C.W. Stanford named School to Watch

Mar. 31, 2014 @ 10:33 AM

C.W. Stanford Middle school is one of two in the state designated Schools to Watch for 2014.

The middle school was given the honor by the National Forum to Accelerate Middle Grades Reform and recognizes the school’s emphasis on strong academics, sensitivity to young adolescents’ needs and interests and commitment to equal access to a high quality education.
“This is a great honor,” said C.W. Stanford Principal Anne Purcell. “Our teachers set high goals and expectations for all of our students and work hard each day to help them reach those goals and expectations.
“We want our students to be successful as they move into high school and beyond,” she continued. “We are truly honored to earn this distinction and be a School to Watch.”
C.W. Stanford was given the designation along with Mount Airy Middle School this year and is one of 45 schools honored since the program was replicated in North Carolina in 2002.
A.L. Stanback Middle was designated a School to Watch in 2013.
Only 400 schools across the nation have been recognized since the program was implemented nationally in 1999.
“Again, this shows that the principals, teachers, and staff are committed to excellence,” said Orange County Superintendent Gerri Martin. “Congratulations to everyone at C.W. Stanford. I know they have worked tirelessly, and they deserve this great honor.”
N.C. was chosen by the National Forum to Accelerate Middle Grades Reform to duplicate the Schools to Watch program to identify high-performing middle schools and allow them to serve as models for other schools.
Schools selected go through a multi-faceted process that includes an application, test scores, demographic data and suspension/expulsion data. They are given 24-hour notice before a team does an on-site visit.
The designations are for three-year periods and can be re-applied for if they continue to meet the designation criteria.
Rogers-Herr Middle School in Durham is among three schools re-designated as Schools to Watch for a second time.
Some of the other schools that have been designated or re-designated include West Pine Middle (Moore County Schools), Carmel Middle (Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools), Kernodle Middle (Guilford County Schools), McGee’s Crossroads Middle (Johnston County) and East Yancey Middle School (Yancey County Schools).
“These schools demonstrate what can be achieved when you have principals and teachers who set high expectations for their students and then provide the support to ensure they succeed,” said State Superintendent June Atkinson. “All North Carolina middle schools can learn from their experiences so that more students can be academically prepared to enter high school.”
These schools were recognized at the 39th Annual North Carolina Association for Middle Level Education Conference in Greensboro in March. They will be recognized again in June in Washington, D.C., at the National Schools to Watch Conference.