FANFARE: Three players leave UNC football

Jul. 30, 2014 @ 09:10 PM

Three UNC football players leave team

CHAPEL HILL — Three North Carolina players have left the program and the status of a fourth is in doubt.

Team spokesman Kevin Best said Wednesday that senior defensive tackle Shawn Underwood, redshirt freshman defensive tackle Gregg Webb and sophomore linebacker Clint Heaven are no longer on the team.

Best says Underwood and Webb left for personal reasons while Heaven transferred to Northern Iowa.

Additionally, the status of sophomore offensive guard J.J. Patterson is in doubt. Best says Patterson will not be part of the 105-man roster that will report to training camp, which starts Friday.

Underwood was listed as a possible starter on the Tar Heels' preseason depth chart.


Bulls eye possible Myers rehab stint

DURHAM – With 2013 American League Rookie of the Year Wil Myers advancing through his recovery from a wrist injury, the Durham Bulls are preparing for his possible return.

Meyers started last season with Durham before being promoted to Tampa Bay in June, where he batted .293 with 13 home runs. But Myers has been sidelined since May this season with a stress fracture in his right wrist.

Myers, a Thomasville native, expects to be cleared for a minor-league rehabilitation soon and the Bulls are selling a special `Wil He, Won’t He Rehab?’ ticket package.   

The Bulls are selling a three-game package for $25 that includes tickets for the Aug. 16 game with Charlotte, the Aug. 31 game with Norfolk, a first-round playoff game on Sept. 5 and a Myers bobblehead doll.

In the event that Myers rejoins the Bulls, the buyer can exchange either of the regular-season tickets for any of the games where Myers is on the Durham roster.

For information, visit or call 919.956.2855.


Duke men’s golf receives academic award

DURHAM – The Duke men’s golf team was one of 11 Division I programs recognized Wednesday by the GCAA with 2014 Team Academic Awards presented by Farmers Insurance. The Blue Devils received President’s Special Recognition status after posting a GPA of 3.5 or better for the year.

 DePaul claimed the Division I Academic National Champion title for the fourth time with Alabama State, Arizona, Brown, Duke, Kennesaw State, Mercer, Missouri, Missouri State, Utah State and Valparaiso receiving President’s Special Recognition status for having team GPAs of 3.5 or better.  To be eligible for GCAA All-Academic Team honors a college or university must submit the GPAs for each player on its official squad list for the academic year.