Thursday prep roundup ...

Dec. 13, 2013 @ 12:44 AM


Durham Academy 73, Durham Flight 20

DURHAM — Durham Academy rode a balanced scoring attack to an overwhelming non-conference win over Durham Flight HomeSchool Thursday at DA.

Davis Rourk (12), Jorden Davis (11) and Pryce Sinclair (10) each scored in double figures for the Cavaliers, now 8-3. Star big man Alston Thompson scored nine and Jason Lapidus, David Oglesby and Slater Daniels each had six.

Durham Flight dropped to 3-5. Carson Oakley led Flight with eight points.


 Fellowship Baptist Academy 44, Fayetteville St. Christian 33

ASHEBORO — Timothy Dail scored 25 points, Jake Addison added 10 and Andrew Moolenaar nine and that was it for Fellowship Baptist Academy’s scoring — and winning Thursday night.

Homestanding Fayetteville Street Christian fell to 3-3 overall and 2-2 in the N.C. Christian School Association 1-A/District 4 race and Durham’s FBA improved to 15-5, 2-0 in NCCSA 1-A/District 4 play.

Addison had 11 rebounds for Fellowship Baptist.



Durham Academy 48, Durham Flight 45

DURHAM — Durham Academy’s Cha’Mia Rothwell scored 17 points and Dana Williams and Naomi Lerner nine each to offset a game-high 20 from Durham Flight HomeSchool’s Stormi Abernathy.

Rebecca Loach added 14 for Flight, which trailed 39-30 after three quarters but used a 15-9 run in the fourth quarter to make it close.

Durham Academy improved to 8-2 while Durham Flight dropped to 12-2.



South Granville 53, Granville Central 22

South Granville 78, Kerr-Vance Academy 3

CREEDMOOR — South Granville swept a tri-meet with Granville Central and Kerr-Vance Academy Thursday night, topping Granville Central before overwhelming outmanned Kerr-Vance.

In contested matches against Granville Central, South Granville winners were Nathean Castillo by technical fall and Hayden Pearson, Bryce Talley, Justin Renuart, Austin Brogden and James Pelletier by pin.

Granville Central got decisions from Nolan Malugen, Arie Freeman and Tevin Hayes (major decision) and pins by Tyler Vowell-Jackson and Ben Jackson.

Against Kerr-Vance, KVA contested only two bouts, forfeiting the remaining 12. South Granville’s Noah French won one by pin at 1:39 and James Averette picked up KVA’s only three points with a decision at 152 pounds.


NOTE TO COACHES/ADS — Email game results by 10:30 night of event to Include first and last names of players. We are unable to take call-in results. Questions? Email, attention Mark Donovan.



Durham Academy 48, Durham Flight 45

Durham Flight      17      5      8      15 — 45

Durham Academy      6      19      14      9 — 48

DURHAM FLIGHT HOMESCHOOL — Emily Sherron 8, Rebecca Lobach 14, Stormi Abernathy 20, Christina Stickel 3.

DURHAM ACADEMY — Cha’Mia Rothwell 17, Liz Roberts 7, Dana Williams 9, Naomi Lerner 9, Lily Ronco 6.

Records — Durham Flight HomeSchool 12-2, Durham Academy 8-2.



Durham Academy 73, Durham Flight 20

Durham Flight      4      8      5      3 — 20

Durham Academy      14      18      14      27 — 73

DURHAM FLIGHT — Carson Oakley 8, Garrett Evans 6, Luke Riley 2, Caleb Sherron 2, David Senerchia 2.

DURHAM ACADEMY — Davis Rourk 12, Jorden Davis 11, Pryce Sinclair 10, Alston Thompson 9, Jason Lapidus 6, David Oglesby 6, Slater Daniels 6, Ryan Hester 4, Khari Williams 4, Nash Carey-Ewend 3, Caleb Vanderburg 2.

Records — Durham Flight HomeSchool 3-5, Durham Academy 8-3.


Fellowship Baptist Academy 44, Asheboro Fayetteville Street Christian 33

Fellowship Baptist     6    10    17    11 — 44

Fayetteville Street    4    10    7    12 — 33

FELLOWSHIP BAPTIST — Timothy Dail 25, Jake Addison 10, Andrew Moolenaar 9.

