Opinion: Columnists

Jul. 05, 2014 @ 09:28 AM

Patriotism scarce? No, it abounds in many forms

As the Fourth of July, that most patriotic of American holidays, approached last week, Bill O’Reilly and Charles Krauthammer on Fox News ginned up the specter of a patriotism crisis in the country.


Jul. 05, 2014 @ 08:18 PM

The court's indispensable role

Two 5-4 decisions last week on the final decision day of the Supreme Court's term dealt with issues that illustrate the legal consequences of political tactics by today's progressives. One case demonstrated how progressivism's achievement, the regulatory state, manufactures social strife, and can do so in ways politically useful to progressives. The other case arose from government coercion used to conscript unwilling citizens into funding the progressives' party.


Jul. 03, 2014 @ 04:30 PM

Serve a different plate

 As often happens at the North Carolina General Assembly, the new fiscal year has begun with the House and Senate not yet finished with a budget-adjustment bill. Medicaid funding, teacher compensation and a few other issues continue to divide the two chambers.


Mar. 31, 2015 @ 08:33 AM

Where have all the heroes gone?

“Were you a part of the Army that made the Indians leave their homes?”

David, my 5-year-old grandson, had been learning about American Indians in his preschool.


Mar. 30, 2015 @ 12:05 PM

Before 'conversation on race' we need education on race

Am I the only person in America not making fun of Howard Schultz?

The Starbucks CEO bought himself a ton of ridicule recently when he attempted to jumpstart a national dialogue on race by having baristas write the words "Race Together" on customers' cups of Cinnamon Dolce Light Frappuccino Grande or Caffe Misto Venti with extra coconut.


Mar. 29, 2015 @ 04:32 PM

Voters can choose based on remembrance of Clintons past

An abscess of anger seems to gnaw at Hillary Clinton, but the reasons for her resentments remain unclear. The world's oldest party, which governed the nation during two world wars and is the primary architect of America's regulatory and redistributive state, is eager to give her its presidential nomination, in recognition of ... what?


Mar. 28, 2015 @ 07:31 PM

Careful about rule changes for state’s elections

To the extent that Roy Cooper has a reasonable chance of defeating Gov. Pat McCrory for reelection, it’s because many of his fellow Democrats failed in their efforts to change the electoral process in 1980s and early 1990s.


Mar. 28, 2015 @ 06:23 PM

Durham leading way with ‘My Brother’s Keeper’

Last Monday, during my State of the County Address, I spent time reviewing Durham County’s participation in and commitment to “My Brother’s Keeper,” the initiative launched in February 2014 by President Barack Obama.


Mar. 28, 2015 @ 06:05 PM

Stories, journeys of servers part of our restaurant fare

When I first came to town, York and Natasha took me out to area restaurants for dinner.  Usually, we ate simply and locally, sometimes not making it past their gracious table.  If catching a show at Local 506, Cat’s Cradle, The Lincoln or Meymondi Hall, we ventured to eat with our neighbors to the west or our neighbors to the east.


Mar. 28, 2015 @ 05:08 PM

No angry masses, but local efforts to restore social mobility

Driving to work last week, I was struck by a National Public Radio report from China.

Frank Langfitt, the network’s China correspondent, had driven two brothers from Shanghai back to their native village, deep in the countryside.  A theme of the piece was that both brothers, reared on a small farm where their parents still lived and where an outhouse was the toilet facility, had become successful lawyers in Shanghai.


Mar. 24, 2015 @ 10:20 AM

Martin: My trip to Norlina

Come on and go to Norlina with me!


Mar. 23, 2015 @ 10:51 AM

I've got your back, Ashley Judd!

Dear Ashley Judd:

I guess this is a fan letter, though it is not written in praise of your work in movies like "Insurgent," "Divergent" or "Tooth Fairy." Rather, it's in response to the headlines you made last week when you called out Internet trolls who defamed you as a "b---h," a "whore," and a "c---" and threatened you with rape after you tweeted an opinion about an SEC basketball tournament.


Mar. 22, 2015 @ 03:34 PM

Social inequality's roots are steadily deepening

The rate of dog ownership is rising ominously. How can a profusion of puppies be worrisome? A report from the Raymond James financial services firm concerning trends in the housing market explains: Increasing numbers of women "are adopting dogs for security and/or companionship," partly because of "the great education divide."


Mar. 21, 2015 @ 11:27 PM

NCAE, DAE working for future of schools

As we gear up once again for a General Assembly session filled with subtle, and not-so-subtle, attacks on North Carolina’s public schools, we’ve already begun to see subtle, and not-so-subtle, attacks on the North Carolina Association of Educators.  The truth is that the conservative majority in the General Assembly is as wrong about NCAE as it is about the future of our public schools.   We want the Durham community to know what NCAE, through the local Durham Association of Educators branch, is actually about. 


Mar. 21, 2015 @ 03:49 PM

The evil and the good of Greek gods and ‘Greek’ life

Athena was the Greek goddess of war and wisdom, or, some would say, the embodiment of both evil and good.