Opinion: Guest Columnists

Aug. 22, 2014 @ 08:46 AM

Rising STARS

Stacy Parker-Fisher of the Oak Foundation in Chapel Hill says it all started with this premise, “What if you took a public university system and you made it welcoming for students with learning differences?”


Oct. 20, 2014 @ 10:48 AM

Do you trust your government on Ebola?

As I write this column, two health care workers in Dallas have come down with Ebola after treating Thomas Eric Duncan, who traveled from West Africa and died from the disease. By the time you read it, there will most likely be more cases.

Still, there's no need for panic.


Oct. 18, 2014 @ 09:08 AM

Closing the resource gap for immigrant school children

The national and local news has been featuring stories about the challenge of serving immigrant children in our communities.  Durham is not alone in facing this challenge.  Last spring Durham began to see an influx of unaccompanied minors, so it is not a surprise to see them in our schools.


Oct. 18, 2014 @ 08:46 AM

Congressman – and patrons – elevated library in community

Thank you, Durham community!

The outpouring of community support during the Durham Reads Together kickoff weekend (Oct. 4-5) was simply amazing! In my 23 years of library service, no other moment compares. 


Oct. 18, 2014 @ 08:19 AM

Pursuit of knowledge can be tricky, especially in medicine

A few months ago, I received a phone call from a family member asking me for medical advice about closed-angle glaucoma. I recently had a few lectures about the topic, so I could answer the straightforward questions.

Apparently, word spread quickly that I was sharing my nascent medical knowledge, and a few weeks later, I received another call from my aunt who wanted to discuss the “multiple spots” detected in a recent head MRI. I immediately tensed up; I was scared.


Oct. 17, 2014 @ 11:51 AM

With gun in the mix, mental illness turns to tragedy

Colby Sue Weathers killed her father at the insistence of the voices in her head.

 

Oct. 16, 2014 @ 12:04 PM

Second chance on Medicaid expansion

North Carolina passed up a good deal in 2013, but it can regain a lost opportunity.


Oct. 11, 2014 @ 10:06 AM

You can do your part against seniors’ risk of hunger

Over five million older Americans are at risk of hunger, and each day millions of older adults must choose between buying groceries or the medicine they need. This is a devastating choice that no one should have to make.


Oct. 11, 2014 @ 12:08 AM

Important efforts underway to transform food system

I keep hearing, “If we can’t do it in Durham, it can’t be done.”  

This statement is grounded in the fact that Durham has a wealth of resources, a strong economy, passionate and brilliant leaders, and hundreds of organizations and individuals committed to building a healthier community.


Oct. 09, 2014 @ 01:13 AM

Together youth can sway the vote

As we wander through the maze of political TV ads and lawn signs, radio spots and phone calls leading up to Election Day, it's nearly impossible not to shake our heads and wonder if it’s really worth it. I’m a political organizer, and trust me when I say the doubt that it makes a difference -- that things can change -- is never further than my own shadow.


Oct. 08, 2014 @ 09:35 AM

Grey Stone: Children’s well-being a priority

In response to Sunday’s story about the Legacy Child Enrichment Center at Grey Stone Church, I want to provide some facts that were missing and assure the community that the safety and well-being of children are our top priority.


Oct. 07, 2014 @ 11:34 PM

Welcoming ‘border children’ – it’s restorative justice

Recently, officials in some of our North Carolina counties have made proclamations discouraging newly arrived Central American children from attending their schools and clinics.  In contrast, Durham Public Schools and county officials are taking steps to meet the newcomers’ special educational, social and emotional needs (The Herald Sun news article, Gregory Childress, Sept. 16.).

We in Durham could not be prouder!


Oct. 05, 2014 @ 01:34 PM

Medical examiner reform a pressing priority

When young football player Evan Raines died last year during practice at Seventy First High School, his family had to wait more than a year to find out why.


Oct. 04, 2014 @ 02:53 PM

Challenge to black college students

Over the past couple of months the latest craze on the Internet has been the ice bucket challenge. The challenge, which was originally started to bring awareness to ALS, has since morphed  into a platform to bring attention to a plethora of other social issues.

It is in this spirit that I would like to issue a challenge to our African American college students, especially those on historically black college and university  campuses such as North Carolina Central University. 


Oct. 02, 2014 @ 11:10 PM

Give public opinion polls a college try

The first and only time I ever helped take a political survey was during my undergraduate days at the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill back in the 1980s. I was one of many journalism students who made phone calls on behalf of the Carolina Poll, a regular survey of North Carolinians on political and social topics.