FAYETTEVILLE STREET — Daniel Brown 13, Coren McCranie 8, Nathan Small 6, Quentin Queen 5, John Maness 1.

3-point FG — FBA 2 (Addison 2), FS 1 (McCranie). Rebounds — FBA 30 (Addison 11), FS 23 (Small 5, Christian Vestal 5). Assists — FBA 5 (T. Dail 2), FS 1 (McCranie). Steals — FBA 1 (Addison), FS 4 (McCranie, Small). Turnovers — FBA 8 (T. Dail 2, Christopher King 2), FS 11  (Small 4). FG Pct. — FB A 42.1 (16-38), FS 28.9 (11-38). FT Pct. — FBA 58.8 (10-17), FS 42.4 (10-22).

Records — Fellowship Baptist Academy 15-5, 2-0 NCCSA 1A/District #4; Fayetteville Street Christian 3-3, 2-2 NCCSA 1A/District #4.



Cedar Ridge 60, Cardinal Gibbons 21

(Wednesday late report)

106—Geoffrey Allen (CR) won by forfeit. 113—David Wicklin (CG) pin Juan Jaime (CR) 2:00. 120—Chris Durham (CR) pin Brooks Bailey (CG) 1:44. 126—Jacob Tutor (CR) pin Riley Harris (CG) 2:37. 132—Colin Donovan (CG) inj. def. Thomas Santos (CR) 2:40. 138—John Hart (CG) dec. Elijah Richardson (CR) 9-8. 145—Grady Pritchard (CR) pin Nima Zolghadri (CG) 0:23. 152—Seth McKee (CR) pin Anthony Gaither (CG) 0:23. 160—Max Cusatis (CR) pin Robert Roe (CG) 0:43. 170—Trey Harris (CR) pin Derek Rose (CG) 0:38. 182—Nicholas Witham (CG) won by disqualification over Daniel Ernandez (CR). 195—James Fowler (CR) won by forfeit. 220—Issac Rivera (CR) won by forfeit. 285—Sam Stuart (CR) pin Alexander Saleh (CG) 0:44.


South Granville 53, Granville Central 22

106—Cody Wilkins (SG) won by forfeit. 113—Nathean Castillo (SG) tech. fall Jeremy Paddock (GC) 0:00 17-2. 120—Nolan Malugen (GC) dec. Alex Winstead (SG) 5-1. 126—Hayden Pearson (SG) pin Raphael Hayes (GC) 1:29. 132—Bryce Talley (SG) pin Cole Barnette (GC) 1:29. 138—Arie Freeman (GC) dec. Alexie Hernandez (SG) 9-3. 145—Tevin Hayes (GC) maj. dec. Ryan Sharpe (SG) 10-2. 152—Justin Renuart (SG) pin Daniel Grubic (GC) 0:21. 160—Tyler Vowell-Jackson (GC) pin Kyle Winsted (SG) 0:31. 170—Ben Jackson (GC) pin Hunter Holliday (SG) 3:32. 182—John Pelletier (SG) won by forfeit. 195—Christian Brown (SG) won by forfeit. 220—Austin Brogden (SG) pin Charlie Allen (GC) 3:25. 285—James Pelletier (SG) pin William Forsythe (GC) 1:29.


South Granville 78, Kerr-Vance Academy 3

106—Zach Winstead (SG) won by forfeit. 113—Nathean Castillo (SG) won by forfeit. 120—Alex Winstead (SG) won by forfeit. 126—Noah French (SG) pin Ben Johnson (KV) 1:39. 132—Bryce Talley (SG) won by forfeit. 138—Alexie Hernandez (SG) won by forfeit. 145—Ryan Sharpe (SG) won by forfeit. 152—James Averette (KV) dec. Nolan Mullens (SG) 7-2. 160—Austin Higgs (SG) won by forfeit. 170—Hunter Holliday (SG) won by forfeit. 182—John Pelletier (SG) won by forfeit. 195—Austin Brogden (SG) won by forfeit. 220—Christian Brown (SG) won by forfeit. 285—James Pelletier (SG) won by forfeit.