Duke's Jabari Parker receives 1st team all-America honors

Mar. 26, 2014 @ 04:37 PM

Duke freshman forward Jabari Parker has been named first-team all-America by the National Association of Basketball Coaches.

The Chicago native closed the year with an ACC-high 14 double-doubles, while averaging 19.1 points and 8.7 rebounds per game.

Parker is joined on the first team by Nick Johnson (Arizona), Doug McDermott (Creighton), Shabazz Napier (Connecticut) and Nik Stauskas (Michigan). He was the lone freshman named to the first team and one of three freshman to earn All-America honors from the NABC this season.

With the first team All-America citation from the NABC, Parker inches closer to consensus first team all-America status. He is attempting to become the 15th consensus first team All-America under head coach Mike Krzyzewski and Duke’s first since Nolan Smith in 2011. Parker has already been named first team All-America by Sporting News, Sports Illustrated and the USBWA.

Parker’s outstanding freshman season featured several milestones including becoming just the fourth freshman in ACC history to lead the league in rebounding. He scored 20 or more points in a game 18 times for the second-best freshman mark in conference history and concluded the year with 670 points to become just the third player in ACC history to score 650 or more points as a freshman.

Duke closed the year with a 26-9 record, including a 13-5 mark in ACC play. The Blue Devils went 17-0 at Cameron Indoor Stadium to extend their home win streak to 33 games and also knocked off four ranked opponents in 2013-14.

Others from the ACC named to NABC all-America teams included senior forward C.J. Fair of Syracuse (2nd team) and ACC player of the year T.J. Warren of N.C. State, a Durham native (3rd team).

Rounding out the second team were Wichita State forward Cleanthony Early and three guards — Cincinnati’s Sean Kilpatrick, Louisville’s Russ Smith and Kansas freshman Andrew Wiggins.

Rounding out the third team were Kentucky freshman forward Julius Randle and three guards — Oklahoma State’s Marcus Smart, Wichita State’s Fred VanVleet and Florida’s Scottie Wilbekin.

NOTES — Located in Kansas City, Mo., the NABC was founded in 1927 by Phog Allen, the legendary basketball coach at the University of Kansas. ... The NABC has nearly 5,000 members consisting primarily of university and college men’s basketball coaches.