Durham Kappas attend Founders Day Celebration

Feb. 01, 2014 @ 12:20 PM

Durham Kappas recently joined brothers from around the Triangle to celebrate Kappa Alpha Psi’s Triangle Area Founders Day Celebration.

The fraternity was founded in 1911 on the campus of Indiana University, Bloomington, Indiana. Kappa Alpha Psi is the second African American fraternity incorporated as a national organization. Elder Watson Diggs and nine other African American students at Indiana University embraced a mutual vision to form a fraternity. Durham Alumni Chapter was founded 10 years later as the first graduate fraternity in the city of Durham. The fraternity is committed to helping African American youth fulfill their potential as productive men.

Michael D. Page, chairman of the Durham County Board of Commissioners and past president of the Kappas of Durham Foundation was presented Durham Alumni Kappa Man of the Year Award. Alfred E. Russell, retired veterinarian and significant contributor to the Kappas of Durham Foundation Community Center was presented the Durham Alumni Senior Kappa Man of the Year Award.

Since its inception, it has trained more than 150,000 men, particularly undergraduates, for leadership roles in their communities and the attainment of a high degree of excellence in their academic pursuits. There are over 700 undergraduate and alumni chapters on college campuses and in major cities throughout the world. Kappa Chapters exist in Germany, South Africa and Korea. The International Headquarters is in Philadelphia.

Kappa has undergraduate chapters at Duke, NCCU and UNC. James E. Shepard, founder and first president of NCCU, was a member of the Durham Alumni Chapter.

Some nationally known members of Durham Alumni are: A. Moore Shearing,  past grand polemarch and founder of the North Carolina Mutual Provident Association, the forerunner of North Carolina Mutual Life Insurance Company, and southeastern province polemarch; James T. Hawkins, past senior grand vice-polemarch and local business leader ; James “Babe” Henderson, past grand board of directors member, past grand keeper of records and exchequers, and laurel wreath laureate (highest award presented by the fraternity and  past financial vice president of North Carolina Mutual Life Insurance Company; J. M. Hubbard, past southeastern province polemarch; Charles Clinton Spaulding, past president of North Carolina Mutual Insurance Company and laurel wreath laureate; Frank G. Burnett, past middle eastern province polemarch; Conrad Pearson, civil rights pioneer and director of Region 3 (province polemarch); John L. Stewart, recipient of Journalistic Award at the 58th Grand Chapter Meeting in Miami; Lenzie G. Barnes, Elder Watson Diggs Award (second highest award presented by the fraternity); Randal M. Rogers, past middle eastern province polemarch; Joseph King Davis, Jr. past middle eastern province polemarch: Ronald O. Rohadfox, CEO of Construction Control Services; and Charles Johnson, past president of the National Black Medical Association and Bert Collins, past president of North Carolina Mutual Life Insurance Company.