Chapel Hill names 3 coaches; Carrboro replaces Tudryn

Jun. 20, 2014 @ 03:43 PM

Three new coaches were named at Chapel Hill High School Thursday night. The group had to be approved the Chapel Hill-Carrboro City Schools.

William Walton was named boys’ basketball coach, replacing interim coach Lason Perkins. Also named were Jason Curtis as new boys’ and girls’ soccer coach, replacing the retired Ron Benson who won the state 3-A girls’ title in his final coaching appearance, and Greg Cain, who’ll coach the softball team.

Walton most recently has served as head basketball coach at Reidsville High School (2005-present) and has also coached football, basketball and track at Southwest Guilford, Greensboro Grimsley, Asheboro and three Virginia schools.

Cain has coached boys’ and girls’ swimming at Chapel Hill (2000-08) and baseball at Greensboro Page (1996-99) and has coached baseball and softball at Smith Middle School in Chapel Hill since 2003.

Curtis has been on the Chapel Hill soccer staff for boys and girls since 1999 as an assistant coach to Benson.

“We are excited to announce three new coaches — William Walton, Jason Curtis and Greg Cain — to our coaching staff,” Chapel Hill athletic director Tim Bennett said. “Each one brings valuable experience and strong leadership to our athletic program. We look forward to working with them this upcoming season as they continue to build on this past season’s success.”

Carrboro names Griffin to football post

CHAPEL HILL — Melvin Griffin, longtime aide to departed Carrboro football coach Jason Tudryn, was elevated to head football coach Thursday night.

Griffin has coached track and football including stops in Yorktown, Va., and for the last seven years (2007-present) in Carrboro on Tudryn’s staff.

“Coach Griffin has extensive knowledge and experience in football, and we have the utmost respect and confidence in his abilities to lead our program,” said Carrboro athletic director April Ross. “We are currently seeking qualified assistant coaches to complete our football coaching staff.”