Opinion: Columnists

Apr. 10, 2015 @ 06:57 PM

'The Culture War' -- a battle the GOP can't win

The argument is over and conservatives have lost. Some of them just don't know it yet.


Apr. 09, 2015 @ 08:36 AM

When everything is a crime

What began as a trickle has become a stream that could become a cleansing torrent. Criticisms of the overcriminalization of American life might catalyze an appreciation of the toll the administrative state is taking on the criminal justice system, and liberty generally.


Apr. 07, 2015 @ 02:39 PM

Martin: Race and basketball, a transformative moment in 1944

If you just want to read about the incredible basketball game described by Scott Ellsworth in “The Secret Game, A Wartime Story of Courage, Change, and Basketball’s Lost Triumph,” you can skip the first 250 pages. Then you can read about that secret game played in 1944 between a team of all-white college all-stars at the Duke medical school and the North Carolina College for Negroes Eagles.


Apr. 06, 2015 @ 11:24 AM

After 150 years, Dixie is still a place apart

On the day after the surrender at Appomattox Courthouse, Abraham Lincoln appeared at a second-floor window of the White House. He was acceding to the wishes of citizens who had gathered to serenade their president in this moment of victory. They called for a speech but Lincoln demurred. Instead he asked the band to play "Dixie."


Apr. 05, 2015 @ 12:05 PM

Test your baseball knowledge

Visiting a struggling pitcher on the mound, Baltimore Orioles manager Earl Weaver advised, "If you know how to cheat, start now." Be advised that Googling is cheating as you try to identify these.


Apr. 05, 2015 @ 08:50 AM

Providing our daily bread, for real bodies

Workers across North Carolina are organizing for a large event “for 15” on April 15.  The gathering will include women 
who deliver mail, teenage boys who grill hamburgers, young women who grade papers and men who change Depends 
undergarments.  What do we have in common?  We work caring for people’s bodies, souls and minds, and we take our 
jobs seriously.  We take our jobs so seriously that we expect to be treated with dignity at work.  We expect to be treated 
as people, not as tools, because our work demands that we daily treat other human beings with patience.  

Apr. 04, 2015 @ 11:35 PM

Georgia on my mind

According to most economic indicators, North Carolina’s economy is on the upswing. Job growth exceeds the regional and national averages. The state’s recent decline in unemployment -- even when you include discouraged workers who’ve dropped out of the labor force -- is one of the largest in the country.


Apr. 03, 2015 @ 03:03 PM

Thankfully, faith of force and exclusion not the only faith

On Sunday, people all over the world will commemorate the morning an itinerant rabbi, falsely convicted and cruelly executed, stood up and walked out of his own tomb. It is the foundation act for the world's largest faith, a touchstone of hope for over 2 billion people.


Apr. 01, 2015 @ 08:01 PM

The rough math facing Ted Cruz’s candidacy

Texas Sen. Ted Cruz was born in 1970, six years after events refuted a theory on which he is wagering his candidacy. The 1964 theory was that many millions of conservatives abstained from voting because the GOP did not nominate sufficiently deep-dyed conservatives. So if in 1964 the party would choose someone like Arizona Sen. Barry Goldwater, hitherto dormant conservatives would join the electorate in numbers sufficient for victory. 


Mar. 31, 2015 @ 08:33 AM

Where have all the heroes gone?

“Were you a part of the Army that made the Indians leave their homes?”

David, my 5-year-old grandson, had been learning about American Indians in his preschool.


Mar. 30, 2015 @ 12:05 PM

Before 'conversation on race' we need education on race

Am I the only person in America not making fun of Howard Schultz?

The Starbucks CEO bought himself a ton of ridicule recently when he attempted to jumpstart a national dialogue on race by having baristas write the words "Race Together" on customers' cups of Cinnamon Dolce Light Frappuccino Grande or Caffe Misto Venti with extra coconut.


Mar. 29, 2015 @ 04:32 PM

Voters can choose based on remembrance of Clintons past

An abscess of anger seems to gnaw at Hillary Clinton, but the reasons for her resentments remain unclear. The world's oldest party, which governed the nation during two world wars and is the primary architect of America's regulatory and redistributive state, is eager to give her its presidential nomination, in recognition of ... what?


Mar. 28, 2015 @ 07:31 PM

Careful about rule changes for state’s elections

To the extent that Roy Cooper has a reasonable chance of defeating Gov. Pat McCrory for reelection, it’s because many of his fellow Democrats failed in their efforts to change the electoral process in 1980s and early 1990s.


Mar. 28, 2015 @ 06:23 PM

Durham leading way with ‘My Brother’s Keeper’

Last Monday, during my State of the County Address, I spent time reviewing Durham County’s participation in and commitment to “My Brother’s Keeper,” the initiative launched in February 2014 by President Barack Obama.


Mar. 28, 2015 @ 06:05 PM

Stories, journeys of servers part of our restaurant fare

When I first came to town, York and Natasha took me out to area restaurants for dinner.  Usually, we ate simply and locally, sometimes not making it past their gracious table.  If catching a show at Local 506, Cat’s Cradle, The Lincoln or Meymondi Hall, we ventured to eat with our neighbors to the west or our neighbors to the east.