Opinion: Guest Columnists

Aug. 22, 2014 @ 08:46 AM

Rising STARS

Stacy Parker-Fisher of the Oak Foundation in Chapel Hill says it all started with this premise, “What if you took a public university system and you made it welcoming for students with learning differences?”


Nov. 26, 2014 @ 11:32 PM

Gratitude, a recipe to calm our fears

We are celebrating Thanksgiving Day when there is fear all around. There is so much going on in our world, our country and our lives that causes us to be afraid.


Nov. 22, 2014 @ 11:49 PM

‘With success comes growth, with growth comes success’

For more than half a century, Durham Tech has worked to educate and train residents of Durham and Orange counties with the knowledge and skills necessary to compete in today’s competitive global economy. For the past five years, the college’s work has been guided by a strategic plan that involved visioning and values, guiding principles and strategic initiatives, captured in the mission statement: Durham Technical Community College’s mission is to enrich students’ lives and the greater community through teaching, learning, and service.


Nov. 22, 2014 @ 05:27 PM

Our kids are downing energy drinks at an alarming rate

As North Carolina begins its beloved college basketball season, fans of Duke, UNC and N. C. State can rest assured that the NCAA has done its due diligence to protect college athletes by restricting their caffeine use. However, a similar protection is missing for more than 19,000 North Carolina high school athletes beginning their basketball games this month.  


Nov. 22, 2014 @ 04:51 PM

Hyperventilating over UNC scandal is out of proportion

On the editorial pages of The Herald-Sun I have seen the money in big-time college sports described as an “ocean of revenue” and UNC’s recent athletic scandal as part of the “swamp of today’s academic-athletic complex.” If you look close enough that ocean looks more like a quiet pond and that swamp just a dewy lawn.


Nov. 22, 2014 @ 11:50 AM

Easy way to stop Obama's order

Republicans are apoplectic about the possibility of President Barack Obama issuing an executive order on immigration, and understandably so. Their ability to stop him -- and get much of what they want -- rests right under their noses.


Nov. 21, 2014 @ 11:42 AM

You Decide: What’s happening to the middle class?

By Mike Walden

North Carolina Cooperative Extension

 

During the campaigns leading up to the recent elections, we heard a lot about the middle class. Many – if not most – candidates tailored their messages and promises to helping those in the middle class improve their lives.


Nov. 15, 2014 @ 07:44 AM

Proposing an agenda for our state’s new leaders

It’s one of the great conundrums of modern society: All around us, images of wealth, comfort, individual freedom and swiftly advancing technology tell a story of promise and progress. For millions and millions of people, life really is safer, freer, healthier and wealthier than ever before. And yet, as nearly all of us can sense, something is clearly amiss in this picture.


Nov. 13, 2014 @ 09:17 AM

Berlin’s evolution in the 25 years since fall of the Wall

This month marks the 25th anniversary of the collapse of the Berlin Wall. In that time, Berlin has become a vibrant, cultural and political powerhouse, going through rigorous reconstruction while simultaneously incorporating the city’s dark history.


Nov. 12, 2014 @ 12:04 AM

Best election pollster in North Carolina was…

Polling, it is said, is more of an art than a science. Pollsters are among the first to say this — particularly when the products, causes or candidates they project to succeed fall flat. When their predictions turn out to be on the mark, however, pollsters hope you picture them with pocket protectors instead of palettes.


Nov. 11, 2014 @ 11:17 PM

Health is a human right: A reflection on the Global Day of Action

People joke about surviving their first year of college. For me, surviving was an actual accomplishment. Within 24 hours, I went from playing Frisbee outside on an unseasonably warm January day, to lying in the ICU of Duke Hospital, receiving liter after liter of fluids to protect my organs from septic shock.


Nov. 08, 2014 @ 07:41 PM

Pope’s compassion antidote to self-styled ‘values’ lobbies

It has not been uncommon in Southern politics to see and hear candidates and self-styled “values” lobbies present themselves as the last ditch defenders of Bible, family and nation.


Nov. 08, 2014 @ 06:56 PM

NCCU celebrates the 75th anniversary of law, graduate schools

When Thomas Hocutt, a graduate of North Carolina College (NCC) for Negroes, applied for admission to the School of Pharmacy at the University of North Carolina (at Chapel Hill in 1933, it marked the first time that an African American had sought to matriculate at a white university in the South since Reconstruction. In North Carolina, segregation governed all aspects of life, and the U.S. Supreme Court's Plessy v. Ferguson decision of 1896 -- which called for "separate but equal" -- was the law of the land.


Nov. 05, 2014 @ 11:18 PM

Myths and realities about America’s rising generations

I’ll get to the point: Our younger generation is lazy, ungrateful and spoiled. When I was growing up, our country valued ideals like hard work and community service. These days it seems like younger people don’t even care about contributing to the nation as a whole, let alone dedicating themselves to improving society.


Nov. 01, 2014 @ 08:50 AM

In defense of practice of democracy in North Carolina

Recently my wife, Carlisle, and I took a trip to Scotland. Having been a Presbyterian pastor for almost 50 years, it seemed fitting to visit the birthplace of Presbyterianism.

It was a marvelous experience which put us in touch with the roots of our faith tradition.