Campus briefs

Apr. 28, 2014 @ 10:43 AM

Duke professors earn endowed chairs
DURHAM – Five Duke faculty members have been appointed to endowed chairs as part of the Bass Program for Excellence in Undergraduate Education.
The program recognizes professors who have achieved distinction in undergraduate teaching and scholarly research.
In Trinity College of Arts & Sciences, chemistry associate professor Katherine Franz and cultural anthropology associate professor Rebecca Stein won chairs.
In the Edmund T. Pratt Jr. School of Engineering, civil and environmental engineering professors Heileen Hsu-Kim and Amilcare Porporato won chairs.
In the Nicholas School of the Environment, environmental policy professor Erika Weinthal won a chair.
The chairs were created in 1996 when Anne T. and Robert Bass gave $10 million as a matching gift to encourage Duke alumni, parents and friends to fully endow the positions. Candidates are nominated by faculty and evaluated by a faculty committee. Bass professors hold the chairs for five-year terms and then become lifetime members of the Bass Society of Fellows.

NCCU professors win NEH endowment
DURHAM - Camille Passalacqua and Rachelle Gold at N.C. Central University won a $33,000 grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities to teach a course on healing trauma through reading, writing and thinking about survival narratives.
Assigned readings include excerpts from books such as "The Odyssey" and "Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee," as well as narratives about the Holocaust, Hiroshima and the Rwandan genocide.
The grant is for two years in support of a junior-senior seminar. It also is open to Duke, UNC-Chapel Hill and N.C. State students.

Morehead-Cain Foundation announces new scholars
CHAPEL HILL – The Morehead-Cain Foundation this fall expects to welcome 57 new scholars to the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill from across North Carolina, the United States and throughout the world.
The Class of 2018 will include 31 scholars from North Carolina, 16 from 11 other states, one scholar each from Brazil, Italy, South Africa, Turkey and Vietnam, one from Canada and four from the United Kingdom.
Durham County’s scholars include:
- Emma Astrike-Davis, who graduates from Cary Academy in June.
- Elena Kovalik, who graduates from the Trinity School of Durham and Chapel Hill in June.
- Mallory Lowe, who graduates from the North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics in June.
- Cameron McNeill, who graduates from Riverside High School in June.
- Hannah Sloan, who graduates from the North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics in June.
Orange County’s scholars include:
- Hannah Hodge, who graduates from Chapel Hill High School in June.
- Corey Risinger, who graduates from East Chapel Hill High School in June.

Chancellor honors UNC students for academic, service leadership
CHAPEL HILL – Chancellor Carol Folt on April 22 recognized 66 students for academic achievement and leadership with the Chancellor Awards.
Four students won multiple awards:
- Michelle Mariko Ikoma of Naperville, Illinois, received the Patrick F. Earey Award, the Hampton Shuping Prize and the Jim Tatum Memorial Award.
- Anna Elizabeth Sturkey of Charlotte received the L. Richardson Preyer Award for Excellence in Political Science and the Ferebee Taylor Award.
- Alexander Edward Karsten of Raleigh received the Eben Alexander Prize in Greek and the Robert B. House Memorial Prize in Poetry.
- Chelsey Elizabeth Dulaney of Mocksville received the Ernest H. Abernethy Prize in Student Publication Work and the Chi Omega Award for Scholarship and Leadership.
Other local award winners included:
- Rebecca Elisabeth Clemens of Chapel Hill, who received the Earl Slocum Band Award.
- Christopher Joseph Cunningham of Chapel Hill, who received the Robert White Linker Award.
- Katie Charlene Savage of Chapel Hill, who received the Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award.
- Jasmine Ke-yan Sun of Chapel Hill, who received the Keith Shawn Smith Award for Community Development and Mentorship.
- Bruce Gene Wei of Chapel Hill, who received the Venable Medal.
- Rachel Avi Silberman Holtzman of Durham, who received the Class of 1938 Joseph F. Patterson Jr. and Alice M. Patterson International Leadership Award.
- Erin Claire Richardson of Durham, who received the George Livas Award.
- Jason Andrew Hallman of Hillsborough, who received the Op White Prize in Geology.

UNC professor wins Guggenheim fellowship
CHAPEL HILL -- Philosophy professor Laurie "L.A." Paul has won a Guggenheim Fellowship to support her research.
Paul, at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, focuses her research on metaphysics and philosophy of the mind.
Her Guggenheim project, "Transformable experience and decision making," explores how we understand real-world experiences and our capacity to map subjective futures. She's teaching an honors course on the topic in UNC's College of Arts and Sciences this spring.
The foundation awarded fellowships to 178 scholars, artists and scientists across 56 disciplines, 83 academic institutions, 29 states and two Canadian provinces.

Got news from higher education in Durham and Chapel Hill? Contact Wes Platt at or 919-419-6684. Follow on Twitter at @HS_WesPlatt. Connect on Facebook at