Opinion: Editorials View All »

Jan. 28, 2015 @ 11:19 PM

Good news from Google

For years, tech users and businesses have lamented that the United States lags behind many industrialized countries in the speed of its Internet connections.

That has been changing as Internet service providers have been led and prodded by Google’s ambitious plans, seemingly to stand astride the modern information highway like an ancient Colossus.



Opinion: Letters View All »

Jan. 29, 2015 @ 11:22 AM

Letters to the Editor, Jan. 30

  • Solar smart for schools
  • Where are you, Time-Warner?
  • Follow the rules


Columnist: Bob Ashley View All »

Jan. 10, 2015 @ 10:47 PM

Reflecting on changing area paper has called home

I’ve noted before that The Herald-Sun is about to hang its shingle in new quarters this month. As I write this mid-week, we’re on the very cusp of that move. When you read this, if all has gone well, we’ll be in our new digs – although it may be another day or so.



Columnist: Rick Bean View All »

May. 17, 2014 @ 03:21 PM

Learning about passion from a life infused with it

Passion is more than an underrated word. It's an underrated way of life.

Nearly 40 years ago I met a community leader who would have a lasting impact on my life. He didn't know it then and neither did I. His name was Chuck.



Columnist: Chris Fitzsimon View All »

Jan. 17, 2015 @ 08:54 AM

Three leaders, but how many agendas?

One of the most interesting moments of the 2014 legislative session came in front of the Executive Mansion late last June, when Gov.Pat McCrory and House Speaker Thom Tillis appeared together with education advocates at a rally to tout a new teacher pay raise proposal that differed sharply from the plan the Senate was pushing.



Columnist: John Hood View All »

Jan. 17, 2015 @ 10:36 AM

UNC-Chapel Hill policy draws lawsuit

Another wave of bad publicity and legal questions isn’t what the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill needs. But that’s exactly what the school is getting, thanks to its longstanding and troubling use of race as a major factor in admissions.



Columnist: DG Martin View All »

Jan. 27, 2015 @ 10:10 PM

An adult learning to read? Like learning new language

One of my favorite annual events in our community is the Writers for Readers Book & Author celebration sponsored by Orange Literacy, the organization that brings the gift of reading ability each year to hundreds of the thousands of people in our community who can’t read.



Columnist: Leonard Pitts View All »

Jan. 26, 2015 @ 01:01 PM

Why serious people discount Fox News

Tucker Carlson said on Fox that more children die of bathtub drownings than of accidental shootings. They don't.



Columnist: Mike Walden View All »

Jan. 10, 2015 @ 11:20 PM

Building infrastructure – pay me now or pay me later?

My wife recently bought a new car. Well, not exactly “new new,” but “newly used.”  Some experts say this is the best way to purchase vehicles because you get an almost-new car without paying for the excessive depreciation that occurs when a brand-new car is driven off the lot.



Columnist: George Will View All »

Jan. 28, 2015 @ 08:23 PM

Bud Selig's winning legacy

The business of baseball and the nation's business used to be conducted in Washington with similar skill. The Washington Senators were run by Clark Griffith, who said: "Fans like home runs, and we have assembled a pitching staff to please our fans." Today, however, Washington's team is a model of best practices. The government? Less so.



Columnist: Tom Campbell View All »

Jan. 01, 2015 @ 05:53 PM

15 Tar Heels to watch in the year ahead

No matter how good the crystal ball, it is impossible to predict what will happen in 2015. Perhaps it will be easier to identify the people likely to either make or respond to North Carolina news events.



Columnist: Amy Laura Hall View All »

Jan. 05, 2015 @ 07:44 AM

Reflecting on the 11th day of Christmas

I have written posts for The Herald-Sun against surveillance cameras, online classes, virtual sex and preaching by remote.   Putting cameras on police helmets is also a bad idea.  Durham should not be a city of alienated strangers. There are many arguments against turning people into automated enforcers of order.  This is a Christian one.



Columnist: Rob Schofield View All »

Nov. 29, 2014 @ 07:58 AM

GOP has a golden opportunity during the lame duck session

What will the new political year in Washington bring? According to some analysts, the new GOP congressional majorities tilt more toward “the establishment” and away from the Tea Party wing. According to others, however, the new majorities are the starter’s signal for a full-fledged campaign to “repeal” the Obama presidency and even impeach the President himself.



Opinion: Guest Columnists View All »

Jan. 29, 2015 @ 10:11 AM

Making the guarantee of Roe v. Wade a reality for all

This January marks the 42nd anniversary of Roe v. Wade, the historic U.S. Supreme Court decision in which the Court established that the constitutional right to privacy encompasses the right to choose whether to end a pregnancy. Each year around this time, we reflect on how the decision dramatically bolstered women’s health and dignity. But too often we overlook the reality that the legal “right” to abortion care is meaningless if it’s been restricted to the point that it’s out of reach.