Opinion: Editorials View All »

Apr. 15, 2014 @ 05:06 PM

A delicate balance

The Durham Public Schools board has given a clearer indication of a question many have pondered since Eric Becoats resigned in December – will this board choose his successor, or the board that takes office after the May 6 election?



Opinion: Letters View All »

Apr. 15, 2014 @ 10:59 AM

Letters to the Editor, April 16

  • Seeking sterilization victims
  • Look at other countries


Columnist: Bob Ashley View All »

Apr. 12, 2014 @ 03:57 PM

Are we skimming through life on digital brains?

As the “Here and Now” transcript puts it, “With digital devices, we are constantly consuming information, from short tweets and text messages to online articles and blog posts. We jump around, skimming and scanning.”

These are not just quirks. Our brains may, neuroscientists are finding, be adopting new processes. The change may be making it more difficult for us to read closely and absorb lengthy or complex material closely.



Columnist: Rick Bean View All »

Aug. 24, 2013 @ 10:44 PM

Education’s a priority? Numbers suggest otherwise

Sometimes it’s laughable when a politician talks one thing and then does the  opposite. We see it all the time, yet we seem never to stop being surprised.



Columnist: Tina Dupuy View All »

Sep. 29, 2013 @ 01:11 PM

Journalism should be a viable career for all backgrounds

I am a nationally syndicated op-ed columnist. My column runs, I'm told, in nearly 90 newspapers each week and it just turned two years old. You might assume this means I went to journalism school, started at a paper and worked my way up. You might assume I'm a product of a Washington Think Tank. You might also assume I'm part of the media elite.

You would be wrong on all counts.



Columnist: Chris Fitzsimon View All »

Mar. 15, 2014 @ 04:54 PM

Burr’s shameful stonewalling on court seat

There has never been an African-American judge on the United States District Court for the Eastern District of North Carolina and for some reason Senator Richard Burr seems intent on keeping it that way.



Columnist: John Hood View All »

Apr. 13, 2014 @ 11:07 AM

FCC should let markets work

In February, Federal Communications Chairman Tom Wheeler declared that the North Carolina General Assembly had no authority to determine telecommunications policy in North Carolina.

Well, okay, Wheeler didn’t single North Carolina out for particular scorn. 



Columnist: Charles Krauthammer View All »

Oct. 20, 2013 @ 12:07 PM

Redskins, reason and evolving words

In the matter of the (Washington) Redskins.

I don't like being lectured by sportscasters about ethnic sensitivity. Or advised by the president of the United States about changing team names. Or blackmailed by tribal leaders playing the race card.



Columnist: DG Martin View All »

Apr. 15, 2014 @ 10:41 AM

Saying thanks is not enough

We say, “Thanks for your service,” when we met veterans of the wars in Afghanistan or Iraq veterans.

They can be forgiven if they think “Thanks for your service” is an incomplete thank you, an insincere and hollow expression, showing a lack of understanding and real appreciation of what these men and women had been through.



Columnist: Dana Milbank View All »

Nov. 01, 2013 @ 12:08 PM

A human face for drone victims

From Washington, the drone-warfare program looks almost aseptic: Remote-controlled aircraft fire with precision on targets half a world away.

But on Tuesday, this anonymous form of warfare assumed a name and a face: that of 9-year-old Nibila ur Rehman, who, along with her father and older brother, came all the way from Pakistan's tribal region to talk about the drone strike that killed her grandmother a year ago.



Columnist: Kathleen Parker View All »

Nov. 03, 2013 @ 01:37 PM

Advice columnist to GOP

Ms. Know-It-All, the anonymous political advice columnist whose identity remains a popular Georgetown cocktail party guessing game, is also known to live up to her title now and then. Herewith a correspondence worth sharing.



Columnist: Leonard Pitts View All »

Apr. 14, 2014 @ 02:25 PM

...and this is Overkill News Network

Please, for the love of Cronkite: Give us a break from the missing plane. Yes, we all wonder what happened to it. Yes, our hearts go out to the families seeking resolution. But really, CNN ... enough. Put your hands up and step away from the story.



Columnist: Michael Reagan View All »

May. 24, 2013 @ 01:50 PM

Reagan: Weather beyond Washington’s power to control

Yesterday I read an interesting article in Newsweek about the connection between tornadoes and climate change.

Newsweek's story explained how top climate scientists were concerned about several ominous and fundamental changes occurring in Earth's weather patterns.



Columnist: Eugene Robinson View All »

Oct. 29, 2013 @ 11:20 AM

The out-of-control NSA

Let's get this straight: The National Security Agency snooped on the cellphone conversations of German Chancellor Angela Merkel? Perhaps for as long as a decade? And President Obama didn't know a thing about it?



Columnist: Mike Walden View All »

Apr. 12, 2014 @ 11:12 AM

More sunny or cloudy days ahead for the economy?

Economists love numbers -- some might call it an occupational hazard. Numbers are our window into the workings of the economy. Without numbers, we’d have a difficult time understanding how the economy is changing, both in positive and negative ways.



Columnist: George Will View All »

Apr. 12, 2014 @ 11:35 PM

A counter for hysterics in Michigan

Robert Griffin, now 90, who rose to be second in the Republican U.S. Senate leadership, was defeated in 1978. Since then, only one Michigan Republican, Spencer Abraham in 1994, has been elected to the Senate and for only one term. Evidence that former Michigan Secretary of State Terri Lynn Land might end this GOP drought is that Democrats are attacking her for opposing "preventive health care."



Opinion: Guest Columnists View All »

Apr. 12, 2014 @ 10:36 PM

Dissatisfaction with Common Core State Standards crosses political lines

Strange bedfellows – two words that may come to mind when considering the growing opposition movement to the Common Core State Standards (CCSS) that is taking place not only in North Carolina, but also across the nation.