Two join Chapel Hill Town Council race

Jul. 08, 2013 @ 05:40 PM

Two more joined the race for four seats on the Chapel Hill Town Council on Monday, the second day of the filing period for 2013.
One of the two was Mayor Pro Tem Ed Harrison, a member of the council since 2001 who filed for election seeking a fourth term.
He filed for re-election in Durham County because he lives in a portion of that county annexed by Chapel Hill.
Harrison was joined by real estate broker Paul Neebe, who was one of 11 residents to seek appointment to the council after former councilwoman Penny Rich won election to the Orange County Board of Commissioners.
On Friday, the first day of the filing period, 10 candidates filed for elections in Orange County.
The group included Mayor Mark Kleinschmidt, who is seeking a third term as mayor and Sally Greene, a former councilwoman who was appointed to fill the Rich vacancy.
Greene previously served on the council from 2003-2011 but did not seek election to a third term.
Two other residents – Gary Kahn and Maria T. Palmer -- who filed for Town Council seats Friday were also applicants to fill the vacancy created by Rich’s departure.
The council is assured of at least two new members because Gene Pease and Laurin Easthom are not seeking re-election.
In other Orange County races, James Barrett, an incumbent member of the Chapel Hill-Carrboro City Schools Board of Education – which has three seats in play, filed Friday to run again.
Michelle Brownstein, an incumbent and the board’s chairwoman, joined the school board race Monday.
In Hillsborough, incumbent Mayor Tom Stevens has filed to run again, while Jenn Weaver filed for one of two open seats on the Town Commission.
In Carrboro, N.C. Central University law professor and Board of Aldermen member Lydia Lavelle filed to replace outgoing Mayor Mark Chilton.
Incumbents Randee Haven-O’Donnell and Jacquelyn Gist filed to return as aldermen, with a third seat left to fill and no immediate opposition.
And in Mebane, incumbents Ed Hooks and Tim Bradley filed for election seeking two of the three open council seats.