New members to join school board

Jul. 06, 2014 @ 06:33 PM

The school board will welcome three new members to the board Monday during its organization meeting.
The trio of new members – Sendolo Diaminah, Mike Lee and Matt Sears – will be sworn in and the school board will elect leaders for the coming year.
The meeting is scheduled to start at 11a.m., in the Fuller Administration Building on Cleveland Street.
School board Vice Chairwoman Minnie Forte-Brown doesn’t expect change at the top of the board’s leadership, but said new members would likely take some committee leadership roles.
“We will certainly use their talent,” Forte-Brown said of the members coming on board Monday. “We are fortunate to have such talent come to the board.
Heidi Carter would remain chairwoman of the school board and Forte-Brown would keep her post as vice chairwoman if Forte-Brown’s prediction is correct about the board’s top leaders remaining in place.
At least two committee chairmanships will need to be filled with the departures of Nancy Cox and Omega Curtis Parker.
Cox, who did not seek re-election in May, and Parker, who lost her re-election bid, chaired the Instructional Services Committee and Support Services Committee, respectively.
School board member Natalie Beyer chairs the board’s Administrative Services Committee.
In addition to Cox and Parker, School board member Fredrick Davis is also leaving the board. Like Cox, Davis did not seek re-election in the May election.
The addition of new board members comes as the school district prepares to welcome a new superintendent.
The board has hired Bert L’Homme, superintendent of schools for the Archdiocese of Washington, D.C., to be the next superintendent of Durham Public Schools.
L’Homme, a former DPS administrator, will begin work here July 14.
His contract extends to June 30, 2018.