Duke wins NCAA men's lacrosse title

May. 26, 2014 @ 03:29 PM

Duke held off Notre Dame’s furious rally to claim another NCAA men’s lacrosse championship on Monday.

The Blue Devils saw a six-goal, second-half lead shrink to one before defeating the Irish 11-9 at M&T Bank Stadium.

The national title is the second in a row for Duke (17-3) and its third in the last five years.

Myles Jones, Jordan Wolf, Deemer Class and Kyle Keenan all had two goals each for Duke. Jordan Wolf had four assists. His goal at 23.6 seconds left gave Duke an 11-9 lead.

With Notre Dame turning the ball over 10 times in the first half, Duke led 5-1 and intermission and extended the lead to 8-2 in the third quarter.

The Irish, though, reeled off four consecutive goals -- the final two of the third quarter and two more in the fourth -- to pull within 8-6.

Jordan Wolf answered with his second goal of the game for a 3-goal Duke lead. But Notre Dame got goals from John Scioscia at 9:51 and Sergio Perkovic with five minutes left to slice Duke’s lead to 9-8.

Kyle Keenan’s turnover on offense with 3:46 led to Notre Dame’s best chance to tie. But Duke goalie Luke Aaron stopped Jim Marlatt’s attempt with 3:22 left.

Keenan’s goal off a pass from Wolf with 2:39 left gave Duke some breathing room at 10-8.

Perkovic narrowly missed his fifth goal of the game with 1:20 left with when his shot hit the post. Just 11 seconds later, Aaron saved Perkovic’s low bouncing shot to keep the Irish at bay.

With 49.6 seconds to play, Perkovic finally beat Aaron for a goal that left Duke up 10-9.

But Brendan Fowler won the face-off and, after a Duke timeout, Wolf scored and Duke won the title.