Tuesday's college roundup

May. 07, 2013 @ 10:31 PM

UNC 9, JMU 5 —
No. 1 North Carolina used a four-run first inning to run out to a 7-0 lead after five innings before holding on for a victory over James Madison (20-24) on Tuesday at Boshamer Stadium.
Freshman Landon Lassiter paced the offense at the plate as he went 3-for-3 with two runs scored and three RBIs for the top-ranked Tar Heels (43-4).
Cody Stubbs also drove in three runs for the Tar Heels who improved to 24-1 in non-conference action this season.
Junior left-hander Hobbs Johnson claimed his second consecutive midweek win as he allowed just one hit and struck out four, while working around five walks. Johnson improves to 4-0 on the year and lowers his ERA to 2.00 for the year.

Women’s basketball
Three Duke women’s basketball players — rising sophomore Alexis Jones and signees Oderah Chidom and Kendall Cooper — will be traveling to the U.S. Olympic Training Center in Colorado Springs, Colo., from May 16-19 after accepting invitations for the USA Basketball U19 World Championship Team trials.
North Carolina forward Xylina McDaniel and signee Stephanie Mavunga also accepted invitations to the trials.
The trials will be held May 16-18 with the announcement of the 12-member team on May 19. Miami head coach Katie Meier will be the head coach of the U19 squad, along with assistants Nikki Caldwell (LSU) and Kelly Graves (Gonzaga).
Jones is coming off a standout freshman campaign with the Blue Devils. The 5-8 rookie took over the point guard slot following Chelsea Gray’s injury in February and averaged 13.8 points, 6.1 rebounds, 5.4 assists and 1.3 steals in the final 11 games for the Blue Devils.
Both Chidom and Cooper will be freshman post players on the 2013-14 Duke team.

Women’s lacrosse
Duke freshman attacker Kelci Smesko and sophomore defender Gabby Moise were named ACC women’s lacrosse offensive and defensive players of the week, respectively, on Tuesday.
Smesko set career highs with four goals and seven points, pacing the Duke attack in Sunday’s 18-9 win over Boston University. She also matched a career best with three assists and continues to rank second on the team in that category with 16.
Moise, Duke’s leader in caused turnovers with 24, tallied two more against Boston University. She also marked Terriers’ leading scorer Danielle Etrasco, limiting her to three points.

Men’s lacrosse
Duke freshman midfielder Myles Jones and Maryland senior long stick midfielder Jesse Bernhardt have been named ACC men’s lacrosse offensive and defensive players of the week.
Jones registered a career-high five points on three goals and two assists as Duke cruised to a 19-3 win over Marquette in the regular season finale. The hat trick was the first of his career, while the two assists tied his career high.

Men’s track & field
Duke redshirt junior Austin Gamble has been named the ACC men’s track and field performer of the week.
Gamble broke his own school record in the discus with a mark of 190-3 on Sunday at the Duke Twilight at Wallace Wade Stadium to win the event. The throw ranks first in the ACC this season and 19th nationally.

NCAA semifinal games moving to cable in 2014
NEW YORK — The Final Four’s first two games are moving to cable next year.
The national semifinals will air on TBS in 2014 and 2015, with the title game remaining on CBS, the companies said Tuesday.
Under the 14-year deal that CBS and Turner Sports signed with the NCAA in 2010, CBS and TBS were scheduled to start alternating broadcasts of the entire Final Four starting in 2016, but Turner had the option to move that up to 2014.
Network executives decided in recent months that the best approach for both companies was to split the coverage for the next two years before beginning to take turns. TBS will televise the entire Final Four in 2016 and CBS in 2017.
“It was a nice opportunity to have a transition,” Turner Sports chief David Levy said during a conference call.
The two companies recently completed the third year of their contract, which televised every game in the tournament for the first time using CBS and three Turner channels — TBS, TNT and truTV. The new model has drawn strong ratings and proved viewers are comfortable finding the games on cable.

Wuerffel, Frazier, Dayne selected for college Hall
NEW YORK — The only time Tommie Frazier and Danny Wuerffel shared the field during their brilliant college careers, Frazier’s Nebraska team trampled Wuerffel and Florida in the 1996 Fiesta Bowl to win the national championship.
Wuerffel and the Gators bounced back from that record-breaking 62-24 smackdown to take the title the next season.
The former quarterbacks will cross paths again in December, when they are inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame.
Wuerffel and Frazier, along with Heisman Trophy winner Ron Dayne, highlighted the latest Hall of Fame class of 12 players and two coaches announced by the National Football Foundation on Tuesday.
The rest of the players to be inducted in Manhattan are: Miami Heisman winner Vinny Testaverde, whose selection was announced Monday; Ted Brown of N.C. State; Tedy Bruschi of Arizona; Jerry Gray of Texas; Steve Meilinger of Kentucky; Orlando Pace of Ohio State; Rod Shoate of Oklahoma; Percy Snow of Michigan State; and Don Trull of Baylor.
The new Hall of Fame coaches are Wayne Hardin, who led Navy and Temple, and Bill McCartney of Colorado.