Career briefs, July 14

Jul. 13, 2014 @ 06:13 PM

Pharmacist David S. Moody Jr. honored

ARLINGTON, Va. -- The Center for Healthcare Supply Chain Research and Genentech Inc., presented the 2014 Nexus Award for Lifetime Achievement to David S. Moody Jr., CEO of Mutual Wholesale Drug Co.

The center is a non-profit research foundation for HDMA, the national association representing primary healthcare distributors. The award was presented at the HDMA 2014 Business and Leadership Conference in Phoenix, Arizona.

The Nexus Award is the distribution industry’s highest individual honor, recognizing character, accomplishments, and leadership in HDMA, the industry and community.

Moody’s career began during high school at Crabtree Pharmacy, an independent pharmacy in his hometown of Durham. He continued to work at Crabtree through school at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Pharmacy. Following his graduation in 1973, Moody became a pharmacist at the store, and later owned the pharmacy from 1981 until 1988.

Joining Mutual Drug in 1988, Mr. Moody developed an innovative generics program that provides affordable medications to independent pharmacies and their customers, and remains in place today. He also established a government affairs program.

Moody received the 2006 Distinguished Service Award from the UNC-Chapel Hill Pharmacy Alumni Association. In 2010, he received an honorary doctor of pharmacy degree from the Campbell University College of Pharmacy & Health Sciences.

He has been an active member of HDMA, serving two terms as chairman of the association’s board. He also participates on several committees, including the executive and federal government affairs committees.

Senior PharmAssist announces new board members, officers

DURHAM– Senior PharmAssist, a nonprofit medication assistance and Medicare insurance counseling program in Durham since 1994, has added five new members to its board.

Volunteers elected to three-year terms were: Thomas Bacon, adjunct professor and research fellow at The Cecil G. Sheps Center for Health Services Research at UNC-Chapel Hill, and Dr. Laura Hanson, professor of geriatric medicine and director at the UNC Palliative Care Program at UNC-Chapel Hill.

Diane Wright, a social worker, was elected to a two-year term; and Catherine Crumpton, owner, Alizarin Gallery, and Charles Wilson Jr., owner and president, C.T. Wilson Construction Co. Inc., were elected to one-year terms.

Senior PharmAssist also announced the following officers for Fiscal Year 2015: Amy Csorba, president; Eugene Dauchert, vice president; Rosa Nolen, treasurer; and David Cocchetto, secretary.

Ashe Avenue promotes Matt Murphy to president and partner

CHAPEL HILL – Ashe Avenue Development, an interactive technology company that partners with brands and ad agencies to create campaigns, announced the promotion of Matt Murphy to president and partner.

Murphy has seven years of experience in advertising, marketing and web development, and will manage the company’s further growth and development goals. He succeeds co-founder and partner Kathryn Olive, who served as president since the launch of the company in 2007. Olive will remain with the company as chief financial officer.

Murphy joined the firm in 2009 as director of client services. He is a graduate of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill with a degree in advertising.

ISES honors Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club

DURHAM – The Greater Triangle NC Chapter of International Special Events Society honored the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club at its fourth annual Trinity Awards gala on June 17.

The inn won two Trinity Awards: Best Catered Event and Best Team Effort, Budget $75,000-$200,000.

The Inn’s Catering Sales Manager Danielle Massey took home the President’s Award for “Most Supportive Member.”

The Inn was also recognized with winners in four additional categories: Best Corporate Event: Budget under $75,000; Best Corporate Event: Budget over $200,000; Best Wedding: Budget Under $75,000; and Best Wedding: Budget $75,000-$200,000.