Campus briefs

Aug. 25, 2014 @ 10:36 AM

Duke announces Fulbright Scholarship winners
DURHAM -- Eighteen recent graduates and graduate students from Duke University received Fulbright Scholarships and will spend the 2014-15 academic year conducting research, studying and teaching English, the university announced.
“The success of Duke students in securing Fulbright research, study and English teaching grants is testimony to the quality of the undergraduate and graduate educational experience and to the global perspective of our students and faculty,” said David Baker, Duke’s Fulbright Program adviser, in a prepared statement.
The Fulbright Scholarship application process is open to Duke seniors, recently graduated alumni and graduate students. The program is the flagship international educational exchange program sponsored by the U.S. government. It is designed to facilitate cultural exchange and increase mutual understanding between the people of the United States and those of other countries.
The following are the names, Duke status, fields of study and countries of study for this year's Duke Fulbright scholars:
- Nina Arutyunyan (graduate student), history, Russia.
- Kemen Austin (graduate student), environmental studies, Indonesia.
- Sarah Berman (2014 graduate), English teaching assistant, Malaysia.
- Trenita Childers (graduate student), sociology, Dominican Republic.
- Emma Fridel (2014 graduate), English teaching assistant, Taiwan.
- Stephanie Friede (graduate student), anthropology, Mexico.
- Richard Gawne (graduate student), biology, Denmark.
- Maia Hutt (2014 graduate), English teaching assistant, Georgia.
- Richard Lambert (graduate student), language and literature, Austria.
- Erika Lampert (2014 graduate), medical sciences, Spain.
- Jessica Lie (2013 graduate), English teaching assistant, South Korea.
- Patrick Oathout (2014 graduate), English teaching assistant, Greece.
- Michael Pelehach (2010 graduate), English teaching assistant, Bulgaria.
- Tricia Ross (graduate student), history, Germany.
- Andrew Ruoss (graduate student), history, Netherlands.
- Brian Smithson (graduate student), anthropology, Benin.
- Connor Southard (2012 graduate), creative writing, Tanzania.
- Olivia Wasteneys (2014 graduate), English teaching assistant, Turkey.

UNC announces Fulbright Scholarship winners
CHAPEL HILL -- Nineteen students and recent graduates from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill have been awarded Fulbright U.S. Student Program grants, the university announced.
The grants are for self-designed research and study projects or to teach English abroad during the 2014-2015 academic year. This is the highest number of Fulbright grants awarded to UNC students in a single year.
The students study a diverse array of fields at Carolina, including biomedical engineering, computer science and musicology. With a Fulbright, they will complete projects as varied as studying soybean farming in Brazil, studying species conservation in Mongolia and teaching English in Malaysia. Overall, Carolina students will leave their mark in 13 countries across the globe over the next year.
The 2014-2015 grant winners who applied through UNC are :
- Linden Wait, a 2014 graduate from Ashe County, will teach English in Indonesia.
- Carson Fish, a 2014 graduate from Kitty Hawk in Dare County, will teach English in Russia.
- Lucas Edmond, a 2014 graduate from Durham, will teach English in India.
- Matthew Farley, a 2014 graduate from Charlotte, will teach English in Taiwan.
- Trevor Erlacher, a current doctoral candidate in history from Carrboro, will conduct fieldwork in Ukraine for his dissertation titled, “Ukrainian Nationalist Radical: The Life, Thought, and Milieus of Dmytro Dontsov, 1883-1991.”
- Amanda Baldiga, a 2014 graduate from Apex, will teach English in Malaysia.
- Eli Hornstein, a 2014 graduate from Raleigh, will conduct research in Mongolia on species conservation from a human perspective.
- Matthew Feminella, a current doctoral candidate in Germanic languages and literatures from Alabama, will conduct fieldwork in Germany for his dissertation titled, “Caught in the Act: Acting Paradigms and Spontaneous Expressions in the Age of Goethe.”
- Chris Bowen, a current doctoral candidate in musicology from Florida, will conduct archival research in the Czech Republic for his dissertation titled, “‘We Shall Remain Faithful’: Gender, Nationalism, and the Village Mode in Czech Opera, 1866-1916.”
- Meg VanDeusen, a 2014 graduate from Maryland, will teach English in Malaysia.
- Abigail Poeske, a 2013 graduate from Massachusetts, will teach English in Ukraine.
- Philip Delvecchio, a 2014 graduate from New York, will teach English in Taiwan.
- Louis Porter, a current doctoral candidate in history from Pennsylvania, will conduct fieldwork in Russia for his dissertation titled, “A Better World in the Minds of Comrades: The Soviet Union in UNESCO, 1954-1982.”
- Andrew Ofstehage, a current doctoral candidate in anthropology from South Dakota, will conduct fieldwork in Brazil for his dissertation titled, “North Americans in Soylandia: An Ethnography of Transnational Agrarianism.”
- Zoe Wolszon, a 2014 graduate from Texas, will teach English in South Korea.
- Cameron Knieb, a 2014 graduate from Washington, will research the impact of polio immunization on routine health initiatives in rural India.
- John Schmale, a 2014 graduate from Kirkland, will teach English in South Korea.
- Lacey English, a 2014 graduate from Tennessee, will study the treatment of malnutrition in children in Sierra Leone.
- Sonya Khattak, a 2014 graduate from Tennessee, will teach English in Turkey.

Duke’s Williams receives international society’s highest honor
DURHAM – Dr. Redford Williams, a professor of psychiatry and behavioral sciences and of medicine and the director of the Behavioral Medicine Research Center at Duke University School of Medicine, has received the Lifetime Achievement Award from the International Society of Behavioral Medicine.
The award, the highest honor bestowed by the international society, was presented on Aug. 20 at the ISBM’s 12th International Congress of Behavioral Medicine in Groningen, Netherlands.
“I am extremely pleased that Dr. Redford Williams is the recipient, recognizing his outstanding contributions to the science of behavioral medicine throughout his whole career,” said Joost Dekker, president of the International Society of Behavioral Medicine, in a prepared statement. “Dr. Williams’ research is outstanding and very well acknowledged in the field of behavioral medicine.”
A former president of the ISBM, Williams has been a member of the Duke faculty since 1972. He has been a leader in research aimed at identifying psychosocial factors that increase the risk of medical disorders, the biological and behavioral mechanisms that contribute to disease, and the development of interventions that ease the damaging effects of these risk factors. 
The author or co-author of 10 books and more than 200 articles in peer-reviewed journals, Williams is an international authority on how hostility and anger contribute to coronary heart disease and other life-threatening illnesses.