A.B. Duke scholarships awarded

May. 07, 2014 @ 03:15 PM

Duke University has selected 19 incoming freshmen to receive the Angier B. Duke Memorial Scholarship for undergraduate studies.

The A.B. Duke scholarships provide full tuition, room and board and mandatory fees for four years, as well as a six-week summer study program at the University of Oxford in England. Scholars are also offered up to $5,000 for research or other educational enrichment programs. Based on estimated tuition rates, a scholarship will be worth more than $250,000 to a student over a four-year period.

This year's winners are:

  • Eva Elizabeth Arroyo of Elgin, Texas
  • Suman Bajgain of Kathmandu, Nepal
  • Carly Noel Bandt of Shoreview, Minnesota
  • Tristan Henri Bouan of Bretagne, France
  • Joseph Patrick Branson of Madison, Mississippi
  • Elizabeth Anne Brown of Birmingham, Alabama
  • Lauren Kelly Bunce of Miami, Florida
  • Kelly Jane Cochran of Odessa, Florida
  • Devavrat Vivek Dabke, of Avon, Connecticut 
  • Caroline Lydia Fernelius of Sugar Land, Texas
  • Aakash Jain of Scottsdale, Arizona
  • Michael Jacob Kiffel of Boca Raton, Florida
  • Sarina P. Madhavan of Katy, Texas
  • Thabit Farrukh Pulak of Richardson, Texas
  • Aaron Balazs Rimanyi of Chapel Hill
  • Sarah Sibley of Denver, Colorado
  • Meghana Kasturi Vagwala of Grafton, Massachusetts
  • Amy Jaclyn Vitha of Valley Stream, New York
  • Luke Pace Whitten of Dallas, Texas