Duke, UNC represented on Hornung list

Jul. 07, 2014 @ 09:40 AM

Duke's Jamison Crowder and DeVon Edwards, along with Ryan Switzer and T.J. Logan of North Carolina, are on the watch list for the Paul Hornung Award, the Louisville Sports Commission announced Monday.

The Hornung Award is given annually to the most versatile player in the Football Bowl Subdivision. It is named after Hornung, the former Notre Dame and Green Bay Packers star player. LSU's Odell Beckham, Jr., now with the New York Giants after being drafted in the first round in May, won the 2013 Hornung Award.

Crowder, Edwards, Switzer and Logan are among 47 players on the preseason watch list. Duke and UNC are among only four programs to have two players on the list. Nebraska and Pittsburgh are the others.

Crowder, a senior wide receiver, caught 108 passes for 1,360 yards and eight touchdowns as the Blue Devils went 10-4 last season. He also averaged 16 yards per punt return, bringing two back for touchdowns.

Edwards, a redshirt sophomore defensive back, averaged 30.2 yards per kick return, scoring two touchdowns on kickoffs. He also returned two interceptions for touchdowns.

Switzer caught 32 passes for UNC as a freshman last season, gaining 341 yards and scoring three touchdowns. In the return game, he brought five punts back for touchdowns while averaging 20.9 yards per attempt.

Logan played in nine games as a freshman in 2013, rushing for 545 yards and four touchdowns. He returned 19 kickoffs, scoring two touchdowns and averaging 26.9 yards per attempt.

East Carolina was also represented on the Hornung Award list with Justin Hardy's inclusion.