Opinion: Editorials

Jul. 14, 2014 @ 04:49 PM

Keep Wright School

The Wright School, a nationally recognized residential program for children with serious emotional and behavioral disorders, must be growing weary of its near-death experiences.


Jul. 13, 2014 @ 04:55 PM

Preserving a presence

The story of the E.K. Powe oak tree seems so quintessentially Durham – in a very good way – that it is worth celebrating.


Jul. 12, 2014 @ 02:46 PM

Budget brinkmanship

North Carolina state government is entering the third week of the new fiscal year, and still our legislators have been unable to come up with the budget revisions that are the principal reason for the short legislative session that began in May.


Jul. 11, 2014 @ 11:17 PM

Durham ready to shine with the All-Stars

The All-Star game is coming to town, with festivities related to the game getting underway today.


Jul. 10, 2014 @ 05:29 PM

Tackling truancy

If it was sobering to learn from a recent report that Durham Public Schools had five high schools and two middle schools with attendance rates in the bottom 10 percent of the state’s schools, it is at least encouraging to read of the steps the district is taking to address the issue.


Jul. 09, 2014 @ 10:05 PM

Senseless deaths

The indictment of a mother in the accidental death of her son this week was a grim reminder of a point we have made before, quite possibly with what may seem like tedious repetition.


Jul. 08, 2014 @ 06:57 PM

A slippery personnel slope

Some members of a union representing city employees have leveled charges that two recent dismissals were discriminatory and reflected a pattern of “promotions, pay raises and disciplinary actions that disproportionately affects black city worker employees within many city departments.”


Jul. 08, 2014 @ 12:26 AM

Schools’ pivotal moment

When the Durham Public School board was sworn in for a new term Monday, with three new faces around the table, board Chairwoman Heidi Carter observed that "we are well-poised to meet our challenges."


Jul. 07, 2014 @ 06:27 PM

Schools’ pivotal moment

When the Durham Public School board was sworn in for a new term Monday, with three new faces around the table, board Chairwoman Heidi Carter observed that "we are well-poised to meet our challenges."

After several tumultuous months, that appears to be encouragingly true.


Jul. 07, 2014 @ 07:51 AM

Reading John Lewis

Durham Reads’ selection of John Lewis’ graphic novel, “March: Book One” seems especially appropriate for this time and place.


Jul. 05, 2014 @ 09:17 AM

New life for Lakewood

By August, the Scrap Exchange expects to be in its new home at 2050 Chapel Hill Road, in the Lakewood Shopping Center.


Jul. 04, 2014 @ 02:45 PM

Murray's legacy

There’s a bumper sticker you see now and then that says, “Well behaved women rarely make history.” Civil and womens’ rights pioneer Pauli Murray would likely concur.


Jul. 03, 2014 @ 06:09 PM

A declaration’s legacy

“We, therefore, the Representatives of the united States of America, in General Congress, Assembled, appealing to the Supreme Judge of the world for the rectitude of our intentions, do, in the Name, and by Authority of the good People of these Colonies, solemnly publish and declare, That these United Colonies are, and of Right ought to be Free and Independent States; that they are Absolved from all Allegiance to the British Crown, and that all political connection between them and the State of Great Britain, is and ought to be totally disolved; and that as Free and Independent States, they have full Power to levy War, conclude Peace, contract Alliances, establish Commerce, and to do all other Acts and Things which Independent States may of right do. And for the support of this Declaration, with a firm reliance on the protection of divine Providence, we mutually pledge to each other our Lives, our Fortunes and our sacred Honor.”


Jul. 02, 2014 @ 06:31 PM

Enjoy – and protect – the Eno

In the late 1960s and early ’70s, the Eno River Association recalls in the history on its website, “the wild, picturesque and historic Eno River was threatened: The city of Durham planned to dam the river and create a new reservoir for its growing population. The Eno had already been used as a water supply for the city once before at the turn of the century. The City Council now viewed damming the river as not only possible but also inevitable.”


Jul. 01, 2014 @ 04:45 PM

An innovative partnership

A couple days ago, we applauded efforts by Durham Technical Community College to respond to the often challenging financial realities many of its students face, with free bus passes and even a food pantry.