 relay (Chris Panuski, Cameron Bowes, Cedric Clark, Benson Robles), 4x800 relay (Benson Robles, Josh Rees-Jones, Chatham Ellwanger, Chris Panuski), Davis Atkinson (pole vault, triple jump); Carrboro, Dominic Collichio (1600, 3200), Jerrell Atwater (110 hurdles), Noah Lambert (high jump, long jump), Scott Peretin (discus), Magnus Herweyer (shot put); Durham School of the Arts, Abdel Mouliom (110 hurdles, 300 hurdles), Michael Eubanks (discus); Raleigh Charter, Dominic Foy (300 hurdles); South Granville, Mario Thorpe (long jump, triple jump), Taz Strudwick (shot put).