Class notes, May 20

May. 19, 2014 @ 09:01 AM

Lucas Middle School has Student of the Year

Lucas Middle School student Miranda Straubel has been named the Middle School Student of the Year by the North Carolina Association for Scholastic Activities.

Straubel competed in four different scholastic competitions at her school, winning the school spelling bee, serving on the school quiz bowl and MATHCOUNTS teams, and competing in The Quill writing competition.

Straubel and her teammates Hanna Fogel and Mary Margaret Johnson led Lucas Middle School to a statewide victory in The Quill, with Straubel receiving individual recognition for argumentative writing.

Githens’ original song now online

Githens Middle School Advanced Chorus students participated in a songwriting workshop with New York-based composer and conductor Jim Papoulis.

Together they wrote the original song, “The Sound of Dreaming,” which has now been recorded and can be heard online at The workshop was sponsored by the Youth Pro Musica Fund of Triangle Community.

Githens’ chorus will perform the song at their spring concert today at 7 p.m., at Resurrection United Methodist Church across the street from the school.

Bethesda Elementary’s Martha Lloyd-George recognized

Bethesda Elementary teacher Martha Lloyd-George has been selected a Legacy Honoree by the Lawrence & Artelia Perry Scholarship Fund (L&APSF).

Lloyd-George will be honored for her “successful education of the young child and outreach to parents” at the fund’s Legacy Luncheon on May 24.

The L&APSF benefits students at Bennett College, Livingstone College and North Carolina Central University.

This year’s Legacy Luncheon celebrates the contributions of Durham citizens who have made significant contributions as childcare providers and early childhood educators.

Soil & Water Conservation District award winners

The following DPS teachers and students were recognized recently at the 2014 Education Awards Ceremony for the Durham Soil & Water Conservation District:

-- Teacher of the Year (Elementary): Amy Beebe, Pearsontown

-- Teacher of the Year (High School): Amy Jenkins and Len Curington, Southern

-- Grade 1 Bookmark Contest: First place, Tanaysha Thompson (Eno Valley, Mrs. Lasher)

-- Grade 3 Poster: First place, Toni Roberson (Spring Valley, Ms. Holloway); second place, Mira Sandiford-Thompson (Spring Valley, Ms. Miles)

-- Grade 4 Poster: First place, Lindsey Castaneda (Burton, T. Altman-Lewis and Dewanna Eubanks); second place, Kiana Cruz (Burton, T. Altman-Lewis)

-- Grade 6 Essay: Second place, Kaitlyn Aycock (Lowe’s Grove, Samuel Brown)

5 DPS schools participate in Model U.N.

Shepard IB Middle, Brogden Middle, Jordan High, Riverside High and Durham School of the Arts were among 17 regional public and private schools participating in the Triangle Model United Nations Conference on May 10.

The students stepped into the shoes of ambassadors from UN member states to debate issues such as climate change, cybercrime, ocean pollution, LGBT discrimination and drug resistant diseases. The conference is sponsored by the Duke Pratt School of Engineering and the National Science Foundation’s Triangle Center for Soft Matter Research. More information is available at