Friday's area roundup

Jun. 21, 2013 @ 11:08 PM

Griffin falls in semis
CARY — East Chapel Hill star Ben Griffin was eliminated 2 and 1 by Keegan Hoff of Charlotte in the semifinals of the Carolinas Golf Association’s N.C. Junior Boys’ Championship at Prestonwood Country Club in Cary on Friday morning.
Hoff, medalist in the tournament’s 36-hold stroke-play qualifying, was upended in the title match Friday afternoon by Austin Inman of Leland 3 and 2.
In Friday’s other semifinal, Inman defeated Stephen Saleeby of Raleigh Broughton, 4 and 2.
Griffin (2011 and 2013) and Saleeby (2012) have won the past three state 4-A high school golf individual championships.
In the CGA’s N.C. Junior Girls’ Championship at Bentwinds Golf and Country Club in Fuquay-Varina, University of Tennessee signee Lucia Polo of Greensboro won her second title, downing Cary 14-year-old phenom Emilia Migliaccio 5 and 3.
Migliaccio eliminated Bahama’s Jessica Spicer in Thursday’s semifinals.

Duke-Memphis kickoff time set
DURHAM — The Duke football game against Memphis on Sept. 7 at Liberty Bowl Memorial Stadium will kick off at 4:30 p.m., the American Athletic Conference announced Friday. The game will air on ESPN3.
The week two game will pit the Blue Devils against the Tigers for the second straight year after the Blue Devils won 38-14 on Sept. 22, 2012, at Wallace Wade Stadium.
Duke opens the 2013 football season against N.C. Central on Aug. 31 at 4 p.m. Duke season tickets are available at or by calling the Duke Athletic Ticket Office at 919-681-BLUE.

Devils, Heels on All-ACC academic rowing team
GREENSBORO — Duke had seven rowers and North Carolina four named to the All-ACC Academic rowing team, as annouced Friday by ACC commisioner John Swofford.
Duke was led by All-America selection Emily Theys, along with senior classmates Sarah Baker, Katie Burke and Laura Sciarrino, juniors Grace Cassidy and Caroline Kiritsy and sophomore Claire Vannelli.
UNC was represented by Carie Mastrianni, Alex McClelland, Maria Santoyo and Claire Wardius on the 37-member squad.
Virginia’s Sarah Cowburn was honored as the ACC Rowing Scholar-Athlete of the Year, marking the fourth consecutive year that a Cavalier rower has claimed the honor. Clemson led all schools with eight selections to the All-ACC Academic team, while Virginia and Duke had seven each, Boston College six, Miami five and UNC four.
The seven selections give Duke at least five All-ACC Academic rowers for the fifth straight year.
Baker, Burke and Theys end their Duke careers with three consecutive All-ACC Academic Team citations, becoming the fourth, fifth and sixth rowers in Duke history to earn the recognition three times.