Opinion: Letters

Dec. 10, 2014 @ 01:20 AM

Letters to the Editor, Dec 10

  • What a gift
  • Merry Christmas

Dec. 08, 2014 @ 02:09 PM

Letters to the Editor, Dec. 9

  • Red herrings on immigration
  • Don’t hype global-warming data

Dec. 07, 2014 @ 02:38 PM

Letters to the Editor, Dec. 8

  • America truly exceptional
  • Don’t hype global-warming data
  • Empathy for immigrants appreciated

Dec. 05, 2014 @ 01:01 PM

Letters to the editor, December 6

Concentrating the mind

I once worked for a private company that had a policy I thought was a bit harsh.    If you as a manager have an employee that dies in a work-related accident, you are fired with no questions asked.  It might be harsh, but it concentrates the mind.  My managers were in my workplace and stopped any unsafe practice I had.  They wanted to keep their job.


Dec. 04, 2014 @ 12:36 PM

Letters to the editor, December 5

Remember that ‘Golden Rule’?

Yesterday, as part of the Moral Monday oral history project, I interviewed someone who followed her conscience last year.  She was among some 950 of us who attempted to petition our legislators at the N.C. General Assembly for redress of grievances and were arrested.  I was struck particularly by one thing she told me during the interview: She had been stunned and dismayed, not only by the measures passed by our legislature, but also by the attitude of many legislators:  one of contempt for those less fortunate and willingness to “bully” them.  She believes, as do I, that most problems we have would be solvable if only people would view one another as equals, as fellow humans, and treat one another accordingly.


Dec. 03, 2014 @ 03:09 PM

Letters to the Editor, Dec. 7

  • Don’t reinforce ‘otherness’
  • Whistleblowers beware
  • Help ensure women’s safety

Dec. 03, 2014 @ 10:37 AM

Letters to the editor, December 4

Better judgment needed

This is in reply to the letter "Durham cycling deaths avoidable" (Nov. 30), also other letters about bicycling injuries and fatalities in Durham.  In Boulder, Colorado, I rode my bike to and from work; so I'm sympathetic to cyclists.  Nevertheless, I raise my eyebrows when I hear about horrible bike accidents on Hillandale Road, Roxboro Street, other busy thoroughfares, some after dark.


Dec. 02, 2014 @ 10:50 AM

Letters to the editor, December 3

In Tuesday’s article “N.C. school board hears about new take on U.S. history,” Larry Krieger strenuously objects to teaching that America “is as good and bad as other countries around the world,” and calls for teaching that America is “exceptional.”

 


Dec. 01, 2014 @ 10:53 AM

Letters to the editor, December 2

Although the verdict was what I expected, I think the way the announcement was made must also be considered in this case and in future cases.

 


Nov. 30, 2014 @ 02:32 PM

Letters to the Editor, Dec. 1

  • Hold players accountable
  • The reality of ice
  • Lincoln, Gruber and Burke

Nov. 29, 2014 @ 08:09 AM

Letters to the Editor, Nov. 30

  • Revise ozone limit
  • Incompetence on immigration
  • Cycling deaths avoidable

Nov. 28, 2014 @ 10:57 AM

Letters to the Editor, Nov. 29

  • The reality of ice
  • Another side of the story
  • Abraham Lincoln, Jonathan Gruber and Doris Burke

Nov. 27, 2014 @ 12:28 PM

Letters to the editor, November 28

Stop blaming the police

I am tired of the black community demonstrating because their neighborhoods are overrun with crime, then when a white officer shoots and kills a black person they clam up and won’t tell the truth except behind closed doors and promise of anonymity.  In the news conference when the grand jury verdict was revealed, it was asked if the ones that changed their story that backed up the white officer’s story were black.


Nov. 26, 2014 @ 03:34 PM

No winners here

This is truly a sad case and there are no winners. Not only do my prayers go out to the Brown family but my prayers and support go out to Officer Darren Wilson as well during this time.


Nov. 25, 2014 @ 01:16 PM

Letters to the editor, November 26

Reflect on your roots

 

The president recently enacted limited immigration reform via executive action, much like Presidents Reagan and Bush 41 did before him.  Those nervous over undocumented Hispanics need to reflect on our history and their own roots.