Cianciolo joins Chapel Hill council race

Jul. 11, 2013 @ 05:07 PM

George Cianciolo, long rumored to be in the hunt for a Town Council seat, made it official Thursday.

Last year, Cianciolo, a co-chair of the Chapel Hill 2020 process, was considered a leading candidate for a council vacancy created when former councilwoman Penny Rich was elected to the Orange County Board of Commissioners.
But Cianciolo stepped aside after learning that Sally Greene, a former councilwoman, was also seeking appointment to the vacant seat.
He agreed with some town leaders that the appointment should go to a woman to balance a nine-member council that already had six men serving.
The council eventually appointed Greene who is now serving out the remainder of Rich’s term and who has filed for election to the council.
So far, including Cianciolo and Greene, six residents have filed for election to four council seats up for grabs in November.
The other candidates are Gary Kahn, Maria T. Palmer, Paul Neebe and Mayor Pro Tem Ed Harrison.
Mayor Mark Kleinschmidt has also filed for re-election.
The council is assured of at least two new members because Gene Pease and Laurin Easthom are not seeking re-election.
In other Orange County races, James Barrett, an incumbent member of the Chapel Hill-Carrboro City Schools Board of Education – which has three seats in play, filed Friday to run again.
Michelle Brownstein, an incumbent and the board’s chairwoman, joined the school board race Monday.
In Hillsborough, incumbent Mayor Tom Stevens has filed to run again, while Jenn Weaver filed for one of two open seats on the Town Commission.
In Carrboro, N.C. Central University law professor and Board of Aldermen member Lydia Lavelle filed to replace outgoing Mayor Mark Chilton.
Incumbents Randee Haven-O’Donnell, Jacquelyn Gist and Sammy Slade have filed to return as aldermen, with a third seat left to fill and no immediate opposition.
And in Mebane, incumbents Ed Hooks and Tim Bradley filed for election seeking two of the three open council seats.
The filing period ends July 19 at noon.