Career briefs

Nov. 22, 2013 @ 03:05 PM

NCBIO announces new leadership
DURHAM -- Peyton Anderson has been named as the new chairman of NCBIO, the trade association for North Carolina’s life science industry. He was elected Nov. 7.
In addition to serving on the executive committee and board of NCBIO, Anderson is CEO and co-founder of Affinergy, a development-stage company based on peptide technologies licensed from Duke University.  
He is also an entrepreneur-in-residence at Blackstone Entrepreneurs Network, was a co-founder of SciQuest, and also serves on the N.C. Biotechnology Center board.
Also at NCBIO, Tom Staab of BioCryst Pharmaceuticals and Susan Lillard Thomason of Quintiles will serve as vice-chairs.
Tim Gupton of Hughes Pittman & Gupton was re-elected as treasurer. Tom Fagley, also of Hughes Pittman & Gupton will serve as assistant treasurer. Sam Taylor will continue as NCBIO president, and Jennifer Malloy will serve as secretary.
Other members elected to the executive committee were Machelle Sanders of Biogen Idec, Chris Capel of Smith Anderson, Bob Schotzinger of Viamet Pharmaceuticals, and Eric Ward of AgBiome. New board members were elected as well.
NCBIO has more than 160 members working in human and animal therapeutics, diagnostics, medical devices, and agricultural and industrial biotechnology.

Local beekeeper honored
DURHAM -- Retired National Toxicology Program researcher and local beekeeper Jack Bishop of Wake County has received recognition from the Environmental Mutagenesis and Genomics Society as its 2013 Alexander Hollaender Award winner.
The award recognizes achievement in the study of environmental and genetic science toward advancing human health, according to a news release from the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences, which is based in the Research Triangle Park.
During his time with the National Toxicology Program, Bishop served as a project officer for toxicology research that evaluated the reproductive and developmental toxicity of chemicals.
He came to the program in 1985, after 10 years stint the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Prior to that, he served as a geneticist with the U.S. Department of Agriculture Bee Breeding and Stock Center Laboratory in Baton Rouge, La., where he was introduced to beekeeping.

Durham Realtor appointed to N.C. Real Estate Commission
DURHAM – Gov. Pat McCrory has appointed Durham Realtor Leonard H. “Tony” Craver Jr. to the N.C. Real Estate Commission.
Craver is owner and broker-in-charge of Craver Real Estate in Durham, and has been active in the real estate business since 1967, according to a news release.
He was the president of the Durham Regional Association of Realtors in 2005, and received the association’s “Realtor of the Year” award in 2007.
He served on the North Carolina Association of Realtors Forms Committee for 12 years and as its chairman in 2008-2009, he was elected N.C. Association Realtors’ Region Four vice president in 2011 and 2012, and received the organization’s Regional Service Award last year.
A graduate of Duke University with a bachelor’s of arts degree in economics and a varsity letter in tennis, he is married with four children and 10 grandchildren.
The N.C. Real Estate Commission is responsible for the licensing and regulation of about 90,000 real estate agents and firms in the state.

Zimmerman named ‘Realtor of the Year’ by Chapel Hill group
CHAPEL HILL – At its annual awards banquet, the Greater Chapel Hill Association of Realtors named Mark Zimmerman, the broker and owner of RE/MAX Winning Edge, as its Realtor of the Year. 
The award is given a member who exhibit exceptional service either directly to the association or through actions that enhance the Realtor image. The recipient combines service to the profession and to our community, embraces fairness and integrity, and exhibits professional competency.
Also in September, Zimmerman received the Regional Service Award from the N.C. Association of Realtors. Zimmerman also has served as past president of the organization and currently serves the N.C. Association of Realtors as its legislative chair, among other roles.