Mar. 11, 2014 @ 10:53 PM

T.J. Warren was born six months after Hillside High School’s Rodney Rogers won the 1993 ACC player of the year award while playing at Wake Forest.

On Tuesday, Warren joined his fellow Durham native in that select group.

Warren, a former Riverside High player, became the second player from Durham to be named the ACC’s top player when he won player of the year awards in voting by the media and the league coaches.

“It’s a wonderful award,” Warren said. “It wouldn’t be possible without my teammates and coaching staff. They’ve given me a lot of confidence throughout the year.”

A 6-8 sophomore forward, Warren led the ACC in scoring (24.8 points) and field-goal percentage (53.2). He surpassed the 30-point plateau nine times this season, including last week’s games with 41 at Pittsburgh and 42 against Boston College.

Warren received 48 of the 77 votes from the media to easily outdistance Duke’s Jabari Parker, who was second with 25. North Carolina guard Marcus Paige received two votes.

“This is a tremendous honor for T.J.,” N.C. State coach Mark Gottfried said. “The ACC is a great league with many great players. He faced every defense imaginable this year and was still productive almost every single night. This season he has put his name along some of the ACC’s all-time greats and he is certainly deserving. Our program is proud of his accomplishments.”

Parker, a 6-8 freshman forward from Chicago, is second in the ACC in scoring at 19.2 points per game and he leads conference in rebounding at 9.0 per contest.

He was named the league’s freshman of the year by both the media and the coaches on Tuesday. Parker won the ACC’s rookie of the week award a record-tying 10 times while posting a league-best 14 double-doubles this season.

During a news conference on Tuesday, Parker expressed no regret about Warren getting the top overall award.

“I congratulate him,” Parker said. “A player from the Triangle winning it is real big. That just says North Carolina itself produces good players. T.J. is a good guy and I congratulate him. I wasn’t going after it. I was just trying to do my job.”

Parker and Warren were the only unanimous selections to the media’s first-team all-ACC squad.

Because No. 7-ranked Duke (24-7) had a better season than N.C. State (19-12) and is seeded No. 3 for this week’s ACC Tournament compared to the Wolfpack’s No. 7, some voters felt Parker was better suited to be league player of the year.

But Warren won handily, nearly doubling Parker’s vote total in the media balloting. On Tuesday Warren said his teammates were a big reason he won.

“It’s basically a team award,” Warren said. “We put in a lot of work to get better. It’s a tremendous feeling.”

The ACC also announced the coach of the year awards on Tuesday. Virginia’s Tony Bennett won from both the media and coaches. Bennett led the No. 6 Cavaliers (25-6) to their first ACC regular-season championship and No. 1 ACC Tournament seed since 1981.

Bennett garnered 68 votes from the media, while North Carolina’s Roy Williams received six.

Clemson’s K.J. McDaniels was selected as ACC defensive player of the year by both the media and the coaches. McDaniels easily outdistanced Virginia’s Akil Mitchell 39-21 in media voting.

McDaniels, also a first-team All-ACC selection by the media and a second-team pick by the coaches, led the ACC during the regular season with 2.8 blocked shots per game. He also leads Clemson with 1.2 steals per game.