PREP ROUNDUP 12/20: Webb drops Cardinal Newman

Dec. 20, 2012 @ 11:32 PM

Webb, Hicks open tourney
with resounding victory
COLUMBIA, S.C. — Isaiah Hicks scored 31 points to lead undefeated Oxford Webb (9-0) to an 80-48 win over Columbia (S.C.) Cardinal Newman late Thursday in the opening round game of the Chick-fil-A Invitational holiday basketball tournament at Richlands High School here.
“Isaiah, hands down, is the top basketball player in this tournament and right now is playing like the best high school basketball player in the country,” Webb coach Leo Brunelli said. “And you can quote me on that.”
Hicks totally upstaged hometown hero Austin Ajukwa, a 6-foot-6 shooting guard who will play for Clemson next season. Ajukwa finished with 21 points and a game-high 10 rebounds in 28 minutes on the floor.
Bryan Smith led Webb with seven rebounds and Hicks, Mitron Terry and Tyrek Beverly had six each for the Warriors, who outrebounded Newman 32-30.
Backing Hicks’ big night, teammates Devonte Williams (13 points), Beverly (11), Stefan Cates (11) and Terry (11) each scored in double figures for the Warriors.
Newman (2-4) has been a power in South Carolina the last two years, compiling a 50-10 record and winning regional titles each of the past two seasons. “They’re a very good team,” Brunelli said.
Hicks added three steals and Cates four assists for the Warriors, who play a second round game here tonight.

OXFORD WEBB — Isaiah Hicks 31, Devonte Williams 13, Tyrek Beverly 11, Mitron Terry 11, Stefan Cates 11, Bryan Smith 3.
CARDINAL NEWMAN — Austin Ajukwa 21, John Ragin 7, Zakki Parker 7, D.J. Halfacre 4, Stefone Brown 4, Hunter Gatlin 2, Joe Armstrong 2, Jacob Argus 1.
Oxford Webb  44  36—80
Cardinal Newman 26  22—48
Records — Oxford Webb 9-0, Cardinal Newman 2-4.

YANCEYVILLE — Visiting Carrboro ran out to a 38-19 halftime lead and crushed winless Bartlett Yancey behind 17 points from Trai Sharp and 13 from Matt McKinnon.
Jack Nanney and Malik Carrington added eight points apiece for 5-1 Carrboro.

Carrboro 61, Bartlett Yancey 43
Bartlett Yancey|13|6|11|13—43
CARRBORO — Matt McKinnon 13, Trai Sharp 17, Marlin Johnson 3, Jack Nanney 8, Peter Rathmell 2, Martin Alcox 1, Alex McVeigh 3, Malik Carrington 8, Gerald Atwater 2, Ezavian Dunn 4.
BARLETT YANCEY — D. Pointer 3, M. Mims 7, J. Hancock 10, W. Wilson 10, T. Stewart 5, D. Smith 4, C. Garland 4.
Records — Carrboro 5-1, 3-0 Carolina 12 1-A/2-A Conference. Bartlett Yancey 0-8.
MERRY HILL — The Trinity School of Durham and Chapel Hill outscored Pantego’s Terra Ceia Christian Academy 19-4 in the third quarter en route to a 15-point win in the opening game of the Lawrence Academy Christmas Tournament here Thursday night.
Paul Dunlap led Trinity (3-6) with 10 points. Trinity had nine players score at least four points each in the victory and out-rebounded Terra Ceia (4-5) 36-18.
Trinity will play the winner of Thursday night’s late game between Lawrence Academy and and Perquimans County at 6:30 p.m. today for the tournament title.

Trinity/Durham 50, Terra Ceia 35
Lawrence Academy Christmas
Tournament Semifinal
TRINITY — Paul Dunlap 10, Todd Echstenkamper 7, Zachary Dickson 6, Will Stevenson 6, Tyler Eckstein 5, Hayes Thielman 4, Alex Gould 4, Ren Jacques 4, Christian Kowalski 4.
TERRA CEIA — Tyler Hendrix 14, Kyle Hendrix 8, Griffin Jackson 5, Andrew Von Staal 5, Alex Bowen 4, Brent Hubers 2, Aaron Williams 2.
Terra Ceia Academy|6|9|4|16—35
Records— The Trinity School of Durham and Chapel Hill 3-6, Terra Ceia 4-5.

East sweeps Chapel Hill
CHAPEL HILL — Max Howes, Koya Osada and Morgan Smith each won two events for East Chapel Hill as the Wildcats swept a boys-girls dual meet with Chapel Hill.
The East boys won handily, 171.5-114.5.
The girls’ match was decided by just two points, East taking a 144-142 decision, as Tigers Claire DeSelm and Kaitlyn Jones each won a pair of events for Chapel Hill.

ECH (boys) 171.5, Chapel Hill 114.5
ECH (girls) 144, Chapel Hill 142
Double-event winners — Claire DeSelm (CH) 200 individual medley, 100 butterfly; Max Howes (ECH) 200 freestyle, 500 free; Koya Osada (ECH) 200 IM, 100 backstroke; Kaitlyn Jones (CH) 50 free, 100 backstroke; Morgan Smith (ECH) 200 free, 500 free.